Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Really Fun SL Maps

brilliant on Feb 19th 2012, Version 1.1

Nice to see an update to this map pack! I enjoy playing on Flight of the Toolator very much. I am also happy to see your version of One Hit Wonder added into the pack. It has great flow and I like the M2 textures a lot! King of the Hill is also a blast on that map. As for the remakes, Incontinental Divide does have better flow and the texturing, for the most part, looks good. As for Age of Aquarius, i have to agree the variety of textures are just too much. I do recommend changing some of the textures back to the textures of the original map. Otherwise, I do enjoy your maps, so keep it up!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Good! Starlight

Sharkie Lino on Feb 18th 2012, Version 1.0

Not sure why it took me so long to review this.

Lots of good games on these maps, great job as always.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

ugly SL Maps

treellama on Feb 18th 2012, Version 1.1

I haven't downloaded these yet, but just from the screenshots, if you're going to remake maps, you should make them look better not worse.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice! Marathon Phoenix

Teak on Jan 23rd 2012, Version 1.1.0

This is great fun...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Enjoyable Capture the Falg

Unclenate on Jan 15th 2012, Version 1.0.1

the messages for events and the marine changing colors makes this game enjoyable once again


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

A few of the netmaps- Paradise Lost

Hotzy on Jan 7th 2012, Version XV

-Have become standards for us. Great one-on-one or more. The Downfall of Paradise incorporates a power up in a defensible and yet vulnerable spot much like the net map "Wrath no more" which add strategy to an otherwise "shoot at anything that moves" game. Great stuff.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

marvelous M2 XBLA HD Graphics SuperPlugin for AlephOne 1.0

Unclenate on Jan 5th 2012, Version 1.1.1

i dont have an XBox, nor am i unlazy enough to transfer the shapes if i did have one... so this made my day.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

inspiring layouts with poor weapon placement Cranch Wire Sunday

Unclenate on Jan 2nd 2012, Version 1.2

i love the varying layouts of these maps, and their decent color. your big issue is weapon layout. everywhere you have spare ammo laying, so should you have matching guns laying there too. once you fixed all that, these maps will be good enough i believe...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Sweet Deal Marathon Phoenix

xdedge on Dec 28th 2011, Version 1.1.0

This is a scenario that actually caught my interest. Many other i play to play. This I actually paid attention to the story, which hasn't happened since the original trilogy. The game play was excellent, challenging, but rewarding. Great map design definitely is a plus. Definitely deserves 5 stars!


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

It's A Start AAAdventures 1 ~ Daisy

Dugit on Dec 23rd 2011, Version

Terminals? Impressive.

Physics alterations? Most impressive.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

This was uhhh AAAdventures 1 ~ Daisy

The Cool Guy on Dec 22nd 2011, Version

very strange


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great Marathon Aeon

The Cool Guy on Dec 21st 2011, Version 1.9a

Overall great map, but just pointing out that in case you didn't know, on the level "Vae Victis" one of the computer terminals does not seem to work correctly


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I finally get to playing this... Marathon Aeon

Destiny on Dec 19th 2011, Version 1.9a

I've been a little late about getting a review for this and playing the lattest beta version. Taking time off of replaying Rubicon X, I downloaded the most recent version to Aeon to see if this was any good.

First of all, I would like to thank Dugit for putting music to his scenario. I've played way to many maps that did not have any music. I perfer music over background sound. The music selection was interesting. I's a nice change from the original and remixes of the Marathon soundtrack.

Next thing to cover is the difficulty. Before I got my chance to play the beta, I thought to myself that this was going to be an easy one. Boy, was I wrong about that. Theres enough old and new difficult enemies to pack a starship! It explains why theres so much ammo everywhere. I'd hate to be the one that trys playing this on Total Carnage. The enforcers, upgraded cyborgs, better aiming troopers, and S'pht are already a pain in the neck on normal (not that I can't handle'em). They may be as colorful as a clown, but they're as nasty as barney on steroids!

The mapping and texturing in the beta was amazing! I saw so many curves that I wished I knew how to do that. Spaceships were cool, the planet areas incredibley spacious, the shading very realistic, and so many other surprises. I'm kinda surprised that this is only a beta.

The alien weapon was pretty cool as blue. I not sure which one is better: the original purple, or the new Aeon blue.

The whole story, I didn't really pay attention to. It may have helped to read the terminals, because when I got to the latter section of the beta, I got really confused. At first, Bob is your friend and the Pfhor, of course, is your enemy. It's what everyone expects. Then, this Jjaro symbol dude beams me off a level and I lose all my weapons. After running through a map without anyone around, I get to the next level, only to find out that BoB is not a friend, and there are some grayish versions of Pfhor and BoB that are apparently my friends (ugh...). Jumping through the levels with the level start cheat (kept dying from BoB and the S'pht Kr on the first level when they aren't friendly), I now get BoB back as an ally, and now both the Pfhor and gray copies are enemies. But thats not all! Now theres Durandal on the side!

Over all (I'm going to HAVE to replay this and read the computers next time) this is a great scenario. It's very unique from other ones. Everybody that hasn't checked this beta out, should. It's a good one.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I gotta get back to my starship. I still have several scenarios to play (some to replay), A1 tools that one day will be downloaded and there manuals read, and I think I see Irons over there. I don't think that rocket launcher he has is a gift. I may have a SBR-23, but Irons can probley plant those rockets on the ground quicker than I can get his head in my sights.

Five stars.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Toys? Weapon Enhancement Pack

SamVision on Dec 19th 2011, Version 1.4.1

The Rocket Launcher and the SMG look great but the rest of the weapons look like they are made of plastic. And why are there no fists? Honestly, the XBLA graphics look miles better and include the fists.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Ammo and Aliens? Survival.lua

X404 on Dec 17th 2011, Version 5

Whenever i play this, about 6 rounds in ammo stops spawning. Is this the script or the maps fault? If it is the scripts, can you tell me how to fix it? If not, then i;m sorry and this'd be a five. Plus, how do i add new aliens? I can remove old ones or change how many spawn, but can't add and different ones. please respond and thanks.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Really? black Fire

The Cool Guy on Dec 16th 2011, Version 0.1

Actually I have heard of the news of jesus christ and my new maps are much better


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Ah why yes HardFall.lua

The Cool Guy on Dec 13th 2011, Version 1.0

I find this rather interesting, but there seems to be a delay like when I fall, it takes like three like seconds to like react and I kinda like takes away from like the realness of the script

but now when I read the known bugs after I already wrote this review, it seems kind of pointless that I wrote this review and I'll just give it 5 stars


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

humph The hell man?!?!?

Unclenate on Nov 27th 2011, Version 1

interesting... that is all...


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

newt ginrich 2012! Water Parque

Unclenate on Nov 27th 2011, Version 1.0

ugly texturing but pretty decent layout. most importantly, fun to play on. just get some help on the wepp set up...

overall pretty good


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excellent! Caustic Dystopia

Sharkie Lino on Nov 11th 2011, Version 1.1

Had the chance to host some rounds on the maps last night, and it was nothing but positive!

Great flow, no tight spaces and plenty of ammo!

You do not disappoint, Wind.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome Game!!!! Marathon Phoenix

lewisje2000 on Nov 6th 2011, Version 1.1.0

Just want to say - AWESOME SCENARIO!!!!. Been a Marathon gamer since my MAC days (now on Linux) back in the early 90's and I have to say this is one of the best scenarios I have ever played!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Good and Bad black Fire

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 0.1

Microwaved Steak - My favorite. I like the open feel to this level. You have an excessive number of platforms and some should be removed in favor of the adjacent stairs.

Applesauce Factory - A map for giants! Lacks flow and is boring to the eyes.

Pepsi Factory - Layout causes arduous running to and from. My least favorite. When I finally located the Pepsi machine I realized I was given no quarters in my inventory.

Not Pfhor Sale - Has a slight Thunderdome feel. You should not hear a ship creaking in this map. Please replace that with wind or even loons singing.

Plasma - This simple map could benefit from 5D.

Overall, you should experiment with sounds more. The sound of water would completely disappear if I moved over slightly for example. Architecture was poor in spots, and nice in others. Oversized maps look more so because of repetitive textures. Textures clashed in areas. Accessible liquid columns don't belong next to platform lifts.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This delivers Night Vision Lua

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0

Simple and effective. I noticed a difference of night vision illumination between Classic and Shader rendering. Using Shader was noticeably darker than rendering Classic. Software had a green color issue when picking up items. I tested this with Aleph One version 20110731. Keep it up!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Conceptual Calle de Las Sombras

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.01

After a few tries I made it through. Aleph One version 20110731 crashed with the included sounds so I removed them. The premise is to stay out of the light or the Pfhor on PCP will ruin your day. This esoteric sneak style gameplay contrasts the norm and introduces another layer of creativity for shifty scenario designers. I'm rating this 4 out of 5 because I believe the author could have included a more applicable demonstration.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Pre-Padawan Sewage Eviloution

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.1.4r2

Every map maker has at some point in their early days made a map like this. What better way to learn the tools than to build what comes to mind. Mine was a heavily modified version of Pfhactory for M1 with droves of endlessly respawning bad guys that gave me loads of entertainment.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Well... Holiday Showdown

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

Texture and lighting issues aside I must say that my largest concern for this is the limited visual scope causing far too many encounters turning corners. I agree in saying games of 3 players would allow for the best combat enjoyment.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

A duel map Forceful Anthem

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

This small map would cause high death counts. Probably best for a duel only. Multistory with passing texture choices and some shine. There are some texture issues, lack of ambient sound, and one platform temporarily blocks player advancement to a teleporter that should have a different destination. The sniper nook introduces an added element to strategy. Nice touch.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Indescribable Ray Core Image

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version ALPHA 7

irons may have unknowingly juxtaposed himself next to aronofsky.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice fragments

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version -1

Dugit : Did you seriously give 4 out of 5?

Thanks for getting this informative set of examples online. I love seeing what pushing Marathon can accomplish.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

I kinda like it Corridors of Nightmares

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 2.0

Though the architecture is basic the map is interesting. Entirely too dark for fun online play, though. Add some highlighted areas at key spots to cause dark corridors to become backlit. Also, what's up with the force fields of death? Rocket launchers would be a poor choice for this map.

I kinda like it. Keep up the good work.