Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pure brilliance Paradise Lost

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version XIII.i

Could not fault it.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good effort [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version 2.1

I like the map, and all small touches. Thanks for making all the lava floors teleport; if they didn't the map would suck. I like the fact you've included the weird inaccessible platform polygon in the map (the one with the "?" notation).


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Needs a Test [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

vio on Dec 7th 2009, Version 2.1

Perhaps I should try hosting it. :)


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Needs Work Skylark

Dis on Dec 5th 2009, Version 1

The concept is interesting, I'll give you that. I especially like the two playing fields available, one of which, I think, inspired the name. However, a good deal of errors really bog this one down. First off, the upper battlefield, on the stepping stones, is pretty much untraversable. The climb height limit is .35, yes, and without opening this one up in Weland that's probably about the difference in height between most of the columns, but you must also compensate for how far the player will fall en route, meaning many of the jumps can't be made. I'm sure there is some labyrinthine, linear path across the rocks, but as stated before it (A. is quite difficult to find, and it's not likely people will stick around to find it, and it should (B. really be made non linear so that more than one path can be taken across the rocks. Now, when one misses, he, and probably not she, will fall to the lower battlefield, which brings me to the many flaws with it. First, and most glaring, is the river. You can't cross it, and attempting to do so will end with you in an inescapable water pit. You were probably planning to place a death liquid there. In fact, I seem to remember you asking someone to make you one. In this case I recommend you attempt the near insurmountable task of either downloading Atque, unmerging the map of yours that has one, grabbing the MML script therein and merging it with Skylark or gasp taking a passing glance at the MML documentation. I understand this map was made for the FtVC gametype but levels like these are mainly going to see EMFH and they need to be playable for that, too. The flaws listed above would make that mostly unplayable which is a shame because this has the potential to become a very good map. The geometry and shading are good, and I like the nexus idea, but sadly I can only give this one two stars.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Beautiful and interesting Skylark

RAITHE on Dec 5th 2009, Version 1

If you cross it correctly you don't always end up in the pit, but it still takes awhile to figure out so it would be good to make it a little easier. A few things that could be fixed though: when you get launched into the pit by the river, you could change the platform into a teleporter so you teleport back on land. I'm glad you acknowledged my advice completely. I would have never thought of a river to give the frog blaster difficulty getting in the core. Thank you very much.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Too many errors Skylark

goran svensson on Dec 3rd 2009, Version 1

Gemometry and shading are interesting.

The map has many bad points though. An inescapable water pit. A river that runs too fast(flow 0.4). If you attempt to cross it, you are easily propelled into the water pit. Error combo!

Geometry flickers and fades throughout the map (as if it was untextured). I suspect it is the item-limit that is overshot; the map has 610 items.

Conclusion: The visual aspects of the map does not make up for the 3 errors. Rating 1.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Umm... [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

Envy on Nov 24th 2009, Version 1.0

So you copied the map, and put up all the bridges? thats gunna suck for netplay, cause there are inescapable lava pits...


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

How come I love them all? Problem Pax

Envy on Nov 21st 2009, Version 1.0

I got through the door in shafted. really disappointing 7th try...


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

No instructions for Mac noobs Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

Minimum91 on Nov 20th 2009, Version 1.0

Well, my rating isn't really objective, because these instructions don't fit with the Mac version of Aleph One :( If Anyone can help me, hit me up at Skype: IIPOTECT Email: [email protected]


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Good. Colorblind Teamplay

wastedjamacan on Nov 12th 2009, Version 0.2

Lord knows I need this. Too bad no one hosts it.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Prodigal Son has Returneth Rugby Lua

herecomethej2000 on Nov 8th 2009, Version 1.1

And boy, with a bang did he come. Seriously, the one built in game type in Alephone that has been completely neglected and treated as an outcast, with tweaking, actually turns out to be a rather fun and interesting team game. Who knew? Now all this excellent game type needs is it's very own beautiful, hand crafted, Ryoko and Company made net-pack.

Only the W'rkncacnter could have pulled this off. Thanks a bunch!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Certianly Has Merit CTF Lua

herecomethej2000 on Nov 8th 2009, Version 4.0.2

CTF has always been held in a special place for me and I always found it adrenalin pumping and a lot of fun. The complaints that Tim has suggested are faults that effect all team matches and are usually a product of bad hosting and unintelligent team balancing. Somehow, Ctf.lua itself has always been plagued with the brunt the fault. But everything about this game type requires thinking. Get 4 competent people together, and your in for one heck of a firefight and quick thinking. Do I defend or attack? How do I get get from point A to point B the fastest? Will there be a lot of resistance? What is the best direction to attack from? What are the directions my opponent is most likely to come from, and where can I place myself to get the first shot in? Not to say the new Rugby doesn't have it's own strategy as well, some of these even. But whereas rugby is more direct and in your face, which is to it's credit, I will always be a sucker for this slightly slower paced mind game.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

CTF is not Rugby CTF Lua

effigy on Nov 5th 2009, Version 4.0.2

...but this script is nice.

I like how it shows you the name and health % of the team mate you put in your cross hairs, as well as distances from each flag.

I also have noticed unexplainable lag from time to time but this is rare for me.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Hmm, interesting Turret Defense

Iritscen on Nov 4th 2009, Version

This script has promise. I did crash in the recharger room when I had fists up and attempted to switch weapons. And I do a lot more dying than killing, since I seem to take a lot more of a pounding than the turret. And the requisite charging of health (shields) at the start of each life is wearying.

As a fan of weird netmaps and netscripts, I'd be interested in seeing how this could be made into a net game, once the bugs are worked out.

P.S.: StuffIt Expander opens this on a Mac.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

It's meatballs for your spaghetti CTF Lua

Iritscen on Nov 4th 2009, Version 4.0.2

I really appreciate the work that went into redeeming CTF (even if it ends up being overshadowed by its pluckier younger brother Rugby).

The perennial problems with CTF that tim mentioned can't be helped (since we can't use Lua to make newbies play better or drop out less).

However, the infamous lag of CTF 4 concerns me. Is it native to CTF mode, or does it have to do with the 909 lines of Lua in this script? My reservations lead me to deduct one star.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

timothy: Turret Defense

effigy on Nov 4th 2009, Version

Try the standard Linux tools.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Can't Open Turret Defense

timothy on Nov 4th 2009, Version

File wont decompress with 7zip. What did you use to create it?


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Great Script! CTF Lua

timothy on Nov 4th 2009, Version 4.0.2

Awful game type. CTF is just never fun. It's impossible to get balanced teams, players would always drop out leaving the sides unbalanced, and it almost always ends in a stalemate or one team completely dominating the other.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nice job...but... Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

BOB on Nov 2nd 2009, Version 1.0

First of all AMAZING JOB WITH THIS.

But that's the only reason I'm giving it 3 stars.

Having these new graphics takes away the classic video game feel. The thing I liked most about the XBLA version is that it has these graphics. It doesn't make the Xbox version all that special is what I'm saying.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Worth the effort Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

tycho on Nov 1st 2009, Version 1.0

[ xbla data removed ]


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Amazing Work Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

timothy on Nov 1st 2009, Version 1.0

It's hard to compare these with the original graphics or the high quality replacements created by the community over the years. They're not really better or worse, but they're certainly a different way to experience the game.

Highly recommended you try them out if have the required hardware. I'm planning on doing a complete play through of M2.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Mappers should study WETPEACK. WETPEACK

goran svensson on Oct 30th 2009, Version 1.1

The 2nd level was very good. Not only the rain, but also the landscape effect you applied to that level. Having the sky light up in synchronity with the thunder was realistic and new.

One should note though that thunder is often delayed by x seconds after a lighting flash. Sound only travels at 340m/s.When the sound and the lighting flash are matched perfectly it means the thunder is terrifying close.

If a random amount of time would expire between the flash and the sound, the effect would become more realistic.

Anyway, this map pack is getting a 5 based on the rain and the landscape effect.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

catch you with my death bag WETPEACK

ray on Oct 29th 2009, Version 1.1

you may think i've gone insane

but i promise you - i will kill again


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Raining Blood WETPEACK

BOB on Oct 29th 2009, Version 1.1

And just in time for the new SLAYER album!!!

Nice job man


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Realistic! WETPEACK

ray on Oct 26th 2009, Version 1.1

That fader made me feel just like I did when I was being damaged by real acid rain in China.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Innovative Ill Descent

Marathoner325 on Oct 25th 2009, Version 1.0

This is an impressive effect that I hope future maps and scenarios use.