Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Magnanimous polygons Under Veil of Night

W'rkncacnter on Dec 30th 2009, Version v1.0

Very original level, but it was a bit too bright for me.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Common sense? Under Veil of Night

RyokoTK on Dec 30th 2009, Version v1.0

  1. I'm going to complain about how dark it is. I'm aware that that's the point. It's a stupid point. Not being able to see is the easiest way to make a bad level.

  2. If you're going to alter an existing map, you should at least have the decency to alter a good one. That said, I'm impressed at how much worse you managed to make an already poor map.

  3. What could drive someone to think "well I'm too lazy to make my own map why don't I just completely butcher this existing map in 15 minutes and publish it hurfadurfa" because that's ridiculous, make your own maps next time.

I mean, you didn't even do a good job.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Please Stop Under Veil of Night

Dis on Dec 30th 2009, Version v1.0

Before we continue on to my rave review of 'your' map I feel that there is a matter we must clear up first. You see, this isn't your map. If possession were based merely on the ability to throw the shitty alien textures on a map and make it dark as fuck I would have published Paradise Lost. That being said, doing the above you've made an already mediocre map simply terrible. Said map was created for netplay, and I must question your judgment in choosing it to "make" your solo/coop map. If you simply must 'solotexture' (you obviously don't solomap) at least steal a decent singleplayer level. Gameplay is sub par to placing your penis in a blender, turning it to the highest setting and attempting to sing Mozart's Requiem Mass, the lighting is of course completely flat and I can't see your texturing job to judge it. There are forerunners and pioneers for everything and I don't want to discourage you , after all, theft of intellectual property rights may just become the next big thing in Marathon mapmaking, I just think you should alter a different level perhaps more suited to solo play.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

WOAH Under Veil of Night

Envy on Dec 29th 2009, Version v1.0

SOMEONE LIKED MY MAP!

I love it (but its my map, so...) but it was not designed to be dark, cause you can fall off the ledges, as dugit noted. I feel for you, texturing ALL of that... Sorta good job! (=


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

ok Minipax

treellama on Dec 26th 2009, Version 1.0

Ill Descent (available separately) is really the highlight of this pack. The two maps that precede it are pretty mediocre, and have some flow issues. The two maps following it are much better flow-wise, but still suffer from bland texturing.

Differential shading, ammo and weapon placement are done well, which makes for three playable maps out of the five. Hopefully more will be added in that vein.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excelling Minipax

Dugit on Dec 26th 2009, Version 1.0

All the maps here are awesome, although I did encounter some problems with Ill Descent that I didn't encounter with the original. The snow is larger and falls in sheets rather than at random, and the F'lickta color tables are now dark red and some weird brown, as opposed to light orange and green.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

I don't really like it Under Veil of Night

Pfhriggin' on Dec 25th 2009, Version v1.0

I have an irrational hatred of knockoffs. The original map is great, but that's not your own work, now, is it?


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Diferent point to see Under Veil of Night

Delta4 on Dec 24th 2009, Version v1.0

I like the level because is fun not to see anything but is not for play on network. The level is for do something when you dont have anything to do. Rating: 4 if you dont have anything to do- 1 for network.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Irritating Under Veil of Night

Dugit on Dec 23rd 2009, Version v1.0

Although the map itself is good, the "reference points" don't actually cast light, and in that, they seem unusual. Furthermore, it's generally irritating that I keep falling off the level.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Get the most out of your renderer with DOUCHEMAPS douchemaps

ray on Dec 22nd 2009, Version 1.1

If you do not have DOUCHEMAPS, you are criminally wasting your computer's processing power EVERY TIME you run Aleph One. Put that power to good use by rendering with DOUCHEMAPS.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Good, good. The Works

HIVEMIND on Dec 21st 2009, Version v1.0

Very solid, love how you can just go in different rooms, pick up a weapon, and just mow down enemies. The only thing I didn't like is that the BOBs just decided to go on without me and kill the Pfhor and whatnot. I ended up killing them before they got out the door along with their comrades just so I could play the whole thing because they left almost nothing for me. Also, make the enemies respawn, I like continuous gameplay. That is the reason I like Envy's map Citadel: It's a large map with retarded BOBs and big amounts of enemies.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nostalgia [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

Pfhriggin' on Dec 17th 2009, Version 2.1

I liked it, but it is a little cramped.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Why did you do that? Marathon : Freedom (OSX)

HIVEMIND on Dec 15th 2009, Version .36

Ok, I'm sorry but this game totally betrays the Marathon series as a whole. This is basically an RPG. The reason I'm playing Marathon is because I love first person shooters. I expected some sort of amazingly graphically updated version of Marathon, and I was half right. Graphics are a little better, but you only view from the top down. You should also include a read me with the actual game, so we know what the heck is going on. I am throughly disappointed and am sorry if I hurt your feelings, but I really don't think this game is worth five stars.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice. Team Works

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version 1.0

Good gameplay with the Rugby.lua script. Love it.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nice. Garrison Album

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version 1.0

Good.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Intriguing... Ill Descent

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version 1.0

Nice touch with the F'lickta throwing snowballs.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pure brilliance Paradise Lost

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version XIII.i

Could not fault it.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good effort [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

Dugit on Dec 14th 2009, Version 2.1

I like the map, and all small touches. Thanks for making all the lava floors teleport; if they didn't the map would suck. I like the fact you've included the weird inaccessible platform polygon in the map (the one with the "?" notation).


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Needs a Test [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

vio on Dec 7th 2009, Version 2.1

Perhaps I should try hosting it. :)


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Needs Work Skylark

Dis on Dec 5th 2009, Version 1

The concept is interesting, I'll give you that. I especially like the two playing fields available, one of which, I think, inspired the name. However, a good deal of errors really bog this one down. First off, the upper battlefield, on the stepping stones, is pretty much untraversable. The climb height limit is .35, yes, and without opening this one up in Weland that's probably about the difference in height between most of the columns, but you must also compensate for how far the player will fall en route, meaning many of the jumps can't be made. I'm sure there is some labyrinthine, linear path across the rocks, but as stated before it (A. is quite difficult to find, and it's not likely people will stick around to find it, and it should (B. really be made non linear so that more than one path can be taken across the rocks. Now, when one misses, he, and probably not she, will fall to the lower battlefield, which brings me to the many flaws with it. First, and most glaring, is the river. You can't cross it, and attempting to do so will end with you in an inescapable water pit. You were probably planning to place a death liquid there. In fact, I seem to remember you asking someone to make you one. In this case I recommend you attempt the near insurmountable task of either downloading Atque, unmerging the map of yours that has one, grabbing the MML script therein and merging it with Skylark or gasp taking a passing glance at the MML documentation. I understand this map was made for the FtVC gametype but levels like these are mainly going to see EMFH and they need to be playable for that, too. The flaws listed above would make that mostly unplayable which is a shame because this has the potential to become a very good map. The geometry and shading are good, and I like the nexus idea, but sadly I can only give this one two stars.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Beautiful and interesting Skylark

RAITHE on Dec 5th 2009, Version 1

If you cross it correctly you don't always end up in the pit, but it still takes awhile to figure out so it would be good to make it a little easier. A few things that could be fixed though: when you get launched into the pit by the river, you could change the platform into a teleporter so you teleport back on land. I'm glad you acknowledged my advice completely. I would have never thought of a river to give the frog blaster difficulty getting in the core. Thank you very much.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Too many errors Skylark

goran svensson on Dec 3rd 2009, Version 1

Gemometry and shading are interesting.

The map has many bad points though. An inescapable water pit. A river that runs too fast(flow 0.4). If you attempt to cross it, you are easily propelled into the water pit. Error combo!

Geometry flickers and fades throughout the map (as if it was untextured). I suspect it is the item-limit that is overshot; the map has 610 items.

Conclusion: The visual aspects of the map does not make up for the 3 errors. Rating 1.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Umm... [S] Electric Sheep Infinity

Envy on Nov 24th 2009, Version 1.0

So you copied the map, and put up all the bridges? thats gunna suck for netplay, cause there are inescapable lava pits...


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

How come I love them all? Problem Pax

Envy on Nov 21st 2009, Version 1.0

I got through the door in shafted. really disappointing 7th try...