Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

No instructions for Mac noobs Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

Minimum91 on Nov 20th 2009, Version 1.0

Well, my rating isn't really objective, because these instructions don't fit with the Mac version of Aleph One :( If Anyone can help me, hit me up at Skype: IIPOTECT Email: [email protected]


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Good. Colorblind Teamplay

wastedjamacan on Nov 12th 2009, Version 0.2

Lord knows I need this. Too bad no one hosts it.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Prodigal Son has Returneth Rugby Lua

herecomethej2000 on Nov 8th 2009, Version 1.1

And boy, with a bang did he come. Seriously, the one built in game type in Alephone that has been completely neglected and treated as an outcast, with tweaking, actually turns out to be a rather fun and interesting team game. Who knew? Now all this excellent game type needs is it's very own beautiful, hand crafted, Ryoko and Company made net-pack.

Only the W'rkncacnter could have pulled this off. Thanks a bunch!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Certianly Has Merit CTF Lua

herecomethej2000 on Nov 8th 2009, Version 4.0.2

CTF has always been held in a special place for me and I always found it adrenalin pumping and a lot of fun. The complaints that Tim has suggested are faults that effect all team matches and are usually a product of bad hosting and unintelligent team balancing. Somehow, Ctf.lua itself has always been plagued with the brunt the fault. But everything about this game type requires thinking. Get 4 competent people together, and your in for one heck of a firefight and quick thinking. Do I defend or attack? How do I get get from point A to point B the fastest? Will there be a lot of resistance? What is the best direction to attack from? What are the directions my opponent is most likely to come from, and where can I place myself to get the first shot in? Not to say the new Rugby doesn't have it's own strategy as well, some of these even. But whereas rugby is more direct and in your face, which is to it's credit, I will always be a sucker for this slightly slower paced mind game.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

CTF is not Rugby CTF Lua

effigy on Nov 5th 2009, Version 4.0.2

...but this script is nice.

I like how it shows you the name and health % of the team mate you put in your cross hairs, as well as distances from each flag.

I also have noticed unexplainable lag from time to time but this is rare for me.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Hmm, interesting Turret Defense

Iritscen on Nov 4th 2009, Version

This script has promise. I did crash in the recharger room when I had fists up and attempted to switch weapons. And I do a lot more dying than killing, since I seem to take a lot more of a pounding than the turret. And the requisite charging of health (shields) at the start of each life is wearying.

As a fan of weird netmaps and netscripts, I'd be interested in seeing how this could be made into a net game, once the bugs are worked out.

P.S.: StuffIt Expander opens this on a Mac.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

It's meatballs for your spaghetti CTF Lua

Iritscen on Nov 4th 2009, Version 4.0.2

I really appreciate the work that went into redeeming CTF (even if it ends up being overshadowed by its pluckier younger brother Rugby).

The perennial problems with CTF that tim mentioned can't be helped (since we can't use Lua to make newbies play better or drop out less).

However, the infamous lag of CTF 4 concerns me. Is it native to CTF mode, or does it have to do with the 909 lines of Lua in this script? My reservations lead me to deduct one star.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

timothy: Turret Defense

effigy on Nov 4th 2009, Version

Try the standard Linux tools.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Can't Open Turret Defense

timothy on Nov 4th 2009, Version

File wont decompress with 7zip. What did you use to create it?


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Great Script! CTF Lua

timothy on Nov 4th 2009, Version 4.0.2

Awful game type. CTF is just never fun. It's impossible to get balanced teams, players would always drop out leaving the sides unbalanced, and it almost always ends in a stalemate or one team completely dominating the other.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nice job...but... Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

BOB on Nov 2nd 2009, Version 1.0

First of all AMAZING JOB WITH THIS.

But that's the only reason I'm giving it 3 stars.

Having these new graphics takes away the classic video game feel. The thing I liked most about the XBLA version is that it has these graphics. It doesn't make the Xbox version all that special is what I'm saying.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Worth the effort Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

tycho on Nov 1st 2009, Version 1.0

[ xbla data removed ]


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Amazing Work Marathon 2 XBLA texture enhancement scripts

timothy on Nov 1st 2009, Version 1.0

It's hard to compare these with the original graphics or the high quality replacements created by the community over the years. They're not really better or worse, but they're certainly a different way to experience the game.

Highly recommended you try them out if have the required hardware. I'm planning on doing a complete play through of M2.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Mappers should study WETPEACK. WETPEACK

goran svensson on Oct 30th 2009, Version 1.1

The 2nd level was very good. Not only the rain, but also the landscape effect you applied to that level. Having the sky light up in synchronity with the thunder was realistic and new.

One should note though that thunder is often delayed by x seconds after a lighting flash. Sound only travels at 340m/s.When the sound and the lighting flash are matched perfectly it means the thunder is terrifying close.

If a random amount of time would expire between the flash and the sound, the effect would become more realistic.

Anyway, this map pack is getting a 5 based on the rain and the landscape effect.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

catch you with my death bag WETPEACK

ray on Oct 29th 2009, Version 1.1

you may think i've gone insane

but i promise you - i will kill again


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Raining Blood WETPEACK

BOB on Oct 29th 2009, Version 1.1

And just in time for the new SLAYER album!!!

Nice job man


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Realistic! WETPEACK

ray on Oct 26th 2009, Version 1.1

That fader made me feel just like I did when I was being damaged by real acid rain in China.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Innovative Ill Descent

Marathoner325 on Oct 25th 2009, Version 1.0

This is an impressive effect that I hope future maps and scenarios use.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best Netmap Pack Paradise Lost

Jackal on Oct 21st 2009, Version XIII.i

By far, this is my favorite pack of netmaps. All the levels are skillfully laid out, with enough weapons to get the job done, but not too many as to make it look cluttered.

Fabulous job!

EDIT 1/21/10: I see that maps have been added without rockets. I would rate this a six if I could...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Where is Acid Rain? Paradise Lost

ray on Oct 21st 2009, Version XIII

What are you hiding?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Recommendable! Ill Descent

RyokoTK on Oct 19th 2009, Version 1.0

And not just for the novelty of the snow effect; this is a genuinely good map.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

5 Stars Paradise Lost

inguinal falx on Oct 12th 2009, Version XI.i

.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Nice Work Citadel

timothy on Oct 1st 2009, Version 1

The outdoor area is nice, but the textures kind of suck. And you could really use some pools of fog in those dark pit areas. Not enough Storm Troopers. A-


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Yep. Citadel

wastedjamacan on Sep 28th 2009, Version 1

haha envy are you saying this was my idea? It was kinda both of us. Anyways, as an official review, A+ man. You did good. The teleporting was a little wierd (when you fall off) but i liked the hidden invis


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great Fun!!! Citadel

BOB on Sep 25th 2009, Version 1

I don't know if it's supposed to, but I agree: It is just like Rhen Var in SW BF. I love this map and it is easily in my top ten marathon maps. BTW, nice job on the indestructible and invisible BOB in the coffin room!!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Cool. Citadel

President People on Sep 25th 2009, Version 1

Kind of reminds me of the Rhen Var Citadel map from Battlefront I.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Another Idea Oddessy

Envy on Sep 23rd 2009, Version

Make the map completely silent, and have it in vaccum, so you add another element to the game. gotta get oxygen if you're winning for a long time.