Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Confusing Instructions M1A1-SE Tracks

craZboy557 on May 13th 2013, Version 1.5

The tracks are good, but... you're supposed to be able to replace the in-game tracks with these, right? I can't figure out how to do that. The instructions say I have to extract them, and I have no idea what that means. Maybe I'm supposed to know what that means, but I just can't figure it out.

Edit: Ooooook. FIIIIINALLY found a converter. If you ever change it so that we get them as MP3s then I'll raise the score. Worth getting just for the music. Rushing ftw!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Convenience TTEP Plugin (M1)

craZboy557 on May 11th 2013, Version v7.0

Just as good as the original, but more convenient.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Well, it makes the game look better. What else do you expect? HDscenery plugin

craZboy557 on May 11th 2013, Version v1.0

Like I said about the original, it doesn't do much, but it makes the game look a bit better and it does that well. As well, this one is more convenient, so yeah. You want a better looking game, download it.

Small oddity, it has a text file that says you've unzipped too far if you can see it, but the plugin still worked. Odd, a bit confusing.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Only better definition M1A1: StarScape DDS

craZboy557 on May 11th 2013, Version 1.0

Stars are higher definition and there are more of them, but they're all just a bunch of white. To call them spots wouldn't be accurate, as there IS detail to them, but they're rather uniform. The original file actually has an advantage over this as the stars there are multiple colors. What came to mind for me when I heard this had the milky way and hundreds of red and white and blue and yellow stars.

Edit: Ok, it's actualy pretty good. Might be better than the original stars. Still wish it was more colorful and varied, but y'know. It's decent.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Cool HD Scenery for M1A1

craZboy557 on May 11th 2013, Version 1.0

It's nothing amazing, but hey. It does what it does well, and that's making some parts of the game look better, so if you're trying to make your game look better go ahead and get it.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Beta HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

craZboy557 on May 11th 2013, Version 1.2

Woot, now I have a mod. Really cool I must say, but there's definitely a few things I hope to see in the next couple updates. For one, the Magnum and Fusion Pistols are a bit derpy looking. The Fusion pistol doesn't have a lot of detail, almost a grey blob with some red lights. Some detail; maybe it's just the perspective, but I think some more detail would be good. And the Magnum looks REALLY derpy. Too narrow, the scope is too high, too smooth. Doesn't have to be a rectangle but a little but more boxiness would go a long way with it. Also, the rocket launcher doesn't go all the way to the side of the screen. I'd expect that would be a simple fix though. All in all cool, looking forward to the full release.

Edit: So now I've played it a bit. (at first I just went in and scrolled through the weapons) Ok, the MA-75 definitely is awesome looking. Seems to be smoother animations too, which is great. Can't speak on the TOZT, alien gun, or SPNKR as I don't have them yet in this playthrough.

Edit: Oh, and a readme for how to install would be nice. Didn't know how to do this at first.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Epic... ... NESS Kill Them All IV

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 28th 2013, Version 1.00

The hub is one of the big highlights of this pack. It's separated into episodes packed with levels! Great job!


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Funky but not fun Avoidence

fiddler_on_a_roof on Apr 26th 2013, Version 1.00001

Somewhat interesting idea. But once I finally figured out what to do, it wasn't that fun. In the end, most people just like to find interesting ways to blow up aliens and each other.

It would help greatly if you would recommend to turn off the XBLA interface plugin, because you have no weapons and therefore no crosshairs.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

What am I doing Avoidence

President People on Apr 26th 2013, Version 1.0

Before I even start moving, the Drones start buzzing around and spill onto the path, blocking my way and sticking me in place so they can taze me to death.

I'm assuming this is because I "let my gaze fall upon them", but this is unavoidable because I start facing to the side(!) and there are Drones in view.

Despite the name, the monsters cannot be avoided because the path is narrow, and the Drones are fat. I feel like there's a Physics file missing here?

2 Stars for an interesting idea, I guess, but it's not very fun in its current state. I'd be willing to Try Again if it was playable.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

That perfect kind of awesome! HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

Mavrik on Apr 24th 2013, Version 1.1

Love the new weapon models! The assault riffle looks badass and i like the motion blur thing for the fists! Good work!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Contains the most complex level I've seen! Kindred Spirits

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 24th 2013, Version

The last level is a pure work of art. The level's detail is immense and it has a lot of storeys overlapping each other.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Epic Coda to Phoenix Kindred Spirits

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 23rd 2013, Version

Nice mini-scenario! Worth getting for sure.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

whoa HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

The Cool Guy on Apr 23rd 2013, Version 1.1

yo awesome dude this weapons like pretty nice, in fact I might start playing M1A1 again


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Simple Ubitquous Raging Vivacious Incinerating Valiant Amazing Legendariness! Survival.lua

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 20th 2013, Version 5

The best thing that came to Marathon! Now I can play Marathon in an ARCADE style! I make my own maps for it and test a lot with it. I take advantage of "Hills" and make certain maps easy and others insane!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Reasonable effort HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

fiddler_on_a_roof on Apr 5th 2013, Version 1.0

HD weapons for M1A1 have been worked on several times at the Pfhorums, but never completed, so good job at least completing a first iteration.

Some of the weapon graphics are too big and cover up the player's view, especially the napalm and the alien weapon. The pistols are too light of a shade of gray.

I would recommend opening a thread on the Pfhorums in the Projects section. It is a much better place to get feedback. When things are polished up, update this entry on Simplic7y.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow A1 quicksave & FOV mod

W'rkncacnter on Mar 28th 2013, Version 1.0

A random exe.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Press the ... MOoSE butt-in! Marathon Phoenix

MarathonPfhorever on Mar 20th 2013, Version 1.2.1

I like the arsenal. also, I like the sounds.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Obviously good Enhanced HUD for Marathon Phoenix

RyokoTK on Mar 18th 2013, Version 1.0

I mean, duh.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Getting hit by the Alien Gun Secondary Trigger on Crater Creator's Fort Roque Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

RyokoTK on Feb 19th 2013, Version 1.5

.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Perfect Starlight

goran svensson on Feb 16th 2013, Version III

The majority of maps are very good. Good balance, flow, architecture, cover, and choices. A 5 no doubt.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

ok Fort Roque

goran svensson on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0.1

I like the concept for 1vs1 play. Lots of cover. Crampy. It was the rocket launcher that ruined it for me. Remove rocket launchers, add a flamethrower or two.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Surprising Four of Diamonds

JohannesG on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0

This map surprised me. There are some flawed texturing here and there and sound could be done better. But overall gameplay was surprisingly good in a 3 player EMFH. The chasm plus the darkness in the middle allowed for some interesting gameplay in middle. With slightly better texturing and sound, it would get 4 stars from me.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good Four of Diamonds

goran svensson on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0

3-player game: I liked this map. The Arena allows for escape, and the exposure is not too bad. Vision goes both ways. I like maps where you can keep track of your enemies. This map is good for that. There were also plenty of cover to use. Another plus.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

old school SL Maps

goran svensson on Feb 9th 2013, Version 1.1.1

The maps have an old school feel which can be refreshing from the more streamlined modern maps.

In 1vs1 there is plenty of cover to be used, and the maps pace differently. Overall a pleasant experience.

Respawning 2x canisters can give too much advantage to the player who finds them first in 1vs1. Not sure how this plays out in 3+ players. I think they can be taken out.

Incontinental Divide was my favourtie map in the pack. That maps is a 4 or 5:er.

Overall I'm giving this pack a 3. To me it means that it is good/decent.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Satisfied SL Maps

JohannesG on Feb 9th 2013, Version 1.1.1

Played majority of the maps in 1vs1 with the MIME Physics and it seemed to work quite well. Incontinental Divide was probably my favorite and I noticed some interesting tactics used thanks to the new additions/changes from the original.

I noticed some things in the general architecture that could have been made look slightly better with little effort in some places but it did not disturb the overall flow.

Also, The idea/concept is really good. I want to see more people do this.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

epic Physics Editor One J

SomeAverageGuy on Feb 4th 2013, Version 1.1.6

Has more than PHYSICS! has Terminal editors and MAP makers! I'm bound to use it. :D


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

My Opinion Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

Destiny on Feb 4th 2013, Version 1.0

I had to wait a whole weekend before I got the chance to test this out. Today, I grabbed it along with TK's latest netpack on the first page along with the Survival script to test it out in my own way. Here's what I thought:

I was kinda expecting more. Sure, taking the delays of changing weapons is really nice, but as to the overall change of the weapons... yeah...

When I saw that the recoil to the pistol had been decreased to 0, for some reason, I thought it was gonna become some awesome pistol where I could easily empty an entire clip. Sadly, I was mistaken. It still felt like the same pistol, though, I managed to kill a major trooper from afar, which was pretty neat.

I'm glad someone did something to improve the fusion pistol! Finally, it can be used somewhat in combat without getting you killed. Granted, I used it in solo, so...

I was annoyed when I first used the grenade launcher. What happened to being able to kill a fighter with a single grenade on normal!? Come on! As for the main part of the AR, I saw no real difference.

I have mixed feelings about the SMG being changed to a sniper rifle. Sure, it was neat in Yota Saga and RtM, but it takes too long to reload, so your pretty much screwed if you miss, which is likely to happen with everyone running around like crazy in multiplayer.

As for the rest of the weapons (never got the chance to use the alien weapon), I saw no difference. There was, and I know that, but I didn't see it because it was subtle enough.

Overall: glad someone tried doing something different, which is why I'll give it three stars. One because it's required, one for doing a good job with the fusion pistol (although the energy drain aspect was a little weird, but I'll let it side), and the last one for doing SOMETHING. I'm tired of only seeing netmaps/netpacks on the main page.

Thank you for your contribution to the community. I would like to see what else you can do, JohannesG.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Seems Okay Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

Sharkie Lino on Feb 3rd 2013, Version 1.0

I haven't tried it with others yet, but did some tests. I'm a huge purist when it comes to physics, but I will say that this is probably a very good attempt at trying to not change the whole game itself. The main issue I have is the SMG. The change for that is just WAY too much, and several levels use that weapon, so I don't think that would work out very well for a majority of players, so I would reconsider that. I honestly may end up just staying with standard physics, but you're not to blame for that, it's just me.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Pretty Good. SL Maps

Karnage on Feb 1st 2013, Version 1.1.1

Flight Of The Toolator I would say was very well done. I enjoyed that M2 stock map and this one makes it a whole lot better. One Hit Wonder is definitely a huge change, and improvement from the original. I do agree with the previous comment though about adding some details for the level modifications.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good Overall! Paradise Lost

Karnage on Feb 1st 2013, Version XV

I do enjoy the very unique design that these levels have which certainly adds to the gameplay, and, not something you see in older Marathon Maps. Maybe one issue is similarities some levels have like the corner areas (for lack of a better term)of Paradigm Shift and Oculus Ex Inferni. The Downfall Of Paradise, I think is the best one.