Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nostalgic! Rotating Items

3371-Alpha on Nov 5th 2015, Version 1.0

Though it's not Marathon original it does remind me of many old shooter games such the FurFighters. Thank you for the plugin.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Don't Stop Developing! 3D Items Plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 4th 2015, Version 1.3

I hope when you say "final release" you mean "I'm not releasing anymore for now as I've fixed all bugs so far". It would be a shame for such an innovative plugin to disappear like that. Your plugin will be the future of Marathon, I guarantee it!

Note: this plugin appears to work in both M2 & 3.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A step in the right direction! Gorans Animated Liquids

3371-Alpha on Nov 4th 2015, Version 0.2

Excellent plugin! Havent noticed any glitches yet on either M2 or 3. I think the only thing that missing is animations for liquids other than water, but as you mentioned above that's pending.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Incompatible with HD Weapons Weapons In Hand - Muzzle Flash and Motion Blur

3371-Alpha on Nov 4th 2015, Version 1.5

Works very well but seems to override the HD weapons plugin with the old textures. Other wise works VERY well! So realistic looking!

Edit: turns out you can restore compatibility by simply following the plugin's instructions on removing the scope effect! Certain visual/texture glitches will still remain however.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Small bug but other wise works well m23redux Plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 3rd 2015, Version v1.1

This plugins tends to make your fists disappear when switching to melee with the Freeverse HD Weapons plugin installed but otherwise works well. This plugin also works on Rubicon X, although it replaces the sprites rather than updates them.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Complements other HD texture packs High-res Landscapes Plugin (M2)

3371-Alpha on Nov 3rd 2015, Version v1.1

An excellent companion to the "Marathon Durandal Textures @ 1024X1024" plugin since that plugin doesn't have built in landscapes. Note: these textures are not "HD remakes" (they do not match the originals in any way) but still fit the environment very well and are of higher quality than Freeverses' landscapes.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excellent Plugin ShotsFired Plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 3rd 2015, Version v1.1

Upgrades the bullet sprites: check! No bugs, No glitches: check! Works on Marathon 2, 3 & Rubicon: check! Higher quality than Freeverse's projectiles: check!

If you ask me this should be included with M2 & 3 by default.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

What about Melee? Weapon Enhancement Pack plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 2nd 2015, Version v1.41

This plugin enhances all Weapon sprites except the fists, which is a bummer. Note: remove/disable the Freeverse HD Weapons plugin before using otherwise the Weapons will have incorrect size proportions and can cover over half the screen.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Does exactly what it says XBLA Monsters Plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 2nd 2015, Version 20120128

No bugs, no glitches, just works. Oh yes, a fork of this plugin for infinity can be found here: http://simplici7y.com/items/infinity-monsters-hd-plugin-2


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Does not work on official M1 m1redux Plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 1st 2015, Version v1.1

When used with the official M1 (not M1A1), it tends to mix & match the ammo textures and has incorrect size proportions for the weapons. A version of this plugin I modified for use with the official Marathon can be found here: http://pfhorums.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=39240


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Small Texture Bug with official M1 HDscenery plugin

3371-Alpha on Nov 1st 2015, Version v1.0

Does a great job at making the scenery clearer. However there's a small bug: it causes the floating UESC Defence Drones to cycle between all available scenery textures, which is odd considering the plugins isn't even sopose to modify their textures. This only occurs when used with the official Marathon 1, not M1A1.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Excellent mod. Realism Pack

Gabrieloup on Sep 27th 2015, Version 2.0

Very well done, and probably the best Shapes file of this whole site. I only give 4 stars though because the physics file glitches randomly and some secrets in certain maps like Waterloo Waterpark cannot be acquired with the physics file. The shapes file boosts the AR accuracy, as far as I know, and some minor other tweaks, noticeable in gameplay. And the sound file replaces absolutely nothing that I could notice. If you want a great physics file, get Aeon of Strife instead.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Fucking terrible. Fast with Pain

Gabrieloup on Sep 27th 2015, Version 1.1

It's irritating how many Simplici7y mods completely suck. I'll plan to change that myself, but for now, this shit is getting out of hand.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

No "Feeling Doom" physics Seanyx's Big a** physics pack

Gabrieloup on Sep 26th 2015, Version 1.00

Description is misleading, there's no "Feeling Doom" physics, which was what I was looking for.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Skippable Marathon: Repercussions of Evil

Gabrieloup on Sep 26th 2015, Version fix (\f n -> if n == 0 then 1 else n * f (n-1))

A re-interpretation of the short story "Doom Repercussions of Evil". Done in the wrong place at the wrong time by the wrong person.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good. Colony Mod

Gabrieloup on Sep 26th 2015, Version 1.2

I thought there was a Physics file in it, happens that there's just a shapes file instead, in addition to the map file.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Not impressed Seven Stages of Megalopia

irons on Aug 29th 2015, Version 1.0

One might argue whether "being impressed" means much in the context of seven-polygon levels. After all, they're bound to be relatively primitive, aren't they?

Yes and no. There's a difference between overcoming obstacles and stopping well short of them, and while these levels are probably at least as good as very early fan works for the first Marathon, what does that really say about them?

The good: given two skilled players, and a pact between them not to kill a newly-spawned player on sight, you can have fun here. Many of the levels places hold up under these two rules. In particular, The Alley Gorey, Lobes and Pfhishes, and The Bilateral Commission are the best for these types of games. Lobes and Pfhishes is the most varied and offers the best cover, while the other two can house frenetic games. Shading is paid due. CC has applied textures with admirable workmanship. Hamilton's Unfinished Cycle also features a nice trap where the invisibility powerup spawns, preventing players from following one another around for the kill.

But that's not enough. Even under the kindest circumstances, there will be frustrating games. In all levels, ammunition and weapons are sparse, meaning that more often than not you'll be on the giving or receiving end of a shotgun-vs.-pistol slaughter. Spawns will occur within sight of roaming enemies. Architecture is often boring, small, or, even more often, both. Without exception, maps have one or two separate levels. Often these are accessible by an easy-to-cover range of entrances, meaning the player on top tends to stay on top. Players don't have much choice when attempting to dodge enemy fire and often the first person to score a hit is the winner. This is a regression to the most boring aspects of early Marathon mapping, not the transcendence of self-imposed boundaries.

Yes, this review is about four years too late. I thought it would be good in any case to counter the positivism from other reviewers with something a bit more realistic.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Love it! Arms Race

dustu on Aug 28th 2015, Version 1.0

Hi, I had the pleasure of playing this in a multiplayer environment with 4 players. A real blast. I really like how your weapons are demoted after each kill. Especially good of rme since I tend to get killed more by more experienced players. Gives me a chance to hang in there!

Good job!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Cinco Arms Race

Windbreaker on Aug 23rd 2015, Version 1.0

What's most surprising about this great, simple-to-understand script is how well it handles in a two-player game. While you may get off to an early lead, the constant downgrading of your arsenal gives the other player an obvious advantage, and most games I've played using this script have ended up pretty close.

I imagine it works well with larger groups as well, though I haven't seen that yet. Good job!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

orz Infra Apogee

irons on Aug 22nd 2015, Version 1.5

Good maps are still being made. These put mine to shame, and remind me in many cases of Red Spectrum crossed with M2 and M1. Favorite: The Cylindrical. Great look, very vertical, and fun. Something I would have liked very much to play when I was more active.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

arms race master race Arms Race

RyokoTK on Aug 18th 2015, Version 1.0

Irons kindly didn't post how the game works. Basically it's an EMFH script where everyone starts with rockets, and after each kill you get demoted to a weaker weapon, and the winner is the first person to get a kill with fists.

A really fun script. Really interesting because it forces you into interesting weapon matchups that you don't see in normal play, and it's also a nice rubberbanding system to keep less-performing players in the game.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Creative 3 Boss Battles

Tycho X on Aug 14th 2015, Version 1.0

Really neat. I don't know why I didn't write this review earlier, I must have forgotten. This is the kind of stuff I've never seen in marathon and implementing it via the (limited) physics must've been quite a task. I highly recommend this for anyone that's looking for ideas for special/elite/boss units. 5/5 for creativity.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This is badass Dave's Epic Adventure

Mazaro on May 24th 2015, Version 1.0

The physics are a perfect blend of the original Pathways physics with a little more of the fluid movement and agility of Marathon, making combat a lot more fun than it could be in Pathways, which felt sluggish. This allows the player to kill a lot more enemies, allowing the battles to be much larger.

The artwork, too, has been subtly shifted to the Marathon color palette in a way I appreciate.

The levels perfectly capture the Pathways structure and vibe.

I really liked this, great for its simplicity. I'm of half of a mind to create a bunch of Pathways style levels with this physics model.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Not Hard; Tedious EVIL Ra'thor

skraeling on Apr 5th 2015, Version I

The fact that the only person to finish your scenario frequently mentions that he cheated in order to get through the game should have been a HUGE clue to you that you needed to go back and redo some aspects of your design.

I only played through 1.25 of the levels before I quit.

Kudos for making a scenario at all; that's no small feat. Also, I liked your set pieces (such as the stasis pods, or whatever they were) which make it feel more like a "real" space we're playing in. Your terminals also looked really good.

This scenario is not difficult; it is a tedious waste of time. If it was difficult then I'd have to actually put effort into playing it.

Withholding save terminals (I didn't see any) does not make your scenario more difficult.

Starting the player at 1/4 health and withholding rechargers and canisters (I did not see any) does not make your scenario more difficult.

Giving the player an assault rifle but only two extra grenade packs (I didn't see any other ammo) does not make your game more difficult.

Hiding switches and doors that are mandatory to progress through a level does not make your game more difficult.

None of these things makes the game hard, it just makes the game arbitrarily unfair.

I quit after the third time I died (on Normal). Why would I waste time replaying everything from the start again? It's just switch hunting, backtracking, and the little combat that exists isn't fun.

Maybe the later levels are more fun and interesting, but you certainly don't seem to want me to get to them and find out.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Hard, but bland EVIL Ra'thor

Herbert West on Apr 4th 2015, Version I

This scenario is very hard and . . . well, that's it. There's nothing wrong with a hard scenario, so long as it is fun enough to keep the player interested despite many deaths and re-tries. A dull scenario is tolerable if you can breeze through it quickly. A dull hard scenario, though, is just no good at all.

Depriving the player of save terminals so that they have to redo a tedious switch hunt when they die - hard? Yes. Fun? Heck no. Fighting Devlins with fists or inadequate ammo - hard? Yes. Fun? Heck no. Frequently teleporting in enemies behind the player - hard? Yes. Fun? Heck no, at least in narrow corridors. (Take a look at TI for teleporting enemies behind the player done right - they are used to block escape routes, not as a "Surprise! Ya dead!" thing.) A vacuum level with inadequate air - hard? Heck yes. Fun? Very much heck no.

There is some good architecture here, and some of the combat is fun - hence the rating of two stars rather than one - but you have to wade through a lot of tedium and "do it again stupid" gameplay to get it.

I look forward to the new version. There is a lot of room for improvement here.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Tedious first level. EVIL Ra'thor

MoppyPuppy on Apr 2nd 2015, Version I

First level was too tedious, I wasn't having fun so I stopped playing.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

:V Infra Apogee

RyokoTK on Feb 1st 2015, Version 1.1

Windbreaker is probably pretty tired of me pointing out tiny imperfections and issues that don't actually matter, but that's because there's nothing actually wrong with this stuff. Captain Confidence is a supremely good map and worth the price of admission on its own, but the rest of the pack is good too. The M1 and M2 maps mixed in are very nice too, and Windbreaker avoids the obvious trap of mixing them together with the Infinity textures, so good job dude. But mostly, the geometry and layouts are very competently done and are lacking in some of the minor annoyances that cropped up throughout Caustic Dystopia, and everyone should just download this pack because it's actually different from the usual stuff you see these days.