Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Epic Coda to Phoenix Kindred Spirits

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 23rd 2013, Version

Nice mini-scenario! Worth getting for sure.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

whoa HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

The Cool Guy on Apr 23rd 2013, Version 1.1

yo awesome dude this weapons like pretty nice, in fact I might start playing M1A1 again


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Simple Ubitquous Raging Vivacious Incinerating Valiant Amazing Legendariness! Survival.lua

SomeAverageGuy on Apr 20th 2013, Version 5

The best thing that came to Marathon! Now I can play Marathon in an ARCADE style! I make my own maps for it and test a lot with it. I take advantage of "Hills" and make certain maps easy and others insane!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Reasonable effort HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

fiddler_on_a_roof on Apr 5th 2013, Version 1.0

HD weapons for M1A1 have been worked on several times at the Pfhorums, but never completed, so good job at least completing a first iteration.

Some of the weapon graphics are too big and cover up the player's view, especially the napalm and the alien weapon. The pistols are too light of a shade of gray.

I would recommend opening a thread on the Pfhorums in the Projects section. It is a much better place to get feedback. When things are polished up, update this entry on Simplic7y.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow A1 quicksave & FOV mod

W'rkncacnter on Mar 28th 2013, Version 1.0

A random exe.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Press the ... MOoSE butt-in! Marathon Phoenix

MarathonPfhorever on Mar 20th 2013, Version 1.2.1

I like the arsenal. also, I like the sounds.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Obviously good Enhanced HUD for Marathon Phoenix

RyokoTK on Mar 18th 2013, Version 1.0

I mean, duh.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Getting hit by the Alien Gun Secondary Trigger on Crater Creator's Fort Roque Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

RyokoTK on Feb 19th 2013, Version 1.5

.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Perfect Starlight

goran svensson on Feb 16th 2013, Version III

The majority of maps are very good. Good balance, flow, architecture, cover, and choices. A 5 no doubt.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

ok Fort Roque

goran svensson on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0.1

I like the concept for 1vs1 play. Lots of cover. Crampy. It was the rocket launcher that ruined it for me. Remove rocket launchers, add a flamethrower or two.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Surprising Four of Diamonds

JohannesG on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0

This map surprised me. There are some flawed texturing here and there and sound could be done better. But overall gameplay was surprisingly good in a 3 player EMFH. The chasm plus the darkness in the middle allowed for some interesting gameplay in middle. With slightly better texturing and sound, it would get 4 stars from me.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good Four of Diamonds

goran svensson on Feb 15th 2013, Version 1.0

3-player game: I liked this map. The Arena allows for escape, and the exposure is not too bad. Vision goes both ways. I like maps where you can keep track of your enemies. This map is good for that. There were also plenty of cover to use. Another plus.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

old school SL Maps

goran svensson on Feb 9th 2013, Version 1.1.1

The maps have an old school feel which can be refreshing from the more streamlined modern maps.

In 1vs1 there is plenty of cover to be used, and the maps pace differently. Overall a pleasant experience.

Respawning 2x canisters can give too much advantage to the player who finds them first in 1vs1. Not sure how this plays out in 3+ players. I think they can be taken out.

Incontinental Divide was my favourtie map in the pack. That maps is a 4 or 5:er.

Overall I'm giving this pack a 3. To me it means that it is good/decent.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Satisfied SL Maps

JohannesG on Feb 9th 2013, Version 1.1.1

Played majority of the maps in 1vs1 with the MIME Physics and it seemed to work quite well. Incontinental Divide was probably my favorite and I noticed some interesting tactics used thanks to the new additions/changes from the original.

I noticed some things in the general architecture that could have been made look slightly better with little effort in some places but it did not disturb the overall flow.

Also, The idea/concept is really good. I want to see more people do this.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

epic Physics Editor One J

SomeAverageGuy on Feb 4th 2013, Version 1.1.6

Has more than PHYSICS! has Terminal editors and MAP makers! I'm bound to use it. :D


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

My Opinion Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

Destiny on Feb 4th 2013, Version 1.0

I had to wait a whole weekend before I got the chance to test this out. Today, I grabbed it along with TK's latest netpack on the first page along with the Survival script to test it out in my own way. Here's what I thought:

I was kinda expecting more. Sure, taking the delays of changing weapons is really nice, but as to the overall change of the weapons... yeah...

When I saw that the recoil to the pistol had been decreased to 0, for some reason, I thought it was gonna become some awesome pistol where I could easily empty an entire clip. Sadly, I was mistaken. It still felt like the same pistol, though, I managed to kill a major trooper from afar, which was pretty neat.

I'm glad someone did something to improve the fusion pistol! Finally, it can be used somewhat in combat without getting you killed. Granted, I used it in solo, so...

I was annoyed when I first used the grenade launcher. What happened to being able to kill a fighter with a single grenade on normal!? Come on! As for the main part of the AR, I saw no real difference.

I have mixed feelings about the SMG being changed to a sniper rifle. Sure, it was neat in Yota Saga and RtM, but it takes too long to reload, so your pretty much screwed if you miss, which is likely to happen with everyone running around like crazy in multiplayer.

As for the rest of the weapons (never got the chance to use the alien weapon), I saw no difference. There was, and I know that, but I didn't see it because it was subtle enough.

Overall: glad someone tried doing something different, which is why I'll give it three stars. One because it's required, one for doing a good job with the fusion pistol (although the energy drain aspect was a little weird, but I'll let it side), and the last one for doing SOMETHING. I'm tired of only seeing netmaps/netpacks on the main page.

Thank you for your contribution to the community. I would like to see what else you can do, JohannesG.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Seems Okay Marathon Infinity Multiplayer Enhancement Pack

Sharkie Lino on Feb 3rd 2013, Version 1.0

I haven't tried it with others yet, but did some tests. I'm a huge purist when it comes to physics, but I will say that this is probably a very good attempt at trying to not change the whole game itself. The main issue I have is the SMG. The change for that is just WAY too much, and several levels use that weapon, so I don't think that would work out very well for a majority of players, so I would reconsider that. I honestly may end up just staying with standard physics, but you're not to blame for that, it's just me.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Pretty Good. SL Maps

Karnage on Feb 1st 2013, Version 1.1.1

Flight Of The Toolator I would say was very well done. I enjoyed that M2 stock map and this one makes it a whole lot better. One Hit Wonder is definitely a huge change, and improvement from the original. I do agree with the previous comment though about adding some details for the level modifications.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good Overall! Paradise Lost

Karnage on Feb 1st 2013, Version XV

I do enjoy the very unique design that these levels have which certainly adds to the gameplay, and, not something you see in older Marathon Maps. Maybe one issue is similarities some levels have like the corner areas (for lack of a better term)of Paradigm Shift and Oculus Ex Inferni. The Downfall Of Paradise, I think is the best one.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Great chaotic style Marathon Aeon

GeorgeJohn on Feb 1st 2013, Version 1.10

I am a huge fan of the chaotic nature of the battles and architecture of the first part of the game. It seems unscripted, and I like the cramped style of combat. It prevents the ridiculous "Run in circles around the enemies and let them kill each other" technique, which is common in large battles.

I ended up taking the timeline where you get infected, and I was having a good time with those levels, though they are somewhat less fun than the ones where you cooperate with humans. I got stuck on the lava level Jjaro Jjaro Revolution. I ran through it about 30 times, getting farther each time, but I lost hope after a while. It's just way to hard, and minutes of focused killing can be obliterated because you just got knocked off into the lava. I'm okay with long stretches without a save terminal, but that was too long.

So to summarize, the first few levels were amazingly refreshing, and reminded me how I used to feel playing the original games oh so many years ago. It loses that charm towards the middle of the game, though continues to be very good.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Why SL Maps

W'rkncacnter on Feb 1st 2013, Version 1.1.1

I don't see anything in the description that says why you did this. Why don't you make something original?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Loads of fun Marathon Phoenix

fiddler_on_a_roof on Jan 31st 2013, Version 1.2.1

Too late to be reviewing this thing, but I did want to say that this is the most kickass scenario out there. The maps are beautiful and immensely complicated, but at the same time, I found it easy to move from place to place and complete the objectives.

The combat really shines here. There are hordes of powerful enemies, but the arsenal is far more powerful (and more satisfying) than the standard Infinity weapons. There is always enough ammo, and usually enough maneuvering room, health, and saves to slaughter the hordes without being too frustrated. I've been more frustrated with other scenarios with far fewer and less powerful enemies.

Also, a great scenario to increase your skills in solo play. I first played it through several months ago on Normal. I'm now in the middle of a playthrough in TC, and it's even more fun than before.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Great level design, tiresome combat Marathon Phoenix

GeorgeJohn on Jan 26th 2013, Version 1.2.1

This scenario has amazingly designed levels. They are the main reason I stuck it through to the end. There is some beautiful architecture in this map set, the lava level (forgot the title) comes to mind. The combat is very hard, and you basically have to save after every encounter. One problem is the massive over use of red defenders. They are not quite as much fun to fight as their ubiquity would suggest. The weapons are generally impotent, which you get used to after a bit. The energy katar invincibility totally changes the gameplay once it comes out. It's a nice addition and makes the following levels more manageable, though makes the final boss battle somewhat trivial. Finally, the terminal texts are boring. I stopped reading them after about the 2nd level.

The skulls were a fun touch. I managed to get 31 at the end.

All in all a great scenario, very solid. Could use a rewriting of the terminals, and perhaps a reduction of the amount of red defenders.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Great fun. Marathon Phoenix

Fire Angel on Jan 18th 2013, Version 1.2.1

Excellent, very challenging but kept my attention the whole way through. I dislike the author's habit of putting in many doors that never open, but that can be forgiven in the light of the all round excellence of this scenario. I've played it through several times and kept going back to it because some of the levels are such fun to play. The Face of Modern Gaming is almost an epic on its own and Roquefortress is another favorite.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

EFFORT skraeling's 7 polygon maps

RyokoTK on Jan 2nd 2013, Version 1.0

I'll further render S7's review system utterly meaningless by rating this a "5" just for putting lazy shitposters in their place.

Also, there were actually a couple very cool (if impractical in multiplayer) ideas executed here.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Worth 5 Now! Unlost Found

Sharkie Lino on Jan 1st 2013, Version v1.4

Great work, brillster! Did a solo run through the two new maps and looks like it will be fun, great work on the sounds too!

The hill adjustment on The Pharos was the best thing you did. That level is very fun now with KOTH.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Whatever Caustic Dystopia

RyokoTK on Dec 31st 2012, Version 1.4

Congratulations in advance on 1,000 downloads. (It's at 933 at the time of this review, but I'm sure it's due to happen soon.)

Make some single player maps. Then it won't feel like your detailing skills are being wasted when most people won't notice them in a EMFH game.

Oh yeah, the maps. Your two new entries are fantastic. And they aren't arena maps, so I'd give you a 6 if possible for actually taking the more difficult route.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Oh my god someone made a map Unlost Found

RyokoTK on Dec 31st 2012, Version v1.4

I've actually played several games on several of these maps, and never made any serious comments.

They're really good! I can see a lot of growth as I go down the list; A Warm Feeling and Hide and Seek are two really visually/geometrically mature maps that use a lot of good texture choices to make it work.

The maps all seem mechanically sound, too; nothing stands out as really bad, except for maybe the map Weight of the World, which I am pretty sure was the first map, and it shows. It's to the point that you might want to make a new pack, because you're going to start veering away from the styles of your original efforts.

Differential shading still needs work, and on the whole the pack is too reliant on arena-style maps, but it's still a very good effort on the whole.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I love the dream parts Marathon Aeon

SomeAverageGuy on Dec 22nd 2012, Version 1.10

My favorite levels, honestly were Vae Victis and Words Which I Command. Because the thing about the guy dreaming, it's excellency. Epic scenario.