Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Finally.. CTF Flag Shapes Patch

caitifty on Aug 7th 2008, Version

Thanks for putting the effort in to create actual flags. Appreciate it.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

AMAZING Weapon Enhancement Pack

BOB on Aug 6th 2008, Version 1.4.1

I think it is really cool, and makes the graphics similar to the graphics for Marathon 2 on xbox. However, I'm not seeing any ricochet. In the picture above, it isn't the bullets ricocheting, but the shells coming out of the gun! Other than that, it's great.I don't know if there is one, but how about an ALIEN enhancement pack? I would like to the see the Bob's in HD!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Amazing MapDamager Lua

$lave on Aug 3rd 2008, Version .2 != .20

I LOVE THIS SCRIPT IT IS SO FUN


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Perhaps I'm not using it properly? MapDamager Lua

Bruno on Aug 2nd 2008, Version .2 != .20

I don't know if the fault is mine, but running this script solo does not appear to work. It comes with no readme, so I am unable to tell if I am using it incorrectly. I hesitate to host it in netplay as it would likely piss off my joiners.

Upon spawning, I appear to be under the level itself in some sort of hot-pink psychedelic Marathon acid trip with weapons floating overhead and nonsense appearing on the overhead map. Health drains slowly until death. Admittedly this was cool for the first few goes, but it's not what the script is intended to do.

I realize that I may have been trolled, but perhaps there is actually something wrong with the script. Hell, who knows.

Edit: It occurs to me that the script technically does as advertised; MapDamager does in fact damage maps. Also, I no longer doubt that I was trolled hook, line, and sinker. Bravo, W'rk.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

meh MapDamager Lua

tim on Aug 2nd 2008, Version .2 != .20

It taught me how to write Lua. I went on to make many crappy scripts. Thanks.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

More! Cosmic Clouds

RyokoTK on Aug 1st 2008, Version 1.3

I first reviewed 1.0.0... and since then, more maps have been added, but the overall quality has not improved much, so to me this pack still remains a 4.

Ascent still remains my favorite map. Of the new maps (since 1.0), though, Leek Hills is the most visually impressive -- Slave definitely shows a mastery of the Water textures in some of these maps.

Most of the new maps are good enough to keep me wanting more (except for Sky Saw, no more of that), and the quality of the pack overall is certainly rising. With a little more care, and a bit more diversity, this pack would be true quality.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Needs work The Warehouse

RyokoTK on Aug 1st 2008, Version 2.0

This is a pack that shows promise, but needs a lot of work and refinement. There are a couple maps that are almost there, and are certainly playable, but overall a lot of work needs to be done.

Common problems include:

  • Too much diversity in weapon choices, which leads to not enough ammo or guns for any of them and too many useless ones.
  • Lighting is generally flat (except for Imperial Uranus); more contrast is needed overall.
  • Texturing needs work but is decent.
  • A noticeable penchant for big, empty rooms -- which is ok, but boring. These need to be spiced up.
  • Deceptive level size markers (Imperial Uranus is much smaller than Docking Bay 4).

Some specific level notes:

  • The 1x recharger on Avoiding the Light is unnecessary.
  • Waterloo Carnage is probably my favorite, but it needs at least 3x as much ammo.
  • Imperial Uranus is also good, it just needs more gun spawns. The extra textures are unnecessary and don't mesh well.

Waterloo Carnage and Imperial Uranus especially show growth, and they could form the beginnings of a solid, high-quality pack.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Lots of Fun One Way 2

tim on Jul 30th 2008, Version 2.0

Great map for KOTH or LMOTH, but hard to find people willing to play it.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

wow. Jump Script

VID_32 on Jul 29th 2008, Version 1.2

dude, you kick ass. the jump works really well, and the sounds are great! I'd only use it in multiplayer though. but still. kickass.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A review? Jump Script

TweeterMan on Jul 24th 2008, Version 1.2

Here it is: sweeeeeeet.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Lol One Way 2

chinkeeyong on Jul 18th 2008, Version 2.0

People, stop giving this joke reviews. One Way 2 is a nice map, but it's just not cut out for multiplayer. There's dead ends everywhere and the middle is a suicide trap. Not what I'd want to host, but nice idea. :P


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

I haven't played this on net Dodge & Cover

chinkeeyong on Jul 18th 2008, Version 1.01

but I know where it came from: Forge House. http://www.nextforcesw.com/marathon/


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Works well. Jump Script

chinkeeyong on Jul 16th 2008, Version 1.2

I can't really complain about this. What it purports to do, it does well, and though I feel that it's sort of boring, it's how it's supposed to be. 5/5 and respect.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excellent! Visual Mode

Tim Vogel on Jul 14th 2008, Version 2.0

This is a must have for any mapper or scenario designer. It should be really easy to get started if you're familiar with Forge's Visual mode and it has a couple of great improvements over Forge.

I've made a lot of maps in the past that are close to the 1024 poly limit and it takes a lot of time to texture these maps in Forge because of it's limits and crashes. This makes it so much easier, kudos to Treellama and Irons for this gem!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A powerful tool Visual Mode

Longinus on Jul 13th 2008, Version 2.0

I'm quite astounded by how many of Forge's visual mode features have been packed into this script. Very clever of Jon and Greg to have pulled this off using A1. I find its a very convenient tool, able to mostly replace the Forge visual mode. With me using entirely PC's, its nice not having to crack open my ancient G3 laptop and struggle with forge's annoying visual mode limitations. Still, if you're making a fairly complex map, you'll still have to revert to forge for certain visual edits. Controls are not particularly user friendly. (completely understandable since this is all done with Alephone). You select certain editing modes by pressing keys such as mic, map, or action key. You then click or hit the switch weapon keys to perform various actions. As mentioned before, the HUD really helps here. I�m sure is possible to improve upon these inconveniences in future iterations. Aside from the mostly minor usability nuisances, this is a very effective and powerful tool.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Good To Have Visual Mode

Sharkie Lino on Jul 12th 2008, Version 2.0

Very useful. It has allowed me to make many texture fixes to maps without having to worry about any crashes due to the "Too Many Transparent Edges" error.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

An absolute must-have Visual Mode

RyokoTK on Jul 12th 2008, Version 2.0

After 15 minutes I was sold. The script does what it says on the tin, and it does an extremely good job of replicating Forge's abilities whenever possible, and exceeding them whenever capable.

There are a few obvious problems, but it's less a fault of the script and more just an engine limitation. The controls are sub-par, but the HUD does a good job of clarifying what does what. There are a few minor differences in functionality between this and Forge's visual mode, but nothing that breaks the bank. The only key problem I have is that, currently, yaw and pitch aren't locked when aligning textures, meaning that if you want to align a texture on a wall you can't do so without simultaneously looking around. Adding control panels is a little bit sticky, but workable. There are a couple other personal preferences but they don't really detract from the script.

Overall, this is an outstanding utility that very nearly renders Forge's visual mode obsolete, and I heartily recommend it for anyone -- especially for mappers who tend to have visually complex maps that crash Forge.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

A Good Pack The Warehouse

$lave on Jul 8th 2008, Version 2.0

This is definitely a good pack, but it isn't consistent throughout. All the maps, in my experience, have enough ammo, and all the ones I've played are quite fun, but there are some.. issues that keep me from giving this 5 stars. Waterloo Carnage is a great map, it looks nice, has enough weapons and ammo and flows well. Punk Plaza still looks fairly nice, not as nice as waterloo, but it still flows well, has enough ammo, is balanced etc. Space Port Alpha can also be great fun, and Avoiding the Light is a nice map, despite feeling slightly cramped. Imperial Uranus is another good map, although it isn't completely solid throughout, some of the texturing and lighting could be touched up a bit, in my opinion. All the maps I've listed, however, are very original and fun maps. The last two maps, however, I can't say are at the same level. The use of the Jjaro set can be quite spotty, and doesn't always look terribly nice. These two maps maps still flow well enough and have enough ammo, but they are lacking visually.

That said, good job, and I hope to see you making more maps at some point!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Thanks! Marathon Map Splitter

thermoplyae on Jul 3rd 2008, Version

Thanks, SirBlastalot, for writing such valuable software and sharing it with the community!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Oldie and goodie. Marathon Map Splitter

chinkeeyong on Jul 3rd 2008, Version

Title says it all. My favorite use was to use it to extract the Reaver physics from M: R and go all Godzilla in the net levels. >:)


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

An even seriouser review One Way 2

W'rkncacnter on Jun 29th 2008, Version 2.0

I agree with W'rkncacnter.