Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

YAMHNP Paradise Lost

treellama on Sep 24th 2007, Version 1.0

Yet another must have net pack!

This fine triptych is the beginning of a worthy successor to Red Spectrum.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

gyffes Sovereignty

gyffes on Sep 4th 2007, Version v1.1

Sh*t, who am I to argue with Ryoko?

I concur -- this is an outstanding map pack. I'm particularly fond of King of Infinite Space for groups of 4-6; Watchtower is excellent for 3-5.

I'd've given this pack 5 stars except that Watchtower's limited respawn points results in waaay too high a spawnkill incident rate.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

When they're on, they rock Coriolis Loop

gyffes on Aug 21st 2007, Version 1.0000000000000001

Yes, there are weaknesses in this pack, but they stem from a time when the Art was simpler and netfeedback nonexistant.

This map pack is spectacular because the flow is terrific (ok, ok, IN THE FOUR THAT ROCK).

Excellent use of elevation shifts and relatively sheltered respawn points are two under-emphasized high points to this map pack.

I just wish the latest versions of A1 didn't crash Grendel's Happy Cookie...


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

ehhhh CTF Castle Carnage

rune on Aug 12th 2007, Version 2.1

i cant find the flag when i first tried it out idk if the bridge is supposed to go down and i like the lvl


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Hard to resist. Sovereignty

RyokoTK on Jul 29th 2007, Version v1.1

This pack has very few (arguably no) flaws in it. All of the maps have their own qualities that make them fun to play, and I don't regret playing on any of them.

However, at the same time, there's nothing truly original in this pack. It doesn't explore any new tricks, in my opinion, but it does what's been done before very well. Which isn't bad at all, really. I'd just like to see a little more creativity.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good stuff overall! Revel

RyokoTK on Jul 29th 2007, Version 3.2

Some of these maps seem unpolished, or have other flaws (like simply being too effing huge); on the other hand, some of these maps are fantastic, and the architecture and geometry overall is fantastic, if not overwhelming. A must-have just for the cool visuals alone, but a keeper for some solid maps.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excellent maps Red Spectrum

Hangar-96 on Jul 21st 2007, Version 2.02

Great map pack. Ecliptica and The Wildfire are personal favorites. The maps are well balanced and have a good layout of ammo and weapons.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Truly Essential Coriolis Loop

epstein on Jul 5th 2007, Version 1.0000000000000001

These maps may seem a bit old-school by today's standards, and half of the maps may not be generally used, but the pack is monumental. The good maps are (still) among the best I've ever played, and the pack is (deservingly) canon for multiplayer.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

getting there Simplici7y

irons on Jun 20th 2007, Version 1.0

Good work so far, but I, like Treellama, have a few things to say. First of all, The main page map order doesn't really seem to have any set pattern. I think it would benefit from some organization, and perhaps truncating or eliminating the summary (from the front-page) altogether--this would save space and make the page less confusing.

I know searching is coming soon, so I won't talk any more about that. The only other miscellany I can think of right now is that version numbers on files since the 1.0 release have gotten messed up. For example, in JUICE, Treellama actually rated v1.1, while Ryoko was the one who rated v1.0, but they are swapped.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Art Linkletter Says JUICE

treellama on Jun 20th 2007, Version 1.1

I heartily endorse this product. JUICE eats Chisel's lunch, then the lunch it brought for itself from home, then some cookies from the vending machine. It's that good.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Art Linkletter Says JUICE

treellama on Jun 20th 2007, Version 1.1

I heartily endorse this product. JUICE eats Chisel's lunch, then the lunch it brought for itself from home, then some cookies from the vending machine. It's that good.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

making progress Simplici7y

treellama on Jun 20th 2007, Version 1.0

Simplici7y is very crude compared to Fileball yet, but it's actually still being developed so there's hope.

Some things I would like to see:

  • I didn't know it was possible to rate maps or leave comments until there was a message on the front page saying so. How about a "Place Your Rating!" link like Fileball has? The stars are very unintuitive.

  • I got a page of weird errors when I uploaded All-Shapes, but then it got posted OK. So I don't know what's up.

  • How about a file upload progress, like fileball has?

  • Also, it's difficult to find things. A keyword search would be very useful.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This is a title. JUICE

RyokoTK on Jun 8th 2007, Version 1.1

JUICE does a lot of really useful things that are nice to have on call at a random time. It's not really something I rely on -- yet -- but it's nice to know that, oh, I need to replace all of X with Y... and JUICE is there. Or I have a bunch of floating objects... but JUICE can fix all of those.

It's a great tool to have.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This is a title. JUICE

RyokoTK on Jun 8th 2007, Version 1.1

JUICE does a lot of really useful things that are nice to have on call at a random time. It's not really something I rely on -- yet -- but it's nice to know that, oh, I need to replace all of X with Y... and JUICE is there. Or I have a bunch of floating objects... but JUICE can fix all of those.

It's a great tool to have.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I like it CTF Castle Carnage

Phortiphy on Jun 7th 2007, Version 2.1

Let me get this out of the way: this map is the first one I've seen that had so much texture variety using the stock Infinity shapes. It looks pretty cool.

Now yeah, it's a gimmick map in two ways (textures and the "Simon" lights in the middle). Even so, it's a very playable arena, and while it's not original as such, that doesn't stop it from being enjoyable. Perhaps a flamboyant replacement for the * of Pains?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I like it CTF Castle Carnage

Phortiphy on Jun 6th 2007, Version 2.1

I was looking for this map ever since I first got aleph one working. I like the cramped hallways, and it offers decent defence for the flag (finally) with the need-to-go to teleporters, unless you use the switch, and the "secret" door behind the flag. It is my ideal map, but I am known for my weird tastes. I still remember JC's reaction when I first hosted it: "ewwwwwwww"

That email winky is for me. ; ) right back atcha.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Conerstone of All Map Packs Red Spectrum

herecomethej2000 on Jun 4th 2007, Version 2.02

If you dont have this pack, Get It. It's practically required by law that all hosts have this pack. All violaters will be shot on site. These maps vary from good to excellent from all shapes and sizes.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A novel idea CTF Castle Carnage

RyokoTK on Jun 4th 2007, Version 2.1

A novel idea, but not one that was executed very well. The original map wasn't very good, and this one isn't either. The hallways are cramped, the way to the flags is too confusing, and the main arena is uncomfortable and has untextured sides. An all-around mess.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

A novel idea CTF Castle Carnage

RyokoTK on Jun 4th 2007, Version 2.1

A novel idea, but not one that was executed very well. The original map wasn't very good, and this one isn't either. The hallways are cramped, the way to the flags is too confusing, and the main arena is uncomfortable and has untextured sides. An all-around mess.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Twitch Kill Them All!

irons on Jun 3rd 2007, Version 1.02

I've never had so much fun in solo Marathon (or been so frustrated) as with the levels in this pack. The hard and twitchy gameplay on Total Carnage is the only thing so far that has inspired me to vid. If you want some great solo play with minimal background (or foreground), go for KTA.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A great snapshot Victory Dance III

irons on Jun 3rd 2007, Version 1.0

We never expected such a great contest. The Marathon community really showed what it can do with the seven winners in this pack. While the top four maps can be found elsewhere, Victory Dance III is still an excellent contest compilation. I can't wait for V.D. IV!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Get it. Second Quest

irons on Jun 3rd 2007, Version 1.00

Second Quest is an amazing collection of remakes. There are maps for all kinds of games and tastes, all of them worth seeing. If only they had been this way in the first place!