Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Contributed Textures TTEP 7 Marathon 2

Dispatcher on Apr 20th 2009, Version 7.0

Glad to see that among any of Tim's texture enhancements are those also done by volunteers for the old A1 Texture Enhancement Project. I contributed some through Jesse Simko several years ago; the water set door texture was my favorite.

These are fun to see in game now that A1 is much more fully developed.

Keep up the good work.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Promising Marathon : Freedom (OSX)

seanyx-chris on Apr 4th 2009, Version .36

I've played all levels extensively, and from what I've played and seen in game, it's looking very bright, and I can't wait for new content. I thank you for making this little gem.

Now I noticed something in the first level, that you can do to actually go out of the map bounds. On the lockers you can actually walk on top of them (because they're at an angle, and I guess characters can walk on slants). You can actually walk outside of the map, and you can't get back in. Running away from the level only gets you inevitably stuck.

I haven't really noticed any other oddities other than that. The other levels are quite solid and I like how you've made the game have a lot of freedom (hence it's name I bet) on the customizable options. You've even gone off and included weapons from custom scenarios (such as the Snyper pistol from EMR).

I love what you've done, and I'm going to keep loving what you do with this. I can't wait to see the final product.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

So far, so good Marathon : Freedom (OSX)

Iritscen on Mar 15th 2009, Version .35

Considering the early stage that the game is at, I am impressed by the in-game graphics and the presentation of the menus and such.

I found it interesting to play as a BoB (fighting Pfhor is a lot harder when you don't have cybernetic implants!), a S'pht defender and a Pfhor.

The two main issues right now seem to be (1) the lack of ability to see what is behind you, leading to many deaths from behind (your character takes little damage before dying, which is fine as a game design decision, but only if you can avoid cheap deaths, and right now one shot from behind often ends your life), and (2) the difficulty in dodging incoming attacks.

I don't know if CubicCircle plans to add strafing, but it would fix the second problem. A radar would avoid the first problem. Then again, BoBs in Marathon cannot strafe and do not have radars implanted in their bodies (one assumes), so I won't dictate game design to CC.

In any case, I feel confident that the game will become more polished as time goes on and say "Good job, sir!" for CC's efforts so far.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Confusing Marathon : Freedom (Win)

timothy on Mar 12th 2009, Version .33

The first time I played, an enemy came into the spawning room and would kill me in one hit the moment I respawned. Another time, I found a teleporter which took me to a room with two switches and a door that wouldn't open.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Slurring the Rhythms Captures

effigy on Feb 24th 2009, Version 1.0

Thanks again for another fabulously epic game type.

I mostly agree with timothy's criticisms, and with that, here's hoping for more maps that support this in the future ([hint], $lave, [/hint]).

Hosting a 6 minute game will cater to a full final round (at the default round length), though I've yet to check that it's calculated and applied to the final score. Regardless, I think it's best to get a feel for a reasonable final score, and host with a score limit.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Distance Equals Rate Times Time Superscalar

effigy on Feb 24th 2009, Version 1.0

From what I can tell this script doesn't really help the meek until it's too late.

It helps to keep scores from getting too high vs. leveling the playing field.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Nice Work Captures

timothy on Feb 19th 2009, Version 1.0

Very fun concept. The included map has some issues with the round length. The round lasts a very long time, and the capture points are so close together that there's almost no point in playing until the last 15 seconds or so because anything you capture before that will just get taken by someone else. If the distribution of the points was less uniformly placed and some of them were harder to reach or easier to defend it might make the game more challenging. Another idea might be to disable the radar or point it to the nearest point you haven't captured. Some feedback would also be nice, such as how many points you manged to score when the round ends, and maybe showing a running total of the points you control or what everyone controls as an overlay.

It would also be great if when the game is played with a time limit and the time runs out before the end of the round, you could treat it as the end and award points based on the state of the captures at that time.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

DO host using the Netscript gametype Superscalar

ray on Feb 18th 2009, Version 1.0

...after pasting this Lua into Munitions Disposal.

Let's enjoy wonderful LUASYNERGY together.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Goin' Ghost! Ghost

effigy on Feb 10th 2009, Version 0.55

This game type is a highly playable and fun interpretation of KTMWTB.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Bugs Bugs Bugs (Bugs, ...) Ghost

timothy on Feb 9th 2009, Version 0.5

Interesting idea, but the current version is unplayable.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Cool Colorblind Teamplay

treellama on Feb 7th 2009, Version 0.2

Cool.

I suggest making two versions of this, "No Friendly Fire.lua" and "Fix Team Colors.lua"

That way, when joiners see the script in the game info dialog, they know right away what is happening!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Looks Good Colorblind Teamplay

timothy on Feb 5th 2009, Version 0.1

Useful, but to be true to name you should force teams to avoid red and green or blue and yellow at the same time.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

God Bless Affirmative Action! Colorblind Teamplay

effigy on Feb 5th 2009, Version 0.1

Primary colors have never been so easy to interpret!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Carnage Soccer POWERS

effigy on Feb 3rd 2009, Version 1.0

Seems to work well with the Carnage Soccer map.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

It is VERY strong POWERS

ray on Feb 2nd 2009, Version 1.0

holy shit w'rk pushed me through a wall

pushed me through a wall and out of the game

that's strong


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good potential... POWERS

Enzo03 on Feb 1st 2009, Version 1.0

It was nice to use, but the only major use I could find for the powers themselves (as they were meant to be used) was... Throwing enemies into giant flaming pools of lava! This gets old after awhile. Also, they tend to be very deadly. They take out even the toughest enemies quickly, including the Juggernauts!

I DO enjoy being able to push and pull myself by aiming my POWERS at scenery objects, provided they do not break. This is one area I see potential for an interesting level... perhaps one specifically designed for this script that may require something like aiming your POWERS at objects in order to reach otherwise impassible areas.

I did come across a problem, though. If I aim my POWERS at an enemy unit, provided they do not die quickly, I can push them until their head is stuck in the ceiling... usually around this time I get an error on the top corner of my screen, but I'm still allowed to play exactly as normal, so that's not a problem, hopefully.

I cannot help but wonder how this will turn out to be in the end.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Start of something wonderful? POWERS

timothy on Jan 31st 2009, Version 1.0

Interesting concept. I wish you could use the POWERS to deflect projectiles. For some reason the POWERS doesn't work through a liquid. Co-op seemed interesting, but it could get a little slow. I liked how players could flip switches, trigger doors, etc. I think it would be better if only one or two players got the POWERS while everyone else had traditional weapons. It would also be neat to combine the POWERS with other game types. Maybe tag where the person who is "it" gets the POWERS. The biggest problem I found was the lack of POWERS. The first thing I did was increase the POWERS by several orders of magnitude, but it still wasn't enough. My next thought was to make the POWERS exponential, which seemed to be effective.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

It is strong POWERS

ray on Jan 31st 2009, Version 1.0

Amazing strong netscript 5/5


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Easily would have made the top 10 in the contest Telephone Line

timothy on Jan 28th 2009, Version 1.0

The central arena and the lower area with the lifts between them make a nice combination. Based on the few games I've played, the upper areas around the arena seem to get ignored somewhat. Something feels off about the weapon and ammo placement but I can't put my finger on it. The textures look very bland and it's difficult to orient yourself quickly.

Overall it's a good map but there are a couple similar ones in Cosmic Clouds that I'd probably play instead.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

I dont get it High-res Landscapes

BOB on Jan 25th 2009, Version 1.1

I dont get it. Whats it supposed to make better? everything is exactly the same!!! please can some on help?