Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

I'd Rather Play House of Pain! Thomas Mann's Greatest Hits

Sharkie Lino on Feb 8th 2016, Version 7.0

And now for the serious part! :P

Overall, the majority of these maps are pretty decent for Small sized rounds, I'd say 4 at most. I've had some fun ones in them before! The biggest issue is that majority in the pack feel so similar, particularly in size.

Yes I know, they're 7-polygon maps. But even so, even with that amount I have certainly seen some attempts to make them have some difference with each level. Then again, maybe I expect too much. :P

Finis Operis is the most confusing. Is it a legit suicide map, or is there some trick to it?? Even it being an irons map, I am totally confused by it!! You're killing me, Smalls!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Inventive by Design Thomas Mann's Greatest Hits

Windbreaker on Feb 7th 2016, Version 7.0

Though these maps all share the limitations imposed by the 7 polygon limit, it's impressive to see the sheer variety in design that irons was able to produce from the formula. Some creative use of scenery/lighting/geometry goes a long way, and that is the stand-out quality of this pack. The small to medium maps are the standouts as they play pretty fast and have decent variation in height.

Now I'm just waiting for the Greatest Hits Remastered® release which should include some 777-polygon maps. Irons totally promised me it'd be out soon so we can just cross our fingers can't we!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Track 14.ogg forgotten? Marathon Music Remasterd

Zetren on Feb 7th 2016, Version 1.1

Track 14.ogg sounds WORSE after this remake. It is still in mono with a lot of grain. The rest of the tracks however are excellent.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wonderful variety of map design! Infra Apogee

Neonstar on Jan 26th 2016, Version 2.0.0

A must play netmap pack for the fast and frantic action this pack delivers!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

6/5, not enough physics. 5-D Intersections plugin for Weland

Neonstar on Jan 25th 2016, Version 1.0

Only unicorns are more overrated. Good plugin, useful for finding out if I made any accidental mouseclicks that created their own universe.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Durandal texture time! Vasara

Neonstar on Jan 25th 2016, Version 1.0.3

I've been using Vasara for a while now and I can say it's the best visual texturing system around. Anyone texturing maps should use this plugin, and should be able to master it's abilities pretty quickly thanks to the simplistic interface.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

unclear map objectives Colony Mod

tyhy1 on Jan 23rd 2016, Version 1.3.1

i fully agree with all the other 2 reviews, but id like to add some critisism as well.

the map objectives are unclear especially in the first map. but after some time you get to know what to do. in essence its just VISIT everywhere. not KILL everything.

i did like the inclusion of the cheat room. minor texture mistake, in the cheat room there is a 3x recharger but its a 2x recharger with the wrong color.

the ambushes wre unfair, especially in the last map (third map) but i geuss thats what an ambush is supposed to do. but at leasst the ambushes in the third map werend at all predictable.

also i liked the terminals in the third map, realy made it like there was once live in the city.

P.S. if you use the cheat room to get the assault rifle and you use the HD HUD you will get an eror message at the top left of the screen saying invalid ammo type.

other than that the lack of a story was a little off putting for me but if you dont care about that you will most likely like this.

the 3 maps will take about 2 to 3 hours depending on your dificulty and if you use the cheat room or not.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

held back Lost Lands Episodes 1 - 3

tyhy1 on Jan 23rd 2016, Version 1.11

first of all, i agree with mopypoppy. but i expand on it. the story is interesting and is the only thing that will keep poeple playing this conversion.

the creator choose to make his maps in a way that new area's opens up to the player is by way of presure plate. now you wont be told that so you will be running around all the time thinking you were stuck.

also in some levels you have access to all the area's in the map but if you go from area 1 to, lets say area 3 without visiting area 2, you will be stuck without going back to area 1. so safe every start of a level and use a seperate safe to proceed in the levels after that. or you will have to start all over again.

also because of some unknown reason some doorways apear to be open but are unpassible. i suspect a editing fault. and on that note; allthough i cant remember what level it was, but it was on only one of the levels. the enemy firghters instead of teleporting in mid air they just float there.

and then the biggest mistake this scenario has EXTREMELY bad pasing with dificulty spikes throughout. it starts out fine. good level disgn and the first 5 or so levels are pretty straight forward. but around the middle of the scenario you will encounter a level in wich you are confronted with infinetly spawning suicide enemy's. in the level itself there is even a terminal in wich you are told by a editors note that you shouldnt shoot in a section of the map, so not to proc anything or you will die. (hence the miltyple safes)

so in sumary: you will run around for at least 10 to 20 minutes on many maps trying to figure out what to do. there are points in maps wich sole purpose are to trap you and make you stuck (restart will be needed). and the game is suffering from bad editing.

also the eniding is extremely anti-climatic.

but good story overall.

this scenario will take you between 6 and 10 hours depending on you dificulty level.

EDIT: use your map, it contains many written clues on what to do.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Game breaker. Checkpoints

MoppyPuppy on Jan 18th 2016, Version 1.0

Checkpointed the instant before death.

No way to take back.

No hope.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Odd visual glitches with the latest version of Infinity 3D Examples Pack

3371-Alpha on Jan 13th 2016, Version

This plugin seems to generate the 3D objects in all the wrong places with the latest version of infinity (1.2.1 as of this writing). One example is in Poor Yorick, Some of the 3D objects will appear on the side of the cat walks you're on.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Small glitch with ammo meters FloatingX

3371-Alpha on Jan 5th 2016, Version 1.4.1

The latest version of this HUD doesn't display bar-graph ammo meters (for weapons such as the fusion pistol and flame thrower). It merely remains a blank bar regardless of shots fired or number of reloads. The HUD works fine otherwise.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

promising start Marathon: Trinity

tyhy1 on Jan 4th 2016, Version 0.1

realy enjoyable, realy nice scenario and good placement of the terminals.

not too easy because of the lack of shield rechargers.

also realy good that you wont get transporter ganked because of teleporting enemy's. realy enyojed it.

P.S. if you run any plugins at all the game will work but some things will be inviseble. (like the underwater gun if hd textures is on)


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Would be cool if this was available for M1 Alternate Player Colors

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 1.0

Not too bad however M3 also has an HD sprites/monsters plugin as a separate download, which I would rather have.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Not bad, but HD would have been better. The President's Edited Eternal Shapes

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 3.0

This file definitely improves Eternal's visuals, however I would have loved to see a full HD Eternal.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A Must Have for Rubicon! Hi-Res Floating HUD for Rubicon-X

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 1.1

This should be included with Rubicon by default if you ask me.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

* Cataract Bowl test submission

W'rkncacnter on Dec 10th 2015, Version 0.8

It's always the right time to make a Morrowind reference.

And why aren't you playing it right now brilliant?


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

? Cataract Bowl test submission

RyokoTK on Dec 9th 2015, Version 0.8

Not enough pointless corridors to make a Morrowind reference.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Pretty Cool Marathon: Trinity

Silent Wobby on Dec 8th 2015, Version 0.1

I enjoyed this. I really dig the level design and the touch up on the B.O.B.s. Also, those background battle noises on the last level were really cool. I look forward to the finished product!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

look at the netstats Infra Apogee

aquateenhgrfrce on Dec 7th 2015, Version 1.75

Its the most played mappack on the meta-server right now.

can you believe it?

What a crazy world we live in.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

! Cataract Bowl test submission

aquateenhgrfrce on Dec 7th 2015, Version 0.8

I got named Hortator by house Redoran


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Not what I had in mind. High-res Landscapes Plugin (M3)

3371-Alpha on Dec 3rd 2015, Version v1.1

I'm not so sure these can really be called "HD". They're just blurred, over anti-aliased versions of the originals.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best landscapes for infinity! Gorans Highres (4096x2160) Landscapes Plugin

3371-Alpha on Dec 2nd 2015, Version 1.2

These are out right the highest quality landscapes for infinity available. Although the 2048x1080 version of this plugin is included with infinity, you can easily download and replace it with this one if you think your computer can handle the extra load.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Innovative! Colony Mod

Tycho X on Dec 2nd 2015, Version 1.2

Updated: 6th December 2015

First off, I'd like to thank philtron/skraeling for getting into singleplayer mapping. Multiplayer is fun and all, but I personally prefer marathon's campaigns. This includes the originals and the fan-made.

I'll start with the difficulty. I think philtron did a great job on this. I was actually a little surprised, though, since I honestly wasn't expecting such a challenging... experience. The difficulty steadily increases throughout the first two levels (at the time of writing this scenario only has 2 maps), but I feel that at some points having only a pistol with some grenades made defeating the enemies a little irritating. By this I mostly mean when you get ambushed by 4-8(+) enemies at once, or when the player encounters the major trooper in the hallway. Anyway. Great job overall, it was difficult (for me at least) in a fun way.

Next I'd like to mention the new shapes file and what exactly it does. I was pleasantly surprised when I noticed pretty much every monster had been at least moderately modified, which offered a nice, refreshing experience. I was very surprised the first time I encountered the major trooper; a flame thrower AND a furious hail of fighter bolts?? Awesome. Invisible hunters have also been added; really neat. Most noticeable was the change in speed. Pretty much every monster could run around as fast as the player could, which I thought was a great touch. Definitely made things a lot more interesting. Philtron also took the liberty of reusing the sound files from the lava ticks for the s'pht compilers. I really liked that. It made the compilers a lot creepier!

Moving on to the texturing, shading, architecture and general aesthetics. I was a little disappointed here. A lot of the textures felt a little overused, making it hard to see where I was going, especially since most of the map was essentially a maze. Now I'm a huge fan of mazes and labyrinths, so I gave a big plus for that anyway. I felt like philtron really rushed this crucial part of mapping; a lot of textures were unaligned and it just generally felt sloppy. Good usage of the legendary water wells/fountains! At least they weren't overused and misplaced. However. I ADORED the shading. The first map had me hooked right away when all I could see were some flickering lights and a BOB staring at a terminal. I really liked the shades, it did a good job of hiding the misaligned textures and gave off a great, spooky atmosphere! I mean really, props to philtron for this. I only noticed one location where the lighting seemed a bit awkward, but otherwise, well done! Probably the one of my favourite things about this scenario so far. Now the architecture wasn't god-like, in fact, it was no where near Ryoko's maps, but to be honest it was good enough. It didn't really influence any of the combat which was a shame, but the new shapes file made up for that. Not to mention the fact that I do not expect to see any astounding landscapes when running around inside a maze. The terminals were nice, I liked the fact that there were so many of them. They really did a good job of making me feel like I was at Tau Ceti. The colour choice of the text was iffy sometimes, but overall satisfying. I did however miss the AIs; they were always a core component of the marathon series. Where's the poetic, sarcastic, mad and yet hilarious AI we all know and love? It's possible that the player, which seems to just be an ordinary security officer, encounters an AI later on.

Just some random notes: -Some of the ambushes were unfair and very foreseeable. Decreasing the amount of ambushers would be a good first step.

-I hope to see some more weapons! I really liked the new pistol.

-I honestly couldn't really notice any difference with the new fusion pistol. (aka. fusion cannon)

-The terminal pictures do not work. They don't show up. Fix this!

Anyway. All in all it was a very fun experience; very unique. The issues were minor, but they got very annoying very quickly. I think if you were to fix a couple things it'd improve gameplay dramatically. I hope to see some more height variations in the coming maps!

Thank you for these maps, philtron, and please don't stop until you've finished this fun little scenario! :) I'd rate this scenario 5/5 stars if you fixed the unaligned textures and made it prettier in general.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Highest quality! Marathon Durandal Textures @ 1024X1024

3371-Alpha on Nov 28th 2015, Version 1.1

This plugin has the highest quality textures of any texture plugin. Fair warning, it's a bit laggy on older systems (specifically older GPUs). Also note, it doesn't have built in landscapes. Consider using "High-res Landscapes Plugin (M2)" with this plugin.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Works Well. Night Vision Lua

3371-Alpha on Nov 27th 2015, Version 1.0

Works well in dark locations. Haven't noticed any glitches with this script. I can confirm it works in M1, 2, & 3. It tends to make the scenery flicker inside Rubicon X however.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Also works with other scenarios UESC Marathon

3371-Alpha on Nov 26th 2015, Version 1.0

Certain GUI elements look odd (out of place) with this theme however it's very functional. It also works with other scenarios including M2, M3, and Rubicon X.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Awesome Marathon Music Remasterd

3371-Alpha on Nov 26th 2015, Version 1.1

All of these tracks are phenomenally great remakes. My only complaint is track 06. The original of that particular track had a soothing effect that your remake just doesn't have. Regardless I think this is one of the best audio remakes I've ever heard, not just in the Marathon universe but gaming in general.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Can also be used with official Marathon 1 M1A1: StarScape DDS

3371-Alpha on Nov 25th 2015, Version 1.0

This image not only works on M1A1 but can also easily be used with the official Marathon 1 by following these steps:

1) If on Mac: Right click on the Marathon app and select "show package contents" and navigate to /Contents/Resources/DataFiles/Plugins. If on Windows or Linux: go to your Marathon 1 plugin folder.

2) Then find the TTEP plugin and open it's Collections folder. You should see sub folders with various numbers for names.

3) unzip the starscape.zip then make 3 copies of the starscape.dds, rename each "04.dds", "24.dds", and "21.dds".

4) Replace image "04.dds" inside folder 02. Replace image "24.dds" inside folder 17. And finally replace image "21.dds" inside folder 18.

5) Enjoy the better graphics! This starscape image is significantly better than the one included in TTEP.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nostalgic! Rotating Items

3371-Alpha on Nov 5th 2015, Version 1.0

Though it's not Marathon original it does remind me of many old shooter games such the FurFighters. Thank you for the plugin.