Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

100% Serious Lua Scripting guide for dummies

Sharkie Lino on Apr 2nd 2016, Version zipped

50% Of the time!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

real LUA xperts get hungry Lua Scripting guide for dummies

Hopper on Apr 1st 2016, Version zipped

Hey W'rk, Sparklo and I were wondering, when you got hungry at the end of this guide did you eat a sandwich, and if so, what kind of sandwich? I will change my rating to 1 star if you do not reply.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

piss Lua Scripting guide for dummies

RyokoTK on Apr 1st 2016, Version zipped

I would have given this 5 stars, but you tagged it "xpert" instead of "official."

Please take Simplici7y seriously.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

"other 3D games" Ein Heldenleben

irons on Mar 28th 2016, Version 1.2

minus one star for implying mararthon is not 2.5d


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

One thing. The Gray Incident

MoppyPuppy on Mar 26th 2016, Version

You did fix the no recharge ending to The Accolade right?

Same with the friendly VacBobs in Sonic Firestorm?


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Ethereal Susannah Windows

Grymy on Mar 25th 2016, Version 1.0

Very relaxing. The landscape truly is sculptural. It only takes a few minutes to finish. The pillars work better if you stand in front of them than in them. Play with the lights out, especially on the last level in order to see in the darkness. Love the sounds too.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

great stuff Survival 2.0

aquateenhgrfrce on Mar 4th 2016, Version 1.1

You took survival from its original form and made it 10x better. Completely alien from the original script, even the code doesn't resemble the original code at all.

Having a continuous stream of aliens definitely adds to the tension of the gameplay requiring much more attention to team effort. Also the addition to bobs to help out the team is a nice touch.

Its progressively climbing difficulty greatly adds to the challenge of the gameplay. No more 30 min slug and chug fests until the players tired out that plagued the old survival script, instead a slow build up of harder opponents that requires some bit of strategy and teamwork. Most games only last about 12 mins, which is good because people tend to get tired of long and repetitive fighting.

Another good thing about this script is that the player can no longer just camp and blast aliens from a safe zone on any map. Players are always kept on their toes and constantly moving in order to survive.

Just one thing, the upper display text sometimes gets cut-off for windowed mode players such as myself. Not really much you can do about unless if there is a way to have the text create a new-line lua. Also I still think that the call-in-bob powerups should be something other than an invincibility powerup.

Other than that, my main gripes are due to the limitations of the games engine and are totally beyond your control.(i.e. needing to limit the amount of aliens because A1's engine only allows for 32 active monsters at the same time, something that shouldn't even be an issue with today's hardware, and not turning off angry bobs that feel betrayed because lua doesn't handle anything like that)

5/5


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

YEAH!! 3D scenery for M1

3371-Alpha on Feb 21st 2016, Version 1.0

Finally we have a worthy replacement for tim4i's old HD scenery plugin. Although it's a little laggy on my old hardware, I absolutely love it!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Not Working HD M1A1 Weapons in Hand (Beta version)

Zetren on Feb 15th 2016, Version 1.2

This doesn't seem to work in M1A1 1.3a1 and 1.2.1, returning the error:

"Assertion failed!

Program: C:...\Marathon.exe

File: shapes.cpp

Line: 1635

Expression: bitmap

For information on how your program can cause an assertion failure, see the Visual C++ documentation on asserts

(Press Retry to debug the application - JIT must be enabled)"


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

more stylish than a hipster with a typewriter Kill With Style

aquateenhgrfrce on Feb 13th 2016, Version 1.0

Except last time I hosted, I made a few kills with fists and only got a few points :/


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Goo Chutes Kill With Style

irons on Feb 13th 2016, Version 1.0

To an extent I haven't seen in other scripts, Kill With Style's effect on gameplay varies with the level you play it on. In some cases, you'll more or less play as you always do. In the more fun instances, you'll end up chasing each other up and down the same staircase, going in circles until one of you can line up a good shot. It's a hell of a lot of fun.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

TOO MUCH SHOOTING Marathon Phoenix

will229 on Feb 13th 2016, Version 1.3

Man, I want to give this a higher rating, but this is one of the most irritating scenarios. You cannot go into one room without getting attacked from every direction. I end up just dying on purpose to memorize where all the enemies are, then try to complete it without getting hit as much. The maps are EXCEPTIONAL, however. The level design and flow is beautiful. But, the amount of enemies kills it. The Red and Yellow Droids are NON-STOP. If they cut the amount of enemies in half...it would STILL be too much. That's not even an exaggeration. Too bad. This could have been great. Marathon Rubicon is still what I measure perfection against.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

* * * * * * * Thomas Mann's Greatest Hits

W'rkncacnter on Feb 9th 2016, Version 7.0

7 out of seven on a scale from VII to stop camping.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

I'd Rather Play House of Pain! Thomas Mann's Greatest Hits

Sharkie Lino on Feb 8th 2016, Version 7.0

And now for the serious part! :P

Overall, the majority of these maps are pretty decent for Small sized rounds, I'd say 4 at most. I've had some fun ones in them before! The biggest issue is that majority in the pack feel so similar, particularly in size.

Yes I know, they're 7-polygon maps. But even so, even with that amount I have certainly seen some attempts to make them have some difference with each level. Then again, maybe I expect too much. :P

Finis Operis is the most confusing. Is it a legit suicide map, or is there some trick to it?? Even it being an irons map, I am totally confused by it!! You're killing me, Smalls!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Inventive by Design Thomas Mann's Greatest Hits

Windbreaker on Feb 7th 2016, Version 7.0

Though these maps all share the limitations imposed by the 7 polygon limit, it's impressive to see the sheer variety in design that irons was able to produce from the formula. Some creative use of scenery/lighting/geometry goes a long way, and that is the stand-out quality of this pack. The small to medium maps are the standouts as they play pretty fast and have decent variation in height.

Now I'm just waiting for the Greatest Hits Remastered® release which should include some 777-polygon maps. Irons totally promised me it'd be out soon so we can just cross our fingers can't we!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Track 14.ogg forgotten? Marathon Music Remasterd

Zetren on Feb 7th 2016, Version 1.1

Track 14.ogg sounds WORSE after this remake. It is still in mono with a lot of grain. The rest of the tracks however are excellent.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wonderful variety of map design! Infra Apogee

Neonstar on Jan 26th 2016, Version 2.0.0

A must play netmap pack for the fast and frantic action this pack delivers!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

6/5, not enough physics. 5-D Intersections plugin for Weland

Neonstar on Jan 25th 2016, Version 1.0

Only unicorns are more overrated. Good plugin, useful for finding out if I made any accidental mouseclicks that created their own universe.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Durandal texture time! Vasara

Neonstar on Jan 25th 2016, Version 1.0.3

I've been using Vasara for a while now and I can say it's the best visual texturing system around. Anyone texturing maps should use this plugin, and should be able to master it's abilities pretty quickly thanks to the simplistic interface.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

unclear map objectives Colony Mod

tyhy1 on Jan 23rd 2016, Version 1.3.1

i fully agree with all the other 2 reviews, but id like to add some critisism as well.

the map objectives are unclear especially in the first map. but after some time you get to know what to do. in essence its just VISIT everywhere. not KILL everything.

i did like the inclusion of the cheat room. minor texture mistake, in the cheat room there is a 3x recharger but its a 2x recharger with the wrong color.

the ambushes wre unfair, especially in the last map (third map) but i geuss thats what an ambush is supposed to do. but at leasst the ambushes in the third map werend at all predictable.

also i liked the terminals in the third map, realy made it like there was once live in the city.

P.S. if you use the cheat room to get the assault rifle and you use the HD HUD you will get an eror message at the top left of the screen saying invalid ammo type.

other than that the lack of a story was a little off putting for me but if you dont care about that you will most likely like this.

the 3 maps will take about 2 to 3 hours depending on your dificulty and if you use the cheat room or not.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

held back Lost Lands Episodes 1 - 3

tyhy1 on Jan 23rd 2016, Version 1.11

first of all, i agree with mopypoppy. but i expand on it. the story is interesting and is the only thing that will keep poeple playing this conversion.

the creator choose to make his maps in a way that new area's opens up to the player is by way of presure plate. now you wont be told that so you will be running around all the time thinking you were stuck.

also in some levels you have access to all the area's in the map but if you go from area 1 to, lets say area 3 without visiting area 2, you will be stuck without going back to area 1. so safe every start of a level and use a seperate safe to proceed in the levels after that. or you will have to start all over again.

also because of some unknown reason some doorways apear to be open but are unpassible. i suspect a editing fault. and on that note; allthough i cant remember what level it was, but it was on only one of the levels. the enemy firghters instead of teleporting in mid air they just float there.

and then the biggest mistake this scenario has EXTREMELY bad pasing with dificulty spikes throughout. it starts out fine. good level disgn and the first 5 or so levels are pretty straight forward. but around the middle of the scenario you will encounter a level in wich you are confronted with infinetly spawning suicide enemy's. in the level itself there is even a terminal in wich you are told by a editors note that you shouldnt shoot in a section of the map, so not to proc anything or you will die. (hence the miltyple safes)

so in sumary: you will run around for at least 10 to 20 minutes on many maps trying to figure out what to do. there are points in maps wich sole purpose are to trap you and make you stuck (restart will be needed). and the game is suffering from bad editing.

also the eniding is extremely anti-climatic.

but good story overall.

this scenario will take you between 6 and 10 hours depending on you dificulty level.

EDIT: use your map, it contains many written clues on what to do.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Game breaker. Checkpoints

MoppyPuppy on Jan 18th 2016, Version 1.0

Checkpointed the instant before death.

No way to take back.

No hope.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Odd visual glitches with the latest version of Infinity 3D Examples Pack

3371-Alpha on Jan 13th 2016, Version

This plugin seems to generate the 3D objects in all the wrong places with the latest version of infinity (1.2.1 as of this writing). One example is in Poor Yorick, Some of the 3D objects will appear on the side of the cat walks you're on.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Small glitch with ammo meters FloatingX

3371-Alpha on Jan 5th 2016, Version 1.4.1

The latest version of this HUD doesn't display bar-graph ammo meters (for weapons such as the fusion pistol and flame thrower). It merely remains a blank bar regardless of shots fired or number of reloads. The HUD works fine otherwise.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

promising start Marathon: Trinity

tyhy1 on Jan 4th 2016, Version 0.1

realy enjoyable, realy nice scenario and good placement of the terminals.

not too easy because of the lack of shield rechargers.

also realy good that you wont get transporter ganked because of teleporting enemy's. realy enyojed it.

P.S. if you run any plugins at all the game will work but some things will be inviseble. (like the underwater gun if hd textures is on)


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Would be cool if this was available for M1 Alternate Player Colors

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 1.0

Not too bad however M3 also has an HD sprites/monsters plugin as a separate download, which I would rather have.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Not bad, but HD would have been better. The President's Edited Eternal Shapes

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 3.0

This file definitely improves Eternal's visuals, however I would have loved to see a full HD Eternal.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A Must Have for Rubicon! Hi-Res Floating HUD for Rubicon-X

3371-Alpha on Dec 27th 2015, Version 1.1

This should be included with Rubicon by default if you ask me.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

* Cataract Bowl test submission

W'rkncacnter on Dec 10th 2015, Version 0.8

It's always the right time to make a Morrowind reference.

And why aren't you playing it right now brilliant?