Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A Must-Have for Infinity TTEP 7 Marathon Infinity

PerseusSpartacus on Jul 8th 2012, Version 7.0

I almost never play Infinity without the TTEP. It really makes the textures pop out at you and gives the game detail it never had in it's original form. Truly, and without a doubt, an excellent plugin for Infinity.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good Gorans Animated Liquids

infwaffle on Jun 15th 2012, Version 0.2

Very nice job here. The water looks great. However, there is a bug where sometimes it will instead of being water, it will rapidly change different random textures.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Hi gyffunk Minipax

Dis on Jun 1st 2012, Version Four

neglect to pop in once in a while why don't you *we understand **cool map pack dude


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Great, great, but Minipax

gyffes on May 22nd 2012, Version Four

Where's the Survival love?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I could say... Marathon Phoenix

guyollerearnshaw on May 18th 2012, Version 1.2.0

I could say how refined and intricate it is. How the battles are so well conceived... But it's summed up in a word - Juicy! It really is something to get your teeth into. Excellent!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This just goes to show... Visual Mode

PerseusSpartacus on May 11th 2012, Version 2.1

...how useful a lua script can be. I use Weland to make maps, and it doesn't have a built-in Visual Mode like Forge does, so I have to use this. Granted, it has cons, but you barely even notice them. All in all, wonderful.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I suck at this :( Electric Sheep Tetris

The Man on Apr 23rd 2012, Version 1.0

It's probably my fault for not remapping the keys to something more logical whenever I play this, but still :(

Cool stuff, five stars.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Gorgeous Second Quest

The Man on Apr 23rd 2012, Version 2.0.0

I haven't actually gotten to play these in net mode yet but they are all significant aesthetic improvements over the originals, and for the most part they seem to flow better than the originals too. I was pretty shocked by how radical some of the rearrangements were (especially "Dead Fields") but I can definitely get used to them. My only complaint is that it would be nice to have an add-on that can throw in HD textures for the M2 levels.

It would also be really cool to have someone redo "Aye Mak Sicur" as a net map in this style (it was originally built as a net map to begin with, after all), although that's probably a pipe dream.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pretty close to being a perfect scenario. Marathon Phoenix

The Man on Apr 23rd 2012, Version 1.2.0

This is definitely in the top five Infinity/Aleph One scenarios I've ever played (the others are, in no particular order, Tempus, Rubicon, Eternal, and Pfh'Joueur, in case you're wondering), and large portions of this scenario should serve as a model for future map-makers.

Cons:

  • Too frakking difficult. Not always in a "This is a challenge" way, but in a "If you stand in the wrong place for a second you will die" way, which is fine the first time but gets a bit frustrating after awhile. This probably wouldn't be a problem if not for the $**$ing fire speed of some of the enemies (I'm looking particularly at red defenders, blue hunters, the retooled Mothers of All Cyborgs and the like). This isn't helped by the fact that Defenders fire on the left while pretty much everything else fires on the right, which makes the strafe-while-circling-enemies tactic I use in almost every other scenario almost impossible (although this isn't really Ryoko's fault since he wasn't the one who designed them. I guess he could have flipped them and just hand waved it as the A'khr being different though). I recently beat Marathon 2 on Major Damage without all that much frustration. I couldn't even hack this on Normal.
  • Some of the secrets are probably impossible to find without the guide.

Pros:

  • Apart from the Guide Dang It secrets, the puzzles are uniformly superb. Almost everything in the game that isn't a secret can be puzzled out without consulting a guide, but in some cases you're going to have to think about it for awhile.
  • Possibly the most gorgeous map design I have ever seen in a scenario - even eclipsing the best levels of scenarios like Tempus Irae, Rubicon, and Eternal. Every single map is a beauty.
  • Apart from the insane difficulty, the gameplay is for the most part solid. I did find myself missing the shotgun though; the crossbow is an effective replacement, but you can't carry nearly enough ammo for it except on TC :(

Neutral/Who cares:

  • The story is kind of simplistic, but it gets the job done. The writing is effective and the terminals are fun to read without ever going on too long like certain other scenarios occasionally do (cough Eternal).
  • Some of the graphics were taken from other scenarios. Seriously, find something better to worry about. They're all used beautifully and all fit nicely with one another.

It would be nice to have an HD version of this at some point, though.

Notice to players: Every single level has at least one secret. The "Nearby Skulls" count tells you how many secrets are on the level. I don't remember any single level having more than seven.

My favourite levels were probably "Stone Temple Pilates", "Into Sandy's City", "Escape Two Thousand", "Sanctum Sanctorum", "Dark Pfhorces", and "Roquefortress".


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

QQ all friend phisic model

RyokoTK on Apr 21st 2012, Version 1.0

This isn't a message board. Also the physics file sucks and is stupid and you are stupid too, Teemuk.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

someone tell switch to add a "like" feature to this site Minipax

Unclenate on Apr 21st 2012, Version Four

excelling maps indeed. though i did notice something about many of these maps... they're layout style seems fairly different from your CC maps. more flat and spread out...

anyway... glad to see there all still new maps to be brought in to this community...


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Unclenate Rules skull in signle player!

Teemuk on Apr 15th 2012, Version 1.0

I laughed my ass off at Unclenate's review. Wow. In tears, here.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Exceptional Gorans Lava Set

Teemuk on Apr 15th 2012, Version 2.05

Great work from a Marathon legend. Integrates very well.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Hopper Flubbed all friend phisic model

Teemuk on Apr 15th 2012, Version 1.0

Hopper, you seem like a decent guy, and I really like some of the stuff you've done. I use Platinum all the time, for example. What, then, is up with your review of this PM? Okay, the guy's "reason" for posting this PM is, shall we say, specious. I'll agree. But I actually love this PM, because it allows a clean, simple method for walk-throughs on the (admittedly few) maps that have no PM embedded, or on maps I'm messing around with/tweaking myself. I find it extremely useful as a "tool" or "utility". I will say, though, that it is indeed completely useless in normal gameplay, unless you like chasing down peaceful villagers. ;)


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

better The Grab Bag

Unclenate on Apr 9th 2012, Version 3.0

emfh maps still need help with weapon layout and lifts need speed to balance out the map...

palace of eru is better now...

i love the added survival castle-like maps, they are definitely your stronghold


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

wow... skull in signle player!

Unclenate on Apr 5th 2012, Version 1.0

all aliens are friends AND everyone gets their own SKULL!

the marathon world is a better place because of you...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow Electric Sheep Tetris

brilliant on Apr 3rd 2012, Version 1.0

This is genius and really cool! I am amazed at what scripting can do. Great work!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

please Electric Sheep Tetris

thermoplyae on Apr 2nd 2012, Version 1.0

suggested next project: a potato anus terminal emulator


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

FYAD Electric Sheep Tetris

RyokoTK on Apr 2nd 2012, Version 1.0

no official tag? how will I find this again when I search for it? treellama is fat.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

a masterpiece Electric Sheep Tetris

Hopper on Apr 2nd 2012, Version 1.0

This is what Lua was invented for!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Neat stuff Treelama Electric Sheep Tetris

listener on Apr 1st 2012, Version 1.0

First Joust, now this?

Next we'll be able to play solitaire on alephone.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

You're off by a day. Blondine

RyokoTK on Apr 1st 2012, Version 1.0

Shitty maps are supposed to be posted on 4/1.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Poor Hamish all friend phisic model

Hopper on Mar 28th 2012, Version 1.0

Nothing but porridge morning, noon, and night, and then he gets trolled by bastards who can't stand MBO actually posting anything new.

Also, custom physics models don't work in Infinity so minus a million stars.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Dis is not good.. cheats advanced v2

Zaero on Mar 26th 2012, Version 2.6H

Let me quote some reviews from "Dis", written on the same occasion: You are an unabashed plagiarist. Treellama, at least, is a very active member of the community. If anything, you're just lazy. I wasn't even going to try this anyway, because I'm sure it sucks. I didn't even try the script, because, I'm sure it's horrible. I would have never realized what a useless, ungrateful bastard I was for not groveling at your feet after you released a script where you just copied and pasted bits from other people's scripts and added some sparse coding of your own. Furthermore, I didn't realize the sheer amount of time and effort that endeavour had cost you. You, sir, have truly opened my eyes.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pretty good Model Debugger Plugin

Overlord on Mar 25th 2012, Version 1.0.1

Although I do agree, 3D Models don't do so well I Marathon ._.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Update is nice Heretical Cyborg

Overlord on Mar 24th 2012, Version 1.2

You improved on the textures and all the problems Heretical-Cyborg had initially. I still think it's a little cramped for playing Marathon though...

My recommendation for copying a Doom-Engine map would be to copy E1M1 from the original doom. Would be a great for Marathon. (Could you copy the first seven Doom maps and put them in mini-scenario, please?)

I also have a problem wih RyokoTK's remark about "how boring Heretic is". Lies!


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

It's Okay Fort Roque

Sharkie Lino on Mar 21st 2012, Version 1.0

Maybe a 2.5

The round we played on it wasnt all that bad, but some of the problems I felt were that, as mentioned before, it did have that cramped feeling to it and ammo was rather scarce. I really don't think it is a good idea to have a 2X recharger right on the hill, but I already gave my explanation for that.

A maximum of 4 players may do okay, but more than that, I don't think will work very well.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great puzzle-less fun Kill Them All!

Overlord on Mar 21st 2012, Version 1.02

I'm sick and tired of all these puzzles! Kill Them All finally removes the brain factor in replacement if pure action. Good job!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Good but unorganized Fort Roque

Overlord on Mar 20th 2012, Version 1.0

Fort Roque is a fine map with it's urban design (inspired by MW2's Skidrow?) I still think it's cramped and with Marathon's high octane multiplayer matches, Fort Roque is hard to reccomend. For 2-4 players, this map is a good reccomendation for some fast multiplayer net matches. Good job.