Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

This was uhhh AAAdventures 1 ~ Daisy

The Cool Guy on Dec 22nd 2011, Version

very strange


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great Marathon Aeon

The Cool Guy on Dec 21st 2011, Version 1.9a

Overall great map, but just pointing out that in case you didn't know, on the level "Vae Victis" one of the computer terminals does not seem to work correctly


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

I finally get to playing this... Marathon Aeon

Destiny on Dec 19th 2011, Version 1.9a

I've been a little late about getting a review for this and playing the lattest beta version. Taking time off of replaying Rubicon X, I downloaded the most recent version to Aeon to see if this was any good.

First of all, I would like to thank Dugit for putting music to his scenario. I've played way to many maps that did not have any music. I perfer music over background sound. The music selection was interesting. I's a nice change from the original and remixes of the Marathon soundtrack.

Next thing to cover is the difficulty. Before I got my chance to play the beta, I thought to myself that this was going to be an easy one. Boy, was I wrong about that. Theres enough old and new difficult enemies to pack a starship! It explains why theres so much ammo everywhere. I'd hate to be the one that trys playing this on Total Carnage. The enforcers, upgraded cyborgs, better aiming troopers, and S'pht are already a pain in the neck on normal (not that I can't handle'em). They may be as colorful as a clown, but they're as nasty as barney on steroids!

The mapping and texturing in the beta was amazing! I saw so many curves that I wished I knew how to do that. Spaceships were cool, the planet areas incredibley spacious, the shading very realistic, and so many other surprises. I'm kinda surprised that this is only a beta.

The alien weapon was pretty cool as blue. I not sure which one is better: the original purple, or the new Aeon blue.

The whole story, I didn't really pay attention to. It may have helped to read the terminals, because when I got to the latter section of the beta, I got really confused. At first, Bob is your friend and the Pfhor, of course, is your enemy. It's what everyone expects. Then, this Jjaro symbol dude beams me off a level and I lose all my weapons. After running through a map without anyone around, I get to the next level, only to find out that BoB is not a friend, and there are some grayish versions of Pfhor and BoB that are apparently my friends (ugh...). Jumping through the levels with the level start cheat (kept dying from BoB and the S'pht Kr on the first level when they aren't friendly), I now get BoB back as an ally, and now both the Pfhor and gray copies are enemies. But thats not all! Now theres Durandal on the side!

Over all (I'm going to HAVE to replay this and read the computers next time) this is a great scenario. It's very unique from other ones. Everybody that hasn't checked this beta out, should. It's a good one.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I gotta get back to my starship. I still have several scenarios to play (some to replay), A1 tools that one day will be downloaded and there manuals read, and I think I see Irons over there. I don't think that rocket launcher he has is a gift. I may have a SBR-23, but Irons can probley plant those rockets on the ground quicker than I can get his head in my sights.

Five stars.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Toys? Weapon Enhancement Pack

SamVision on Dec 19th 2011, Version 1.4.1

The Rocket Launcher and the SMG look great but the rest of the weapons look like they are made of plastic. And why are there no fists? Honestly, the XBLA graphics look miles better and include the fists.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Ammo and Aliens? Survival.lua

X404 on Dec 17th 2011, Version 5

Whenever i play this, about 6 rounds in ammo stops spawning. Is this the script or the maps fault? If it is the scripts, can you tell me how to fix it? If not, then i;m sorry and this'd be a five. Plus, how do i add new aliens? I can remove old ones or change how many spawn, but can't add and different ones. please respond and thanks.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Really? black Fire

The Cool Guy on Dec 16th 2011, Version 0.1

Actually I have heard of the news of jesus christ and my new maps are much better


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Ah why yes HardFall.lua

The Cool Guy on Dec 13th 2011, Version 1.0

I find this rather interesting, but there seems to be a delay like when I fall, it takes like three like seconds to like react and I kinda like takes away from like the realness of the script

but now when I read the known bugs after I already wrote this review, it seems kind of pointless that I wrote this review and I'll just give it 5 stars


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

humph The hell man?!?!?

Unclenate on Nov 27th 2011, Version 1

interesting... that is all...


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

newt ginrich 2012! Water Parque

Unclenate on Nov 27th 2011, Version 1.0

ugly texturing but pretty decent layout. most importantly, fun to play on. just get some help on the wepp set up...

overall pretty good


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Excellent! Caustic Dystopia

Sharkie Lino on Nov 11th 2011, Version 1.1

Had the chance to host some rounds on the maps last night, and it was nothing but positive!

Great flow, no tight spaces and plenty of ammo!

You do not disappoint, Wind.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome Game!!!! Marathon Phoenix

lewisje2000 on Nov 6th 2011, Version 1.1.0

Just want to say - AWESOME SCENARIO!!!!. Been a Marathon gamer since my MAC days (now on Linux) back in the early 90's and I have to say this is one of the best scenarios I have ever played!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Good and Bad black Fire

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 0.1

Microwaved Steak - My favorite. I like the open feel to this level. You have an excessive number of platforms and some should be removed in favor of the adjacent stairs.

Applesauce Factory - A map for giants! Lacks flow and is boring to the eyes.

Pepsi Factory - Layout causes arduous running to and from. My least favorite. When I finally located the Pepsi machine I realized I was given no quarters in my inventory.

Not Pfhor Sale - Has a slight Thunderdome feel. You should not hear a ship creaking in this map. Please replace that with wind or even loons singing.

Plasma - This simple map could benefit from 5D.

Overall, you should experiment with sounds more. The sound of water would completely disappear if I moved over slightly for example. Architecture was poor in spots, and nice in others. Oversized maps look more so because of repetitive textures. Textures clashed in areas. Accessible liquid columns don't belong next to platform lifts.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

This delivers Night Vision Lua

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0

Simple and effective. I noticed a difference of night vision illumination between Classic and Shader rendering. Using Shader was noticeably darker than rendering Classic. Software had a green color issue when picking up items. I tested this with Aleph One version 20110731. Keep it up!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Conceptual Calle de Las Sombras

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.01

After a few tries I made it through. Aleph One version 20110731 crashed with the included sounds so I removed them. The premise is to stay out of the light or the Pfhor on PCP will ruin your day. This esoteric sneak style gameplay contrasts the norm and introduces another layer of creativity for shifty scenario designers. I'm rating this 4 out of 5 because I believe the author could have included a more applicable demonstration.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Pre-Padawan Sewage Eviloution

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.1.4r2

Every map maker has at some point in their early days made a map like this. What better way to learn the tools than to build what comes to mind. Mine was a heavily modified version of Pfhactory for M1 with droves of endlessly respawning bad guys that gave me loads of entertainment.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Well... Holiday Showdown

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

Texture and lighting issues aside I must say that my largest concern for this is the limited visual scope causing far too many encounters turning corners. I agree in saying games of 3 players would allow for the best combat enjoyment.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

A duel map Forceful Anthem

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

This small map would cause high death counts. Probably best for a duel only. Multistory with passing texture choices and some shine. There are some texture issues, lack of ambient sound, and one platform temporarily blocks player advancement to a teleporter that should have a different destination. The sniper nook introduces an added element to strategy. Nice touch.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Indescribable Ray Core Image

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version ALPHA 7

irons may have unknowingly juxtaposed himself next to aronofsky.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice fragments

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version -1

Dugit : Did you seriously give 4 out of 5?

Thanks for getting this informative set of examples online. I love seeing what pushing Marathon can accomplish.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

I kinda like it Corridors of Nightmares

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 2.0

Though the architecture is basic the map is interesting. Entirely too dark for fun online play, though. Add some highlighted areas at key spots to cause dark corridors to become backlit. Also, what's up with the force fields of death? Rocket launchers would be a poor choice for this map.

I kinda like it. Keep up the good work.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Hmmm SSC Comand Central

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 1.0

The textures need variety. Why are parts of this map 3+ world units tall? The teleporters should relocate their destinations. Lighting? As far as layout goes I would recommend limiting weapon choices to dual wield shotguns. Small groups of 2 or 3 only for optimal enjoyment.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

I'm diggin it It's That one place!

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 1.0

The layout is pleasing and the size is just about right. Smaller groups would encounter pursuits while larger groups would default into a rocket launcher fiasco. The 2x energy pickup was a neat idea. One spot had me think it was a teleporter, but irritatingly it turned out to be nothing. This may cause a curiosity killed the cat situation during play. I encountered a platform that did not return to its normal state as quickly as the others. Finally, the central pillar has raised polygons that should be lowered some to reduce movement confusion.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

... Coca-Cola Factory

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version .0000000000000000001

The dark lighting reminds me of Marathon 1 netmaps. Despite not having aesthetics I see this being fun online.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nice Water Parque

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version 1.0

This map shows potential. Object placement and texturing need work. Would benefit from even a minimal amount of differential shading. Layout is a multiple storied blend of walkways and tight corridors around an open center. Seems ideal for small groups.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Almost Psychedelic Mosh Pit Mirage

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version 1

Drifty textures and smearing are the best this has to offer. Simply crude.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Inchoate Lava Fight

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version .sceA

An interesting concept. This is the very idea of adapting an offensive strategy that reflects limited resources and spatial constriction. The map itself is very plain and lacks variety of monsters present. The objective is obvious and game play straight forward. Reminds me of an early training level from Ohkawa's Academy for Planetary Defense scenario.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one problem :) Halatheme

Mavrik on Oct 16th 2011, Version 1.0

this is so fucking sweet dude! Just one problem the main menu is like normal which is kind of lame :/


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Humph... Lava Fight

AN1Guitarman on Oct 9th 2011, Version .sceA

Interesting... that is all.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Sorry for the late review M1A1 HardCore Sounds

Nibenon on Oct 4th 2011, Version

My computer exploded the first time I used these sounds, and I had to get a new one. Well done.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pure Awesome Marathon Aeon

Pfhriggin' on Sep 25th 2011, Version pß 1.8

Having rattled through Rubicon, Eternal and Phoenix a number of times over- having done the same with the Aeon public beta 1.0 a few months a go- I decided to have a go at it again. Frankly, I'm astounded as to how far the learning curve on this scenario has progressed.

Earlier levels from Our Lives a Mimicry to Rise and Fall of Dugit (bar Eternal Lucid Dream) have amazing attention to detail, but the texturing is still a little sloppy. It's good to see that for Asphodel and onwards, this has been rectified.

I'm not a particular fan of being given everything at the offset, but it's good to see that we're given a choice between pure carnage and more structured fights in the divergent chapters. My favorite, personally so far, is Venom.

By levels, however, I need to be a little more consice. Levels like Vae Victis/Command, Frameshift, and Lapsus are some of the best levels I've seen in a long time.

Keep up the good work. I'm still waiting on 1.9 :)