Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Pre-Padawan Sewage Eviloution

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.1.4r2

Every map maker has at some point in their early days made a map like this. What better way to learn the tools than to build what comes to mind. Mine was a heavily modified version of Pfhactory for M1 with droves of endlessly respawning bad guys that gave me loads of entertainment.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Well... Holiday Showdown

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

Texture and lighting issues aside I must say that my largest concern for this is the limited visual scope causing far too many encounters turning corners. I agree in saying games of 3 players would allow for the best combat enjoyment.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

A duel map Forceful Anthem

Umbra on Oct 21st 2011, Version 1.0.0

This small map would cause high death counts. Probably best for a duel only. Multistory with passing texture choices and some shine. There are some texture issues, lack of ambient sound, and one platform temporarily blocks player advancement to a teleporter that should have a different destination. The sniper nook introduces an added element to strategy. Nice touch.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Indescribable Ray Core Image

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version ALPHA 7

irons may have unknowingly juxtaposed himself next to aronofsky.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice fragments

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version -1

Dugit : Did you seriously give 4 out of 5?

Thanks for getting this informative set of examples online. I love seeing what pushing Marathon can accomplish.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

I kinda like it Corridors of Nightmares

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 2.0

Though the architecture is basic the map is interesting. Entirely too dark for fun online play, though. Add some highlighted areas at key spots to cause dark corridors to become backlit. Also, what's up with the force fields of death? Rocket launchers would be a poor choice for this map.

I kinda like it. Keep up the good work.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Hmmm SSC Comand Central

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 1.0

The textures need variety. Why are parts of this map 3+ world units tall? The teleporters should relocate their destinations. Lighting? As far as layout goes I would recommend limiting weapon choices to dual wield shotguns. Small groups of 2 or 3 only for optimal enjoyment.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

I'm diggin it It's That one place!

Umbra on Oct 20th 2011, Version 1.0

The layout is pleasing and the size is just about right. Smaller groups would encounter pursuits while larger groups would default into a rocket launcher fiasco. The 2x energy pickup was a neat idea. One spot had me think it was a teleporter, but irritatingly it turned out to be nothing. This may cause a curiosity killed the cat situation during play. I encountered a platform that did not return to its normal state as quickly as the others. Finally, the central pillar has raised polygons that should be lowered some to reduce movement confusion.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

... Coca-Cola Factory

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version .0000000000000000001

The dark lighting reminds me of Marathon 1 netmaps. Despite not having aesthetics I see this being fun online.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Nice Water Parque

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version 1.0

This map shows potential. Object placement and texturing need work. Would benefit from even a minimal amount of differential shading. Layout is a multiple storied blend of walkways and tight corridors around an open center. Seems ideal for small groups.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Almost Psychedelic Mosh Pit Mirage

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version 1

Drifty textures and smearing are the best this has to offer. Simply crude.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Inchoate Lava Fight

Umbra on Oct 19th 2011, Version .sceA

An interesting concept. This is the very idea of adapting an offensive strategy that reflects limited resources and spatial constriction. The map itself is very plain and lacks variety of monsters present. The objective is obvious and game play straight forward. Reminds me of an early training level from Ohkawa's Academy for Planetary Defense scenario.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one problem :) Halatheme

Mavrik on Oct 16th 2011, Version 1.0

this is so fucking sweet dude! Just one problem the main menu is like normal which is kind of lame :/


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Humph... Lava Fight

AN1Guitarman on Oct 9th 2011, Version .sceA

Interesting... that is all.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Sorry for the late review M1A1 HardCore Sounds

Nibenon on Oct 4th 2011, Version

My computer exploded the first time I used these sounds, and I had to get a new one. Well done.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pure Awesome Marathon Aeon

Pfhriggin' on Sep 25th 2011, Version pß 1.8

Having rattled through Rubicon, Eternal and Phoenix a number of times over- having done the same with the Aeon public beta 1.0 a few months a go- I decided to have a go at it again. Frankly, I'm astounded as to how far the learning curve on this scenario has progressed.

Earlier levels from Our Lives a Mimicry to Rise and Fall of Dugit (bar Eternal Lucid Dream) have amazing attention to detail, but the texturing is still a little sloppy. It's good to see that for Asphodel and onwards, this has been rectified.

I'm not a particular fan of being given everything at the offset, but it's good to see that we're given a choice between pure carnage and more structured fights in the divergent chapters. My favorite, personally so far, is Venom.

By levels, however, I need to be a little more consice. Levels like Vae Victis/Command, Frameshift, and Lapsus are some of the best levels I've seen in a long time.

Keep up the good work. I'm still waiting on 1.9 :)


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

This is more like it! Marathon Aeon

byrd62au on Sep 25th 2011, Version pß 1.8

As someone who cut their marathon teeth on 3rd party scenarios like Siege of Nor Korph, Evil, Tempus Irae, Rubicon etc I'm very intolerant of maps where not enough thought and effort is put into lighting and making maps "feel" right. This is a scenario where the attention to detail really shows through. I took my time wandering around just enjoying the views (once I'd survived the great battles!). There are really only 2 things I'd suggest that stop me rating this scenario a 5 to of 5 (and perhaps these things will be rectified by the time the finished version is released).

  1. Don't give the player so many weapons so early in the game. One of the things that made a scenario like "Evil" truly great was the weapons and ammo were handed out very sparingly and you often had to back up and play through sections again making more effort to conserve it as you would run out. Having to make do with a magnum for a while makes you REALLY appreciate it when you finally get a a shotgun or something. I would say there needs to be less health packs also and make some longer sections without save terms. Makes it harder but so much more rewarding.
  2. (and this is critical to make this a truly 5 star scenario) It needs an art director. The menu, chapter screens and terminal art just aren't up to the quality of the maps. Great scenarios always have a great mapmaker and a great art director, not usually the same person! Other than these issues this is first class stuff and I haven't enjoyed playing a scenario this much since Rubicon (which this reminds me a little of). Great work!

  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Improvement It's That one place!

Dugit on Sep 19th 2011, Version 1.0

It's good to see that you're utilizing differential shading properly, although in one or two places it's still not that convincing. In terms of flow, there's no glaring problems, and there's good variation in floor/ceiling heights. We're around a classic Marathon: Infinity level map at this point.

There's something flickering that looks like a teleporter but isn't. Please fix. Also, some platforms aren't as obvious as they could be, and a few raised portions of the map (with ammo) are irritatingly just out of reach. Bad in a net game.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Improving SSC Comand Central

Dugit on Sep 13th 2011, Version 0.9 BETA

Variation in floor/ceiling heights is present. At this point, we're at an M1-level net map. There's plenty of room for improvement, though. It's good to see that weapons and ammo have no problems.

The map is still very cramped. For any more than a two-player duel, three-player at a push, the gameplay would deteriorate.

Please raise the headbanger ceiling in the center of the map.

There is also little variation in lights, giving the map an appearance without volume. I recommend you play some popular net maps, or even solo scenarios, to get an idea of differential shading.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Forgot Something. Corridors of Nightmares

Dugit on Sep 12th 2011, Version 1.0

This review is not to disregard my previous one. It is, in fact, to contest w'rkncrapper's, especially the last bit.

and no, you don't have to get rid of the tight spaces, everyone here are afraid of: Tight spaces, dark areas, monsters, deathtraps, open lava pits, and anything else that takes a little bit of skill to overcome. so go you!

Cheap ways to have a player die (ie- not caused by other players) on a map are instant map-credibility killers. Don't follow that piece of advice. Please don't.

Dark areas are acceptable if they are tempered with well-lit areas- relying on them exclusively will leave an annoying map and an annoying map alone. Tight spaces are almost always bad in net maps. They constrict flow.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

If you ever want to become a competent map maker Corridors of Nightmares

Dis on Sep 11th 2011, Version 1.0

Completely disregard the comment below


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

A Great Idea... Corridors of Nightmares

AN1Guitarman on Sep 11th 2011, Version 1.0

the problem i find with S7 is that everyone here has a very closed mind when it comes to map making. not to say there advice is bad. but take it for what it is. you map to me is a great concept, but you need more details and intricacies. make sure that there are only a few dead ends (as i see that it is fitting to your theme, otherwise i would say no dead ends) it's good to have great flow so the game can stay fast-paced. so if you added more pathways and weapons this map would be awesome! and remember to balance your weapons and have them fit your enviornment, ex: a map with tight spaces (not bad on it's own) may not need a missile launcher. one would blow himself/herself up. i would love to see the updated version of this map!! and no, you don't have to get rid of the tight spaces, everyone here are afraid of: Tight spaces, dark areas, monsters, deathtraps, open lava pits, and anything else that takes a little bit of skill to overcome. so go you!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Not even old-school bad Corridors of Nightmares

Dugit on Sep 9th 2011, Version 1.0

Since this is your first ever map, I'll extend some courtesies. There are no texturing errors, but in a map so small that shouldn't be much of a problem.

I did not test the multiplayer simply because playing a match on what can only be described as a PiD map would be a veritable living hell.

Protips: vary ceiling/floor heights. Open up your areas. Put in some effort. Then all will be well.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Falg is the best! Capture the Falg

herecomethej2000 on Sep 7th 2011, Version 1.0

An excellent game. lot of fond memories. Thank-you irons for restoring it for us!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome Capture the Falg

brilliant on Sep 7th 2011, Version 1.0

Thank you for making it work again! :)


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Passable. (2.5 star, really) Clover

Dugit on Sep 6th 2011, Version 1.1

Eh. Weapons and ammo are fine, I suppose, and there are some nice gradients here and there, but mostly, the level seems uninspired, and too M2-style old-school for my tastes. You don't need to be this careful to avoid fps slouches- it's just that your last level was so crowded.

There's no real floor height differentiation, and the little that you have is less than a single WU. The texturing is also passable. Nothing too painful, but there's nothing jawdroppingly good either.

Practice. Experiment. And then, eventually, we'll have a Marius-worthy map.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

About time Capture the Falg

W'rkncacnter on Sep 6th 2011, Version 1.0

Best with fusion-only CTF duels.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Pretty cool but... Night Vision Lua

arr531 on Sep 3rd 2011, Version 1.0

It works pretty well but if you use it with FloatingX's weapon's display plugin the weapon's display gets noise interference/garbled when you activate the night vision goggles.

Update: After doing some more testing, I discovered it was with the OpenGL settings. I used OpenGL Classic and having Color Effects checked was causing the problem. If I unchecked it the than FloatingX Weapon display works with the Night Vision goggles but the color is not the traditional green color but it makes all the dark areas bright - like turning on a lightbulb.In Software mode it works without making any adjustments to the Graphics settings. This is Ubuntu 11.04 and testing with Marathon Infinity using the 0.23.3 engine.

Update: Just moved up to alephone 1.0b4 and tested - same results.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

candy fragments

goran svensson on Aug 29th 2011, Version -1

I've always been a fan of what people nowadays refer to as gimmicks. This pack is all about that.

Caustics is a cool effect. I don't agree with quartz that it cannot be used, it would just require a custom scenario. Texture sets in marathon can have 100+ textures, and you can write level specific mml.

The amount of textures can also be reduced by 30. You only need one normal texture, which can be used over and over for each bitmap.

Star wars and hamsters shows the new power of untextured sides in the new renderer. Fake floating polygons. Makes me think of old abandoned idea of bridges of balconies. What a marathon we could have had!

Tight rope builds on the same tech as hamster och star wars, but the limits of the floating polygon trick are not visible. It's a foolproof line the air.

Old factory has no gimmicks. It's an unfinished netmap showing of Quartz ability to create good looking architecture.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Awesome Stuff fragments

Dugit on Aug 29th 2011, Version -1

Although none of the items in this package are actually finished and polished items, all of them do show remarkable quality.

The Old Factory in itself is almost a polished netmap. The texturing is a little overzealous, but the map itself is of very good quality. I'll go into more detail in a Pfhorums PM.

The tidbits, like Starwars, were very nice too and made with an exemplary amount of effort.