Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Sorry for the late review M1A1 HardCore Sounds

Nibenon on Oct 4th 2011, Version

My computer exploded the first time I used these sounds, and I had to get a new one. Well done.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pure Awesome Marathon Aeon

Pfhriggin' on Sep 25th 2011, Version pß 1.8

Having rattled through Rubicon, Eternal and Phoenix a number of times over- having done the same with the Aeon public beta 1.0 a few months a go- I decided to have a go at it again. Frankly, I'm astounded as to how far the learning curve on this scenario has progressed.

Earlier levels from Our Lives a Mimicry to Rise and Fall of Dugit (bar Eternal Lucid Dream) have amazing attention to detail, but the texturing is still a little sloppy. It's good to see that for Asphodel and onwards, this has been rectified.

I'm not a particular fan of being given everything at the offset, but it's good to see that we're given a choice between pure carnage and more structured fights in the divergent chapters. My favorite, personally so far, is Venom.

By levels, however, I need to be a little more consice. Levels like Vae Victis/Command, Frameshift, and Lapsus are some of the best levels I've seen in a long time.

Keep up the good work. I'm still waiting on 1.9 :)


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

This is more like it! Marathon Aeon

byrd62au on Sep 25th 2011, Version pß 1.8

As someone who cut their marathon teeth on 3rd party scenarios like Siege of Nor Korph, Evil, Tempus Irae, Rubicon etc I'm very intolerant of maps where not enough thought and effort is put into lighting and making maps "feel" right. This is a scenario where the attention to detail really shows through. I took my time wandering around just enjoying the views (once I'd survived the great battles!). There are really only 2 things I'd suggest that stop me rating this scenario a 5 to of 5 (and perhaps these things will be rectified by the time the finished version is released).

  1. Don't give the player so many weapons so early in the game. One of the things that made a scenario like "Evil" truly great was the weapons and ammo were handed out very sparingly and you often had to back up and play through sections again making more effort to conserve it as you would run out. Having to make do with a magnum for a while makes you REALLY appreciate it when you finally get a a shotgun or something. I would say there needs to be less health packs also and make some longer sections without save terms. Makes it harder but so much more rewarding.
  2. (and this is critical to make this a truly 5 star scenario) It needs an art director. The menu, chapter screens and terminal art just aren't up to the quality of the maps. Great scenarios always have a great mapmaker and a great art director, not usually the same person! Other than these issues this is first class stuff and I haven't enjoyed playing a scenario this much since Rubicon (which this reminds me a little of). Great work!

  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Improvement It's That one place!

Dugit on Sep 19th 2011, Version 1.0

It's good to see that you're utilizing differential shading properly, although in one or two places it's still not that convincing. In terms of flow, there's no glaring problems, and there's good variation in floor/ceiling heights. We're around a classic Marathon: Infinity level map at this point.

There's something flickering that looks like a teleporter but isn't. Please fix. Also, some platforms aren't as obvious as they could be, and a few raised portions of the map (with ammo) are irritatingly just out of reach. Bad in a net game.


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Improving SSC Comand Central

Dugit on Sep 13th 2011, Version 0.9 BETA

Variation in floor/ceiling heights is present. At this point, we're at an M1-level net map. There's plenty of room for improvement, though. It's good to see that weapons and ammo have no problems.

The map is still very cramped. For any more than a two-player duel, three-player at a push, the gameplay would deteriorate.

Please raise the headbanger ceiling in the center of the map.

There is also little variation in lights, giving the map an appearance without volume. I recommend you play some popular net maps, or even solo scenarios, to get an idea of differential shading.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Forgot Something. Corridors of Nightmares

Dugit on Sep 12th 2011, Version 1.0

This review is not to disregard my previous one. It is, in fact, to contest w'rkncrapper's, especially the last bit.

and no, you don't have to get rid of the tight spaces, everyone here are afraid of: Tight spaces, dark areas, monsters, deathtraps, open lava pits, and anything else that takes a little bit of skill to overcome. so go you!

Cheap ways to have a player die (ie- not caused by other players) on a map are instant map-credibility killers. Don't follow that piece of advice. Please don't.

Dark areas are acceptable if they are tempered with well-lit areas- relying on them exclusively will leave an annoying map and an annoying map alone. Tight spaces are almost always bad in net maps. They constrict flow.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

If you ever want to become a competent map maker Corridors of Nightmares

Dis on Sep 11th 2011, Version 1.0

Completely disregard the comment below


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

A Great Idea... Corridors of Nightmares

AN1Guitarman on Sep 11th 2011, Version 1.0

the problem i find with S7 is that everyone here has a very closed mind when it comes to map making. not to say there advice is bad. but take it for what it is. you map to me is a great concept, but you need more details and intricacies. make sure that there are only a few dead ends (as i see that it is fitting to your theme, otherwise i would say no dead ends) it's good to have great flow so the game can stay fast-paced. so if you added more pathways and weapons this map would be awesome! and remember to balance your weapons and have them fit your enviornment, ex: a map with tight spaces (not bad on it's own) may not need a missile launcher. one would blow himself/herself up. i would love to see the updated version of this map!! and no, you don't have to get rid of the tight spaces, everyone here are afraid of: Tight spaces, dark areas, monsters, deathtraps, open lava pits, and anything else that takes a little bit of skill to overcome. so go you!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Not even old-school bad Corridors of Nightmares

Dugit on Sep 9th 2011, Version 1.0

Since this is your first ever map, I'll extend some courtesies. There are no texturing errors, but in a map so small that shouldn't be much of a problem.

I did not test the multiplayer simply because playing a match on what can only be described as a PiD map would be a veritable living hell.

Protips: vary ceiling/floor heights. Open up your areas. Put in some effort. Then all will be well.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Falg is the best! Capture the Falg

herecomethej2000 on Sep 7th 2011, Version 1.0

An excellent game. lot of fond memories. Thank-you irons for restoring it for us!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome Capture the Falg

brilliant on Sep 7th 2011, Version 1.0

Thank you for making it work again! :)


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Passable. (2.5 star, really) Clover

Dugit on Sep 6th 2011, Version 1.1

Eh. Weapons and ammo are fine, I suppose, and there are some nice gradients here and there, but mostly, the level seems uninspired, and too M2-style old-school for my tastes. You don't need to be this careful to avoid fps slouches- it's just that your last level was so crowded.

There's no real floor height differentiation, and the little that you have is less than a single WU. The texturing is also passable. Nothing too painful, but there's nothing jawdroppingly good either.

Practice. Experiment. And then, eventually, we'll have a Marius-worthy map.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

About time Capture the Falg

W'rkncacnter on Sep 6th 2011, Version 1.0

Best with fusion-only CTF duels.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Pretty cool but... Night Vision Lua

arr531 on Sep 3rd 2011, Version 1.0

It works pretty well but if you use it with FloatingX's weapon's display plugin the weapon's display gets noise interference/garbled when you activate the night vision goggles.

Update: After doing some more testing, I discovered it was with the OpenGL settings. I used OpenGL Classic and having Color Effects checked was causing the problem. If I unchecked it the than FloatingX Weapon display works with the Night Vision goggles but the color is not the traditional green color but it makes all the dark areas bright - like turning on a lightbulb.In Software mode it works without making any adjustments to the Graphics settings. This is Ubuntu 11.04 and testing with Marathon Infinity using the 0.23.3 engine.

Update: Just moved up to alephone 1.0b4 and tested - same results.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

candy fragments

goran svensson on Aug 29th 2011, Version -1

I've always been a fan of what people nowadays refer to as gimmicks. This pack is all about that.

Caustics is a cool effect. I don't agree with quartz that it cannot be used, it would just require a custom scenario. Texture sets in marathon can have 100+ textures, and you can write level specific mml.

The amount of textures can also be reduced by 30. You only need one normal texture, which can be used over and over for each bitmap.

Star wars and hamsters shows the new power of untextured sides in the new renderer. Fake floating polygons. Makes me think of old abandoned idea of bridges of balconies. What a marathon we could have had!

Tight rope builds on the same tech as hamster och star wars, but the limits of the floating polygon trick are not visible. It's a foolproof line the air.

Old factory has no gimmicks. It's an unfinished netmap showing of Quartz ability to create good looking architecture.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Awesome Stuff fragments

Dugit on Aug 29th 2011, Version -1

Although none of the items in this package are actually finished and polished items, all of them do show remarkable quality.

The Old Factory in itself is almost a polished netmap. The texturing is a little overzealous, but the map itself is of very good quality. I'll go into more detail in a Pfhorums PM.

The tidbits, like Starwars, were very nice too and made with an exemplary amount of effort.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Good Shizzle Starlight

Dugit on Aug 28th 2011, Version 1.0

Although all the maps are sound, my favorite by far was Megalomania, and my least favorite- by far- was Hollow Void. But anyway.

None of the maps have even small nitpicks, other than one or two places where the 0.5x0.5 WU water light texture was on small raised portions of the floor, and, in the middle of a netgame, I thought they were teleporters. Ah well.

Good stuff, here.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

it's good to have you back Starlight

Unclenate on Aug 27th 2011, Version 1.0

the power drive maps were good maps but the embedded physics made me lag, so thanks for fixing them. and good work on your other maps. my favorite of the bunch was 'Miracle mile'.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

?? Halo - Combat Evolved

security officer on Aug 27th 2011, Version 0.6b

This looks very cool but how do i make it work?>?


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Better Attempt

Dugit on Aug 23rd 2011, Version 1

The architecture, textures, and weapons placement is now far more pleasing. Differential shading is still lacking but it's definitely there. Detailing is impressive (if somewhat isolated, and in many cases, only on the ceiling). This is all good to see, and I hope you continue on this tangent.

However, the detail is precisely where this map loses a 3-star rating. You say the flow is 'good', but actually, it will flow like treacle, despite the fact that it's not for conventional reasons. Go into the corners of the map, and press the '?' key. An FPS counter will appear. Whenever it begins to fall below 30fps, consider that when a group of people are playing on it, the lag will be multiplied exponentially and the map will- unfortunately- be totally unplayable. The Aleph One engine can only handle so many lines crossing the player's view, and when internet lag is taken into the equation, the map loses credibility.

It's good to see zealous detail, but overzealous detail, in effect, is just as bad as an empty map.

I'd be interested to see what you could come up with for solo mapping, since over-detailing is much less of a problem there (but still keep an eye on the FPS counter).


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Impressive Marathon Aeon

K'taur on Aug 22nd 2011, Version pß 1.7

Very nicely done. Gameplay is excellent. Though this was said before, i really enjoy the chaotic crossfire between allies and enemies, and being ambushed in tight spaces. Ammo is plentiful, but not too plentiful.

Architecturally, also very well done. The wide vistas, in particular, are a nice touch. A lot of mappers aren't very good about giving the player a good sense of the immensity of a particular space station or facility. Eternal Lucid Dream, with the lookout stations jutting out from the cliff face, did this particularly well. The stone areas, and the water pools/streams especially, look awesome. You've done some great things insofar as taking advantage of Aleph One's lack of geometry and viewing distance limitations.

Two minor things annoyed me a bit:

(1) Too many inoperable doors. Several times i found myself wandering around maps in circles long after i had already killed everything, searching for which door a particular switch opened, and being frustrated by the number of doors that were permanently inoperable.

(2) Too many texture sets. i believe this was mentioned earlier, in an earlier release, but while i see what you're trying to do with the variation in stone textures, at times it looks gaudy, particularly where you've added textures from the Pfhor set to the mix. It's difficult to appropriate this set in other environments, and i've very rarely seen it done successfully.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Holy shit I thought this was just Wrk screwing around for a minute Level 1 I crap on you

Dis on Aug 20th 2011, Version 1.1

What's up guys?


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

advice, Level 1 I crap on you

Unclenate on Aug 20th 2011, Version 1.1

your maps have too much uneeded space, which getting rid of some of it will make it easier to have enough ammo and such. as for the architecture: its still pretty simple but your efforts in good flow in this map are, to some degree, significant.

also ,continue to take dugit's advice and other's advice realistically. even people who have strait on ridiculed my mapping have helped quite a bit...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

neat Pfhor Textures Remix

Unclenate on Aug 20th 2011, Version 2.0

it sure looks better than the dull, dark, gloomy, and depressing infinty pfhor textures...


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

I've had enough of this shit. Level 1 I crap on you

Dugit on Aug 19th 2011, Version 1.0

Treellama has graciously pointed out to me (I am indeed last person in existence who reviews your damn maps with a degree of professionalism- bar Etan- and frankly I'm not surprised) that you are indeed AN1Guitarman. Dugit's brain is easily confused. Please avoid changing your name in the future, and if you do decide to, at least spell 'crap' with two letter 'p's, not three. Douchebag.

Anyway. To the map. To be honest, if you're not going to actually take in viable advice on how to make maps even mediocre and playable, never mind Marius-worthy, why should I be bothered to supply it anymore? There has been no visible application of any previous advice. The architecture and texturing is just so uninspired. The flow is average, bordering poor. The ambiance is choppy. Make smooth transitions between each ambient sound zone. The weapon placement (again) is all in bunches. For fuck sake, stop doing that. And that stupid pit with the recharge canisters.

The name. Just so uninspired.

If you want some idea of how to make a good map, by all means, play packs like Paradise Lost and Sovereignty and try to emulate their successes with your own style, then perhaps you can work to something unique.

Please, if you are going to continue making netmaps, at least have the courtesy to try to implement the advice you've been given. Advice tends to help better the person it's directed towards. If you happen to release one more AN1-brand shit map, I will not review it. I just don't care anymore.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

New-Old-School SL Maps

Dugit on Aug 18th 2011, Version 1.0

Not only are the maps playable and excellently laid out, the flow is without flaw and the lighting, if I'm not mistaken, has been redone to proper aesthetic standard, which is a neat touch.

Toolator, by far, is the funnest map of the two.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

More please! (that sounds so gay!) SL Maps

cxmb on Aug 18th 2011, Version 1.0

Yus! Finally you decided to share! :D

I do not only love the playability and flow of this maps, but the brand new design on the architecture (and without destroying the essence of the original design!)

Old maps gone right is always WIN, i hope we se way more of your work soon man!

PS. For future references, Toolator is as FUN AS HELL when a lot of people is in it to be obliterated... and stuff!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Found it! Coca-Cola Factory

AN1Guitarman on Aug 16th 2011, Version .0000000000000000001

The secret is the Dick growing out of your forehead.