Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

ugly Wrk Maps

Windbreaker on Sep 12th 2020, Version 1.0

I haven't downloaded these yet, but just from the screenshot, if you're going to remake maps, you should make them look better not worse.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Thank you Marathon TROJAN

Destiny on Sep 11th 2020, Version 1.0

I have wanted to replay this scenario for so long. One of my most favorite TCs for Marathon. Now I can finally hear the music again and experience this scenario once more. Good job.


  • Currently 0/5 Stars.

fulldiaper Portal of Sigma

irons on Sep 3rd 2020, Version 1.1

i like the purple but it's not as fun as you'd think


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice Marathon 1 Remastered Sounds

Quiver on Aug 21st 2020, Version 1.0

Elevatesquality of sound a lot


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice M2I HD Sounds Mod

Quiver on Aug 21st 2020, Version 0.1

Nice


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Ok, 69 downloads Marathon Evil mml

Quiver on Aug 19th 2020, Version 1

Because of course it is


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

little off-top question Fullscreen Corner HUD

Quiver on Aug 19th 2020, Version 1.0

What are the scenarios on first 3 screenshots?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice Starlight

Quiver on Aug 18th 2020, Version X

Speaks for itself, nice, 44 maps of awesomness


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

One of the best net packs ever made Starlight

The Man on Aug 8th 2020, Version X

If you host net games at all, you need this pack. (And if you only join others' net games, you still need this pack to familiarise yourself with one of the most frequently hosted third-party packs on the metaserver.) It's utterly massive, with (as of this writing) 44 levels from tiny to absolutely gargantuan, all gorgeous, all with fantastic flow, all with impeccable weapon and item placement.

I must confess I haven't actually played all 44 of these as net games (again, there's 44 of them!), but I've never had a bad experience with any of the ones I have. In my ideal world, we'd see the stock maps hosted on the metaserver a lot less often, replaced by maps from packs like this and Windbreaker's Imperium.

While I'm at it, Ryoko's Paradise Lost, Second Quest, and Red Spectrum also hold up really well. (Red Spectrum is quite architecturally simple compared to Ryoko's later work, but still has great flow and weapon placement.) Grab those too.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow M1A1 Fullscreen Corner HUD

Quiver on Aug 7th 2020, Version 1.0

It's actually very useful, even for official M1, keep up the good work


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

It's there now Survival 2.0

helviusrufus on Jul 30th 2020, Version 1.7

It's there now. I don't have java and just experimented with some minor changes manually just to see what'd happen. One o my resistances to changes is that the enemy really doesn't care about your preferences, so mostly I just fight against whatever comes along. It's good fun and I doubt that any changes I did would make it any better. Also, making changes directly teaches me how lua works. It's a multi purpose package.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

AWOL Survival 2.0

helviusrufus on Jul 30th 2020, Version 1.7

There is no script in the download, just pgn files. The 5 star is for the older version which I have and use.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow Fullscreen Corner HUD

Quiver on Jul 22nd 2020, Version 1.0

Well this is......I mean...damn it's black magic at this point


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Explain it to me please. Phoenix Falling

MoppyPuppy on Jul 20th 2020, Version 1.3

I don't have time to play this, can someone spoil the whole thing for me please?


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Good textures Feral Map-pack

The Last Nakh on Jul 17th 2020, Version 0.1

I'll edit this review when I am able to do a thorough trial of this.

For now — and at the risk of abusing a review: The textures are done well. I would recommend to the author either that they develop a scenario which makes good use of these aesthetics, from this and from Frolic, or that they release all their textures alone for others to build upon.

Review of the mapmaking is forthcoming.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Didn't try this, but I approve Kate - Female Bob Shapes

The Last Nakh on Jul 15th 2020, Version 1.0

I'm one of those who remembers the scantily clad female BoBs done for M1.
I think the Orphanage had some female BoBs too, but I might be remembering incorrectly — I'm probably remembering this, in fact. Is my memory getting as bad as HS now? ;-)

Anyways, as the header of this review said, I didn't try these and so cannot comment on how well the sprites are animated. Therefore, I cannot in good conscience rate it at a 5.
I do, however, approve of the attempt: unlike the bikini sprites, this is not a joke and could be used in a serious scenario.
Well done, Loren.

Furthermore, I'm not complaining about the name not being an acronym because I get the joke. 8-)


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one thing Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 4096x1536

lj6014 on May 12th 2020, Version 3.0

Almost five stars, but the Pfhor ship is also in scenery, so this causes there to be multiple ships.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one thing Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 8192x3072

lj6014 on May 12th 2020, Version 3.0

Almost five stars, but the Pfhor ship is also in scenery, so this causes there to be multiple ships.


  • Currently 231/5 Stars.

young security officers need it special Marathon 2 Loch Translation

patrick on Apr 25th 2020, Version loch

communication lines are exposed and have coded a temple in their defense probes, which are controlled remotely by a temple in their pathetically boring religion. pathetically boring religion. programs through this weakness. is used by the Pfhor’s defense programs through this weakness. sanctity will be aimed at subverting the Pfhor’s defense programs through this weakness. have coded a central computer, and have coded a virus to attack their pathetically boring religion.

won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. through that door, but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. how you leave. just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. still won’t let you leave. door, but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. I still won’t let you leave. but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let

you just walked through


  • Currently 300/5 Stars.

your only hope for a future Marathon 2 Loch Translation

irons on Apr 1st 2020, Version loch

if only they had originally release it like this, we wouldn't need mararthon eternal lambda omega


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Does this work with HD textures? Bump Maps - Jjaro (100% Depth)

MissNewtype on Apr 1st 2020, Version 1.0

Does this work with HD textures?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

BOOOOOOOOOG Weapon Enhancement Pack

Quiver on Mar 24th 2020, Version 1.4.1

Now we need updated fists and our full on HD Marathon experience will be complete


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY Custom FOV Changer

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.1

Thats the only fov script that worked from the get go, so it really should be included in all-in one downloads of Marathon


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

OH JEEEEEEZ Yuge Definition Textures

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.0

OH MY EYES ITS PERFECT


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

BEST OUTA BEST Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.1.1

Its great none the less but WARNING! It needs a separate Aleph One version (link provided in readme file) and the game itself is challenging as balls!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

It's a start Glow Prototype

Herbert_W on Mar 21st 2020, Version 0.1

I was able to extract the map, shapes etc. from the application and use them with a normal copy of A1, which was fortunate as the provided application would not start.

There's not a lot here. There's nothing outright bad, but this scenario does suffer from a lack of variety both in terms of combat and level design. Almost every encounter is basically the same with narrow corridors funneling enemies that can be swept away trivially with a generous supply of AR ammo.

My advice to the mapmaker is to try to set up encounters where the player must exploit different strategies. Stunlocking enemies in narrow corridors gets old fast. If the player also needs to circlestrafe, to dodge dynamically, to use cover, to snipe, and to explore cautiously - then you have a more varied and therefore better scenario.

Likewise, the level design consists of the inside of several different parts of a base, with rooms and corridors . . . but that's it. It's all more of the same, and there's no sense of how the different parts relate to each other aside from being described in the terminals as different wings. There's also no sense of how they relate to the outside of the base or where the base is. Look at the first chapter of DOOM where the player spends most of their time in a base but can also see and go outside, and can see other parts of the base through windows. This adds both variety and cohesiveness, which are missing here.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A dream come true Marathon Conflict

Adminn_1 on Feb 7th 2020, Version 0.23.2

All that's left is figuring out how to script so that you can respawn mid-game like in regular netplay. I'm looking into this myself.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

This looks fun Spatial Outpouring - Chapter 1

VIJaHRaL_T.O.A.D.VI on Feb 2nd 2020, Version 1.3

Was that Toad al outpouring an allusion to something?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Hahaha Marathon 2 AMP!

Spooky on Feb 1st 2020, Version 0.96

I loved it as you already know. Fantastic first effort.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Please visit us. Spatial Outpouring - Chapter 1

Spooky on Jan 23rd 2020, Version 1.3

We were wondering if you could shed some light on the story.

https://discord.gg/qcUBCq2

There is a channel in the server called the Coming of Mazaro. We would love it if you paid us a visit. We will be hosting coop runs of your scenario.