Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Do it Over, or Scrap it. Legends of Marathon Map Pack

Lizard King on Nov 6th 2019, Version 13.0

This is hardly playable. The platform level is especially a bad idea, you pretty much get stuck most of the time. The original net maps are better designed than most of these.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Brilliant Survival 2.0

Tycho X on Oct 27th 2019, Version 1.6

Brilliant script; dare I say, all I've ever wanted.

Just a few things:

1) I noticed the Ticks (Energy, Oxygen, Kamikaze) were missing. Having those added would be nice as those units are sometimes replaced with customs.

2) Alignment. I understand it is a neat feature to be able to define friend and foe by simply selecting the units you want. However I have two issues with this: for one, the script does not allow you to mix units which would normally fight together, i.e. pit BOBs against VacBOBs. Furthermore, this dumbs down combat to a basic 'player + allies' vs 'enemy'. This means that units which under normal circumstances would kill each other don't. This bugs me especially as I want a "UESC vs Pfhor vs Salinger/Dangi" scenario – a free-for-all of sorts.

Anyways, I am now officially rambling. Great script, 10/10 would recommend, hope to maybe see an update sometime again.

EDIT: the solution to point 2) would be to have an option to turn off auto-alignments and let the map/game's .phyA take care of business.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great work Marathon Gambit

aquateenhgrfrce on Oct 19th 2019, Version 1.0

I haven't played it yet, but I already know its good!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Astounding Work Marathon Gambit

raptor200221 on Oct 17th 2019, Version 1.0

This is an almost perfect recreation of the gambit gametype in a very old, outdated engine. It is quite the feat of programming and design. Excellent work!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

JUICE YugePax4Yuge

Spooky on Sep 6th 2019, Version 1.0

Wrk is the anathema of platitudinous marathon cartography.

Thanks for everything.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow! The Adminn_1 level template

Spooky on Sep 6th 2019, Version 1.0

Kinda surprised these maps didn't accidentally teleport you all over the place. If you read the Forge manual it sort of explains this bug that if there are too many lines that are completely parallel to each other you get teleported away. Happens to me all the time and you get away with this! Lol!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Marathon 1 Redux Marathon 1 Redux

ankaniluzubal on Sep 4th 2019, Version 0.0.13-alpha

This redux is awesome. Waouh.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fantastic Scenario!!! Rubicon - Xariim

Spooky on Aug 30th 2019, Version 1.0

The map making skill here is incredible. Rubicon is my fav scenario and dare I say this is better. Terminals are a bit lacking, in spelling and content, but are humorous. Aqua is a doofus I got through the first level he mentioned fine stuck on the second one he mentioned so I'm going to assume I need to keep looking. Almost finished was just looking for a walkthrough. I wont cheat I promise.

Deserves more stars. Would give 6 if I could.

Edit: Can confirm whole scenario can be played through. Aqua you were on the other side of that door earlier look at your map :p


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Keep it up! Dreamgrids of Endless Fight - a netmap series

Spooky on Aug 20th 2019, Version 1.0

More original maps in a unique style. Gotta get a game with Adminn he'll kick your ass!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Terrible design, terrible everything Dreamgrids of Endless Fight - a netmap series

aquateenhgrfrce on Aug 3rd 2019, Version 1.0

5/5 for it being so terrible!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best Template Ever The Adminn_1 level template

raptor200221 on Jun 15th 2019, Version 1.0

Runs very well on all computers. Gets a solid 12 fps on a mac pro. Excellent 4 custom Yuge maps. Great for whenever you really just don't want to make maps look modern and want that sort of "Budget Wolfenstein" feel. Seriously though, there are very few practical uses for this. Just keep making similar templates to turn into satirical jokes Adminn_1.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Repurpose this. The Adminn_1 level template

MoppyPuppy on May 27th 2019, Version 1.0

Create the Adminn_1 Lighting Template.

Creating custom lights are a pain, so if you created a map with every room being a class of light and every polygon is a variation of that class: Smooth changing lights, strobe lights, flashing lights, flickering lights, lightning and lights used to control liquid levels it would be incredibly useful.

You could import the lights to each new level with the Copy & Paste tool and save your self hours of time.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

MoppyPuppy Marathon: Shadervoid - The Labyrwraths of Growth

MoppyPuppy on May 26th 2019, Version 1.0

Absolutely Terrible.

The scenario has no story and the buildup in the first level was terrible.

Sound design was terrible.

Too many fake terminals.

SMG is placed in an area that you can only get to after you've cleared the whole level so its effectively worthless.

After clearing the last level I had no idea how to exit.

Some things you accidentally did right:

-Made me appreciate the Assault Rifle, finding it was as exciting as the first time I played Marathon because when you get it you can finally start clearing rooms. The AR should have its own room to increase the feeling, same goes for the Napalm projector.

-The Shadervoid is an existential nightmare and is absolutely unpleasant to play. If you book ended what you have with classic regular textured exposition levels the sense of relief of getting back to normalcy would make all the unpleasantness worth it.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

I appreciate the effort, but . . . The Adminn_1 level template

Herbert_W on May 23rd 2019, Version 1.0

This really isn't a good idea. "Too many vertices in a line" errors ahoy!

Besides, while square-block maps are occasionally nice for nostalgia and as a stylistic change, there isn't call for enough of them to warrant a template.

The line tool is just as easy to use as the fill tool. This template does not make life easier for novices at all.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Absolutely awful The Adminn_1 level template

W'rkncacnter on May 21st 2019, Version 1.0

To any potential mapmakers: Please don't do what Adminn is doing. Learn to map properly.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Bravo! [XS] From Alcatraz with Love

Spooky on May 7th 2019, Version 1.0

Fantastic map it deserves the 5 stars for the interesting customised looking terminal. Was fun testing it with you. Hope to see even bigger more extravagant maps in the future. Loved the detail!

Cheers, Spooky


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Great stuff, but.. Marathon Phoenix

DaiKatana on May 6th 2019, Version 1.3

I really like the map design and the story, both of which are very well designed and easy to follow yet offer a puzzle and a challenge. The use of level verticality and sniper battles between enforcers with the crossbow are really fun and a new concept to the scenario scene!

However where the game seems to fail is in combat. The enemies are too large in quantity and need to be rationed more throughout some of the levels to offer consistency and allow some form of challenge rather than just holding mouse 1 for 5 minutes.

Also the weapon selection has redundancies and has questionable design. The starting pistol is too overpowered and makes the AR's primary fire redundant. Why a crossbow? why not a DMR or sniper, that would fit the weapon themes better.

Weapons overall looks are not bad, good in fact, but they don't match up. For example the fusion cannon is a very abstract in design and very detailed like the rocket launcher, yet weapons such as the machine pistol and AR have worse quality textures as if they are from another scenario or were rushed.

But overall this was very fun, great levels and story. You just need to work on the weapon and enemy balancing.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

I might be retarded TTEP 7 Marathon Infinity

DaiKatana on Apr 24th 2019, Version 7.0

Seems ebic, but i cant seem to install it even with the instructions.. theres not even a scripts text folder to drag.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

HELL. YES. Jump Script

Lion O Cyborg on Apr 14th 2019, Version 1.2

Thank you so much for making this. The only thing missing now is a 1.3 version that lets you crouch with a different key as well, so as to allow map makers to make slightly more realistically proportioned air vents. Anyway, this jump script helps make Aleph One the GZ Doom partner it should always be. (though Marathon is still better than Doom)

Jumping properly allows you to make maps with even more crazy platforming paths, though using it should be banned if doing a Vidmaster run, unless there is no way to reach the ledge otherwise when you need to save ammo.

It's a lot better than other jump functions in Aleph one I've seen which lazily recreate the "debugging jump" from Visual Mode (both Forge and Aleph One for Weland kinds).


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Clever girl! Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 8192x3072

Spooky on Feb 24th 2019, Version 3.0

Such a clever cookie! Thanks Raven!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nostalgia! Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Lizard King on Feb 21st 2019, Version 1.0

Wow, it's been years since I had played this. You really put a lot of effort in this. Well done!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fucking amazing Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

TheeAlmightySimulacrum on Feb 20th 2019, Version 1.0

I've wanted to play Bungie's famous PiD for 10 fucking years. Even though I own PiD physically, I never had the actual ability to play the damn game until a couple days ago. Thank you to all involved in this COMPLETE port of the game!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Spam Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Windbreaker on Feb 19th 2019, Version 1.0

Please stop spamming Simplici7y with quality uploads so we can get back to wasting everyone's time with visual mode plugins. Thanks.

To be serious for a moment, this is a fantastic port that makes great use of Lua, and is a lot of fun to play. It's clear a lot of work went into this, and it certainly deserves a 5 star rating -- something I never ever give out.

Good job, douche.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Insane perfectionism Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

liacrow on Feb 17th 2019, Version 1.0

The amount of coding that went into perfectly recreating the exact behaviour of PiD is absolutely mind-boggling.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best Version Yet Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Spooky on Feb 17th 2019, Version 1.0

I am thrilled with this new version. Binding the action key to the inventory was a bit tricky but once you figure out the controls this total conversion is thoroughly addictive. Easy 5 stars as expected from Wrk.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

What the world needed! Alex Jones BOB Voice-over

raptor200221 on Feb 12th 2019, Version 1.0

Excellent audio quality. Totally recommend using this for every play-through of any Marathon scenario. This is the best alternate audio I have ever heard in a videogame. You need to try this audio out!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Visual Mode is just a prank. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PLUGIN PACK. lolplugins

Lion O Cyborg on Feb 11th 2019, Version 1.2

Most of those plugins are legit, except visual mode which is just a troll prank that displays an image of a man with a Marathon nametag injecting himself with "Forge Visual Modes" and screaming "VISUAL MODE!" whenever you try to activate it in Weland's plugins menu.

That is not fucking funny. In fact, I find it just plain tasteless and rude. >:(

I need a Forge style visual mode i.e. a port of Vasara with the original Forge's 3D view height adjustment mode (toggled by CAPS lock in the edtior) to make adjusting heights better, as the digit based system sucks. This is to say that I require visual aids in 3D/2.5D level editors so I can see if my level looks right on the fly. Tomb Editor and the Build Engine editor are two examples of how to do 2D editing and 3D texturing right.

Having to constantly open the game, load my map with Vasara on, do my work, save it using a very easy to forget console command, fish it out of the default aleph one directory and put it back in Weland's one, open it again and THEN adjust heights using the awful non visual "set heights" option is pointless busywork. That's why forge included such as feature in Visual mode TO BEGIN WITH. The digit method was only intended for backup and/or minor adjustments once the general height was set e.g. quickly copying the same height across multiple polygons without having to adjust them all in visual mode, saving that for new heights.

I really hope someone actually makes a visual mode/vasara version for Weland itself and not as an Aleph One plugin without it ending up such a childish prank like that. I was looking forward to using a less clunky texturing system too. That'll teach me to get my hopes up.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Unbelievable Official Unofficialmaps

Spooky on Feb 9th 2019, Version 1.0

This map cements W'rk as the king of Marathon. The skill here is incredible. Those damn penguins though I will kill them somehow. The sprites on the penguins are a little rough around the edges but altogether an amazing map package. Well done.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Worst Level Xmas 1: Submarine

Kuurin on Jan 31st 2019, Version 1.2

I admit I actually made "Reverse Osmosis". I appreciate that you didn't put my name on that, but I think I have to own up to it at some point.