Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Update To Previous Review. Marathon TROJAN

Sharkie Lino on Jan 7th 2022, Version 1.0

The issue I was having seemed to be related to the current Aleph One version at the time (1.4).

Tried said levels again with the Aleph One 1.5 release candidate, and they work fine now!

Overall, definitely a very good scenario for the M1 environment.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

even better than i expected Marathon: Machina - The Alien Machine Mind

irons on Dec 28th 2021, Version 1

textures are grid map screenshots.

what more can you ask for?

a good/bad trip simulator


  • Currently 100000/5 Stars.

don't listen to wrk NEFX Map Templates

irons on Dec 28th 2021, Version 3

one star per square or triangle


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Essence of Adminn Marathon: Machina - The Alien Machine Mind

Windbreaker on Dec 13th 2021, Version 1

From the long expository terminal submerged in water, to the numerous crushers, liquid cannons, and death pits, to the necessary survival script not enabled by default, this scenario is completely on-brand from Adminn, in the best way.

However, it's the NEFX soundtrack, coupled with the textures made up of overhead map screenshots, as well as the main menu/title screens, that earn this one-level scenario a rare five Fun Roberts from this guy.

Good job.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Good Xmas 2: Icecave

zapp on Dec 13th 2021, Version unburied.0

One of the best


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Good Xmas 1: Submarine

zapp on Dec 13th 2021, Version 1.2

Amazing detail and play


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Annoying but Funny Realistic Sounds

zapp on Dec 13th 2021, Version 1

Interesting but it would drove me crazy to play a game with this for very long.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nice Hi-Res Floating HUD for Rubicon-X

DaiKatana on Nov 14th 2021, Version 1.1

Looks really good.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Whole new game Marathon 1 Redux

Ribye99 on Sep 8th 2021, Version 0.0.13-alpha

Genuinely one of the best M1 mods I have ever played. The updated graphics are great, but the changes to some of the levels are what really make this thing for me. Using some weapons from Eternal is a great touch, they fit right into the base game. The epilogue level is very cool, great reference to Eternal and really gives the game some much needed closure. Such a blast replaying the original game in this new light!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fantastic stuff Marathon Infinity Upscaled Monsters (Art)

The Man on Aug 24th 2021, Version 1.0

I did some work on this pack (cleaning up the fighters), so I’m naturally a bit biased, but these are one of the best HD monster packs available if you don’t want to go the MaraToon route; they’re faithful to the originals, but substantially more detailed. Until a skilled artist is willing to make faithful HD sprites, these are probably as good as we’re going to get (or at least tied with treellama’s ML Super Res plugins).

Note: Since this plugin contains hundreds of large images, it may not work on many maps with 32-bit Windows builds of Aleph One, particularly if you also use a lot of other plugins. The crash that enderandrew mentioned occurs because 32-bit Windows apps are limited to 2 GB of RAM – if a level loads too many monster collections, it exceeds that limit. (Most vanilla Infinity levels should load at most four monster collections, and most vanilla M2 levels should load at most three, but a lot of third-party maps use way more.) If these don’t load for you on Windows, get the latest 64-bit Windows app from https://github.com/Aleph-One-Marathon/alephone/releases and run it with that. (This also applies to Eternal 1.2.0 and Juzo-kun’s brilliant MaraToon plugins, among others.)

If you’re one of the Graphics > Rendering Options and reduce the Replacement Texture Quality of Sprites until the game loads. (If you also use HD textures and landscapes, you can reduce Walls and Landscapes too, but those probably use far less memory on most vanilla M2/Infinity maps than these sprites do.)


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

A MAZE!! Windows 95 Map File

Meerjel01 on Aug 24th 2021, Version 1.0

Just kidding. I can't begin playing Minecraft.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Accurate and gorgeous Marathon Infinity Upscaled Weapons

enderandrew on Aug 23rd 2021, Version 1.1

When comparing AI upscaling and hand-drawn original HD replacement textures there is sometimes a trade-off of the upscaler being more accurate to the original look, while a hand-drawn HD texture may have more detail or look nicer.

With this particular mod I don't there is any tradeoff.

These are the nicest looking weapons out there.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Crashes Game Marathon Infinity Upscaled Monsters (Art)

enderandrew on Aug 23rd 2021, Version 1.0

This crashes the game for me every time with the latest Aleph One executables on Windows as of the April 8th, 2021 build when I start a new game.

Marathon Infinity.exe for example.

Removing this plugin makes the crash go away. Running with only this plugin makes the game crash.

However, if I download and use AlephOne64.exe then the game will run and not crash.

I don't know what in this particular plugin will create the crash, but I'll submit a bug report for Aleph One on Github.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Great fun but broken Marathon TROJAN

Eupfhoria on Aug 21st 2021, Version 1.0

Sharkie is right, I'm close to the end of the game but there are a couple game breaking bugs.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome! Aleph One compatibility files for Wheels!

eisnerguy1 on Aug 6th 2021, Version 1.0

This is awesome! Is there any way to increase the size of the entire hud by 2? I'm running the game in 1280x960 so the hud is currently a little bit small.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Jjarro Walls not loading? MaraToon (Infinity)

lj6014 on Jul 23rd 2021, Version 1.0

It appears that the Jjarro Wall textures (except Terminals, switches, and recharge stations) are not being loaded, not sure if this is just me or if anyone else has this is issue.

Jjarro textures aside this is the best texture replacement plugin available. It adds a very different feel to the game while staying true to Bungies original textures and makes me want to play both of Marathon's sequels start to finish once again.


  • Currently 0/5 Stars.

THE LORD Jesus Christ certainly did NOT “take the wheel.” Aleph One compatibility files for Wheels!

patrick on Jul 19th 2021, Version 1.0

God commanded Moses to utterly destroy wheels. The prophet Isaiah, speaking for God at 31:1 says, “Woe to them that trust in chariots.” Every person knows better than to trust in any wheeled contraption. Wheel use is nonsensical. One reason for God’s command to avoid wheels could have been to keep the Israelites from using the horses and chariots in their future battles and then attributing their success to having the horses and chariots, instead of attributing it to God. It seems likely that the Israelites had no horses, based on the following three verses: In Exodus 15:1, 21 the Israelites praised God for rescuing them from the Egyptians, saying, “the horse and its rider he has hurled into the sea.” God promised to destroy such inventions of pagan men, and these Egyptians are also described as riders of horses, in contrast to the Israelites. The people of God are not allowed to be in charge of man-made wheels in this world. In Deuteronomy 20:1 God tells the Israelites, “When you go to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them.” The point is that the Israelites have neither horses nor chariots, and that having horses and chariots would make them considerably more reliant on the world. In Judges 1:16-21 we see that obedience toward God is life, disobedience brings death.

Clearly, God wanted the Israelites to know they did not defeat their enemies with their own strength - Joshua 24:12. In Judges Chapter 4 we see how God placed an army of chariots, which some people might consider a great advantage, into the corrective hands of Israel at Mount Tabor. The outcome of the evil-spirited invention is clearly explained to us here. God deliberately used a weak, small army to show His power on many other occasions, most notably with Gideon - Judges 7:2-3. When is a horse ever really needed? It is true that by the command of pharaoh wagons were sent to enslave Joseph’s family, but I do not see any wheel on the ground ever kept or controlled by a person in the full favor of God. Where men of God did not destroy the wheel, God does it for them. The first historical record of the wheel in the bible is shown to be an invention of men for the purpose of ungodly warfare, in order only to brutally conquer and spoil. It is truly no different today. People speed around, rushing here and there, without much if any care towards the harm they cause, or being conscious of their terroristic violence. Wheels are suicide.

It is not difficult to attribute many harmful or deadly things to the evils of wheels. Some believe that stories like the one in Ezekiel 1:16 give allowance for wheel use. In instances like this we are seeing something otherworldly (some say a UFO), which merely has the “appearance” of a wheel, as the context shows. We are not to conclude that instances like these are earthly man-made wheels that roll on the ground. The record of Uzzah, who was killed steadying the Ark of the Covenant, is recorded twice in the Scriptures (2 Sam. 6, 1 Chron. 13). God commanded that the bars for the Ark were always to stay in its rings, for the Ark was only to be transported while being carried by walking men. Never before this accident had the Ark been transported by wheels, the Ark had been in a pagan land, the source of evil wheels. King David was so frightened by this deadly accident that they did not immediately complete the journey and never again did they use wheels to move the Ark. It is important to note that they were also playing all kinds of ungodly musical instruments at the time of the accident, if they followed the instruction of God no such accident would ever have happened. Of course, how can there be any such thing as an accident in the first place? Such things are only negligence. In Zechariah 9:10, God says that He will make sure there are “no chariots in Ephraim...” Tsar (King) Solomon was prohibited 3 things. The hoarding of money, he kept for himself 666 talents of gold per day; having many wives, he had hundreds; and lastly, possessing chariots, he was the first king of Israel to wrongly keep wheels. We see that Deuteronomy 17:16-17 warns that Israelite kings must not acquire great wealth or many horses. Chariots were well known at the time of Christ, yet He did not need one, choosing instead not to ride them, but did ride a lowly donkey. No Christian or godly man made a practice of utilizing such an abhorent apparatus. Neither should we think that the stone rolled in front of THE LORD’s tomb was a wheel, for a partial roll is not a wheel. A partial roll is all that was needed. We are required to be careful in all our ways, limiting ourselves in this world to the bare minimum. For my part I am almost finished with the wheel entirely. I hate riding on wheels and hate even more seeing how these evils harass the younger ones. There are instances where God can transport instantly, as with the case of Apostle Philip who miraculously arrived in a chariot, but it was halted quickly. It is the only occurrence in the New Testament of earthly wheels. That chariot was controlled by pagans who were in charge of the horses. The eunuch was not operating the chariot, as he and the Apostle were reading and studying the Scriptures. This story is not suggested to be complete, so it is also very likely that Philip rebuked wheel use. By no means should this be taken as a license or permission to keep up the practice of having wheels. Let us not spite God, but only obey what is good, correct, honest and true in such matters.

“Gathering Clouds” is an account of the life of John Chrysostom, an ancient preacher famous for his eloquence. This story speaks of an acquaintance who asked John to travel on a chariot. He gave a good reason as to why he could not. His comrade astonishingly and violently seized him. John was then taken at high speed to Constantinople. It was the only chariot ride he ever took. At the end of the journey he was forced to be the top representative of the Church. In this position he regularly preached against chariots. During the ancient Olympics the most dangerous sport was the chariot race. Around 600 A.D. the Hippodrome in Olympia (where chariot races were held) was washed away when the Alpheus River changed course during a torrent. That happening was no accident; in fact it was seen as an act of God. This assisted people to reason with their common sense given by God that Christian people ought not to ever have wheels.

An ancient law exists for the oldest continuously surviving Christian community in the world. It forbids being built any “road upon which a wheel can run.” Peter the not so Great’s father had a good Christian law forbidding wheels throughout all Russia. I know that the practice of using wheels came to Russia after Peter visited England, being influenced by their, oh so sorrowful, ways of the time. So, this common form of transport is really nothing less than death on wheels. Wheels threaten more than they assist. Wheels are a trap, they are gadgets and gimmicks. They are a funky way to travel, a cause of forgetting the good ways, a cause of wrong hatreds and pains, and thereby people have become a creature of the wheel and a temporal lord of the infernal engines, of the machines. We are duty bound to correct and rebuke wheels, and by all peaceful means to resist and renounce them.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Conversations are broken? Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

MobyPiD on Jul 13th 2021, Version 1.2

I started playing some days ago and I was excited to play it but there are some corpses that dont reply to anything I say. Not even Name or Death. Idk if thats a bug but if it is, it just breaks the game :/ Thanks for the game anyways


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great Plugin BRUTAL MARATHON

Fallon on Jun 27th 2021, Version 1.1

Thank you very much. But I noticed a strange bug (?). While playing I often get to hear a sound that reminds me of an electric guitar. I used the map "Duality" as singleplayer with a lot of monsters and a physics file with overpowered weapons. With normal physics, this sound is less frequent. EDIT: I solved the problem by commenting out the line p:play_sound(139) in brutal_marathon.lua.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Broken on Aleph One v1.4 Enhanced HUD for Marathon Phoenix

Shockwave_S08 on May 26th 2021, Version 1.0

The reason I'm giving it three stars is because the Shield/Oxygen bars don't work on the latest version of Aleph One. Everything else works though.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

dada Mararthon: Yuge

visage on Apr 20th 2021, Version 1.2

This is familiar, as if it were from an old dream, but I can’t exactly remember...


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Magna Res BRUTAL MARATHON

helviusrufus on Apr 13th 2021, Version 1.0

This is great. This is reason enough to start using AlephOne 1.4. Incipiat trucidatio.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Test results from AlephOne-20210408 playing Pathways Into Darkness System Se7en

baconicsynergy on Apr 13th 2021, Version 1.2

A complete success!!! This is the perfect GUI plugin to get that old school Mac feeling. Excellent work :)


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

So excited! Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

baconicsynergy on Apr 11th 2021, Version 1.2

I've always known about PID but never played it. I'm really excited to dive into this game!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Pretty darn amazing! Marathon OST 2021

eisnerguy1 on Apr 9th 2021, Version 1.4

Sounds fantastic so far!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

It's Broken. (Update Above) Marathon TROJAN

Sharkie Lino on Apr 3rd 2021, Version 1.0

Necessary mission-finishing switches on Have Gun, Will Travel, and the last level do not respond at all. Because of this, the levels cannot be completed. Very disappointing.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Admittedly Entertaining. Global Warming Lua

Sharkie Lino on Apr 3rd 2021, Version toolate

See, you can easily fix this problem if you would just stop accidentally leaving the water running! Then the maps wouldn't flood, and you'd use less water in general. Win/Win!

The round I tried this one wasn't all that bad. I'm not sure if I would host it myself, but if someone else was? Yeah I'd be willing to play a couple of rounds of it in one session.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Interesting! MaraToon (Infinity)

Sharkie Lino on Apr 2nd 2021, Version 1.0

Might not be my favorite thing, but it deserves a high rating for the work you put into it.

Just ran solo through some of the stock network levels just to see what some things would look like, and it did certainly give me a chuckle. I will say, the landscapes certainly look pretty damn good.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Exellent work! MaraToon (Infinity)

herecomethej2000 on Mar 23rd 2021, Version 1.0

Decades ago I did a joke project with someone where we tried to replace the monsters with stick figures. In doing so we found that this game really had potential for cell shaded style graphics for artists who actually knew what they were doing and weren't 12. It's fantastic to see someone went ahead and actually did it. Excellent work! I do hope you one day find the energy to do the player sprites, as it would be great to play multiplayer like this. This could easily be the best graphic set for the game.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

No Credit for Me MaraToon (Infinity)

Meerjel01 on Mar 20th 2021, Version 1.0

This is gonna make me actually finish Infinity. But first I must have Access To Arasaka music into it.