Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one thing Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 4096x1536

lj6014 on May 12th 2020, Version 3.0

Almost five stars, but the Pfhor ship is also in scenery, so this causes there to be multiple ships.


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Just one thing Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 8192x3072

lj6014 on May 12th 2020, Version 3.0

Almost five stars, but the Pfhor ship is also in scenery, so this causes there to be multiple ships.


  • Currently 231/5 Stars.

young security officers need it special Marathon 2 Loch Translation

patrick on Apr 25th 2020, Version loch

communication lines are exposed and have coded a temple in their defense probes, which are controlled remotely by a temple in their pathetically boring religion. pathetically boring religion. programs through this weakness. is used by the Pfhor’s defense programs through this weakness. sanctity will be aimed at subverting the Pfhor’s defense programs through this weakness. have coded a central computer, and have coded a virus to attack their pathetically boring religion.

won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. through that door, but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. how you leave. just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. still won’t let you leave. door, but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let you leave. I still won’t let you leave. but I still won’t let you just walked through that door, but I still won’t let

you just walked through


  • Currently 300/5 Stars.

your only hope for a future Marathon 2 Loch Translation

irons on Apr 1st 2020, Version loch

if only they had originally release it like this, we wouldn't need mararthon eternal lambda omega


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Does this work with HD textures? Bump Maps - Jjaro (100% Depth)

MissNewtype on Apr 1st 2020, Version 1.0

Does this work with HD textures?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

BOOOOOOOOOG Weapon Enhancement Pack

Quiver on Mar 24th 2020, Version 1.4.1

Now we need updated fists and our full on HD Marathon experience will be complete


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY Custom FOV Changer

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.1

Thats the only fov script that worked from the get go, so it really should be included in all-in one downloads of Marathon


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

OH JEEEEEEZ Yuge Definition Textures

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.0

OH MY EYES ITS PERFECT


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

BEST OUTA BEST Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Quiver on Mar 22nd 2020, Version 1.1.1

Its great none the less but WARNING! It needs a separate Aleph One version (link provided in readme file) and the game itself is challenging as balls!


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

It's a start Glow Prototype

Herbert_W on Mar 21st 2020, Version 0.1

I was able to extract the map, shapes etc. from the application and use them with a normal copy of A1, which was fortunate as the provided application would not start.

There's not a lot here. There's nothing outright bad, but this scenario does suffer from a lack of variety both in terms of combat and level design. Almost every encounter is basically the same with narrow corridors funneling enemies that can be swept away trivially with a generous supply of AR ammo.

My advice to the mapmaker is to try to set up encounters where the player must exploit different strategies. Stunlocking enemies in narrow corridors gets old fast. If the player also needs to circlestrafe, to dodge dynamically, to use cover, to snipe, and to explore cautiously - then you have a more varied and therefore better scenario.

Likewise, the level design consists of the inside of several different parts of a base, with rooms and corridors . . . but that's it. It's all more of the same, and there's no sense of how the different parts relate to each other aside from being described in the terminals as different wings. There's also no sense of how they relate to the outside of the base or where the base is. Look at the first chapter of DOOM where the player spends most of their time in a base but can also see and go outside, and can see other parts of the base through windows. This adds both variety and cohesiveness, which are missing here.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

A dream come true Marathon Conflict

Adminn_1 on Feb 7th 2020, Version 0.23.2

All that's left is figuring out how to script so that you can respawn mid-game like in regular netplay. I'm looking into this myself.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

This looks fun Spatial Outpouring - Chapter 1

VIJaHRaL_T.O.A.D.VI on Feb 2nd 2020, Version 1.3

Was that Toad al outpouring an allusion to something?


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Hahaha Marathon 2 AMP!

Spooky on Feb 1st 2020, Version 0.96

I loved it as you already know. Fantastic first effort.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Please visit us. Spatial Outpouring - Chapter 1

Spooky on Jan 23rd 2020, Version 1.3

We were wondering if you could shed some light on the story.

https://discord.gg/qcUBCq2

There is a channel in the server called the Coming of Mazaro. We would love it if you paid us a visit. We will be hosting coop runs of your scenario.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Very Useful Netscript Pack

raptor200221 on Jan 7th 2020, Version 1

It is great to see these game modes ported to marathon. Keep up the good work!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Where meant to say this some time ago Los Disneys

Meerjel01 on Dec 30th 2019, Version

What


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Well done. Netscript Pack

Spooky on Dec 16th 2019, Version 1

Classic Marathon Day surprise.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Perfect Marathon Gambit

Spooky on Dec 12th 2019, Version 1.1

Nicely done sir.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Do it Over, or Scrap it. Legends of Marathon Map Pack

Lizard King on Nov 6th 2019, Version 13.0

This is hardly playable. The platform level is especially a bad idea, you pretty much get stuck most of the time. The original net maps are better designed than most of these.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Brilliant Survival 2.0

Tycho X on Oct 27th 2019, Version 1.6

Brilliant script; dare I say, all I've ever wanted.

Just a few things:

1) I noticed the Ticks (Energy, Oxygen, Kamikaze) were missing. Having those added would be nice as those units are sometimes replaced with customs.

2) Alignment. I understand it is a neat feature to be able to define friend and foe by simply selecting the units you want. However I have two issues with this: for one, the script does not allow you to mix units which would normally fight together, i.e. pit BOBs against VacBOBs. Furthermore, this dumbs down combat to a basic 'player + allies' vs 'enemy'. This means that units which under normal circumstances would kill each other don't. This bugs me especially as I want a "UESC vs Pfhor vs Salinger/Dangi" scenario – a free-for-all of sorts.

Anyways, I am now officially rambling. Great script, 10/10 would recommend, hope to maybe see an update sometime again.

EDIT: the solution to point 2) would be to have an option to turn off auto-alignments and let the map/game's .phyA take care of business.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Great work Marathon Gambit

aquateenhgrfrce on Oct 19th 2019, Version 1.0

I haven't played it yet, but I already know its good!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Astounding Work Marathon Gambit

raptor200221 on Oct 17th 2019, Version 1.0

This is an almost perfect recreation of the gambit gametype in a very old, outdated engine. It is quite the feat of programming and design. Excellent work!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

JUICE YugePax4Yuge

Spooky on Sep 6th 2019, Version 1.0

Wrk is the anathema of platitudinous marathon cartography.

Thanks for everything.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Wow! The Adminn_1 level template

Spooky on Sep 6th 2019, Version 1.0

Kinda surprised these maps didn't accidentally teleport you all over the place. If you read the Forge manual it sort of explains this bug that if there are too many lines that are completely parallel to each other you get teleported away. Happens to me all the time and you get away with this! Lol!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Marathon 1 Redux Marathon 1 Redux

ankaniluzubal on Sep 4th 2019, Version 0.0.13-alpha

This redux is awesome. Waouh.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fantastic Scenario!!! Rubicon - Xariim

Spooky on Aug 30th 2019, Version 1.0

The map making skill here is incredible. Rubicon is my fav scenario and dare I say this is better. Terminals are a bit lacking, in spelling and content, but are humorous. Aqua is a doofus I got through the first level he mentioned fine stuck on the second one he mentioned so I'm going to assume I need to keep looking. Almost finished was just looking for a walkthrough. I wont cheat I promise.

Deserves more stars. Would give 6 if I could.

Edit: Can confirm whole scenario can be played through. Aqua you were on the other side of that door earlier look at your map :p


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Keep it up! Dreamgrids of Endless Fight - a netmap series

Spooky on Aug 20th 2019, Version 1.0

More original maps in a unique style. Gotta get a game with Adminn he'll kick your ass!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Terrible design, terrible everything Dreamgrids of Endless Fight - a netmap series

aquateenhgrfrce on Aug 3rd 2019, Version 1.0

5/5 for it being so terrible!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best Template Ever The Adminn_1 level template

raptor200221 on Jun 15th 2019, Version 1.0

Runs very well on all computers. Gets a solid 12 fps on a mac pro. Excellent 4 custom Yuge maps. Great for whenever you really just don't want to make maps look modern and want that sort of "Budget Wolfenstein" feel. Seriously though, there are very few practical uses for this. Just keep making similar templates to turn into satirical jokes Adminn_1.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Repurpose this. The Adminn_1 level template

MoppyPuppy on May 27th 2019, Version 1.0

Create the Adminn_1 Lighting Template.

Creating custom lights are a pain, so if you created a map with every room being a class of light and every polygon is a variation of that class: Smooth changing lights, strobe lights, flashing lights, flickering lights, lightning and lights used to control liquid levels it would be incredibly useful.

You could import the lights to each new level with the Copy & Paste tool and save your self hours of time.