Reviews

Newest Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Clever girl! Marathon over Tau Ceti E-I Landscape Texture 8192x3072

Spooky on Feb 24th 2019, Version 3.0

Such a clever cookie! Thanks Raven!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Nostalgia! Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Lizard King on Feb 21st 2019, Version 1.0

Wow, it's been years since I had played this. You really put a lot of effort in this. Well done!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fucking amazing Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

TheeAlmightySimulacrum on Feb 20th 2019, Version 1.0

I've wanted to play Bungie's famous PiD for 10 fucking years. Even though I own PiD physically, I never had the actual ability to play the damn game until a couple days ago. Thank you to all involved in this COMPLETE port of the game!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Spam Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Windbreaker on Feb 19th 2019, Version 1.0

Please stop spamming Simplici7y with quality uploads so we can get back to wasting everyone's time with visual mode plugins. Thanks.

To be serious for a moment, this is a fantastic port that makes great use of Lua, and is a lot of fun to play. It's clear a lot of work went into this, and it certainly deserves a 5 star rating -- something I never ever give out.

Good job, douche.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Insane perfectionism Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

liacrow on Feb 17th 2019, Version 1.0

The amount of coding that went into perfectly recreating the exact behaviour of PiD is absolutely mind-boggling.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Best Version Yet Aleph One: Pathways Into Darkness

Spooky on Feb 17th 2019, Version 1.0

I am thrilled with this new version. Binding the action key to the inventory was a bit tricky but once you figure out the controls this total conversion is thoroughly addictive. Easy 5 stars as expected from Wrk.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

What the world needed! Alex Jones BOB Voice-over

raptor200221 on Feb 12th 2019, Version 1.0

Excellent audio quality. Totally recommend using this for every play-through of any Marathon scenario. This is the best alternate audio I have ever heard in a videogame. You need to try this audio out!


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Visual Mode is just a prank. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PLUGIN PACK. lolplugins

Lion O Cyborg on Feb 11th 2019, Version 1.2

Most of those plugins are legit, except visual mode which is just a troll prank that displays an image of a man with a Marathon nametag injecting himself with "Forge Visual Modes" and screaming "VISUAL MODE!" whenever you try to activate it in Weland's plugins menu.

That is not fucking funny. In fact, I find it just plain tasteless and rude. >:(

I need a Forge style visual mode i.e. a port of Vasara with the original Forge's 3D view height adjustment mode (toggled by CAPS lock in the edtior) to make adjusting heights better, as the digit based system sucks. This is to say that I require visual aids in 3D/2.5D level editors so I can see if my level looks right on the fly. Tomb Editor and the Build Engine editor are two examples of how to do 2D editing and 3D texturing right.

Having to constantly open the game, load my map with Vasara on, do my work, save it using a very easy to forget console command, fish it out of the default aleph one directory and put it back in Weland's one, open it again and THEN adjust heights using the awful non visual "set heights" option is pointless busywork. That's why forge included such as feature in Visual mode TO BEGIN WITH. The digit method was only intended for backup and/or minor adjustments once the general height was set e.g. quickly copying the same height across multiple polygons without having to adjust them all in visual mode, saving that for new heights.

I really hope someone actually makes a visual mode/vasara version for Weland itself and not as an Aleph One plugin without it ending up such a childish prank like that. I was looking forward to using a less clunky texturing system too. That'll teach me to get my hopes up.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Unbelievable Official Unofficialmaps

Spooky on Feb 9th 2019, Version 1.0

This map cements W'rk as the king of Marathon. The skill here is incredible. Those damn penguins though I will kill them somehow. The sprites on the penguins are a little rough around the edges but altogether an amazing map package. Well done.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Worst Level Xmas 1: Submarine

Kuurin on Jan 31st 2019, Version 1.2

I admit I actually made "Reverse Osmosis". I appreciate that you didn't put my name on that, but I think I have to own up to it at some point.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fantastic Levels! Caustic Dystopia

Lizard King on Jan 29th 2019, Version 1.4

The architecture on here is fantastic. Pretty complex, but doesn't interfere with movements, or playing. Excellent work!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

New, Yet Standard. Mararthon: Yuge

Lizard King on Jan 28th 2019, Version 1.2

Interesting that there's no "plot" per say. But the combat of these levels is pretty awesome! I don't understand the terminals, but they're definitely funny in some spots.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Simp Is An Idiot. SL Maps

Lizard King on Jan 28th 2019, Version 1.3

His ratings are as unoriginal as his attitude and personality.

I've enjoyed these many times!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Awesome! Legends of Marathon Map Pack

Spooky on Jan 26th 2019, Version 13.0

What a fantastic first project! You keep coming up with great ideas making a map pack with a map for some of the regulars each to be played on a marathon day was an original idea that you followed through very well. Great work!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Interesting textures Frolic

Simp on Jan 25th 2019, Version 0.0

There is a lot of potential here. I do enjoy the look of the minimalist textures (many in which you see in a lot of indie games). Keep it up!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Good maps for a start Legends of Marathon Map Pack

Simp on Jan 25th 2019, Version 13.0

well you did put in some effort, and I enjoyed a few of these maps :)


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

hmm Yuge Bigly Bonus Maps

Simp on Jan 19th 2019, Version 1.3

I'll play this with eddie dingle.


  • Currently 1/5 Stars.

Just Terrible SL Maps

Simp on Jan 19th 2019, Version 1.3

Really awful and terrible maps and design. Make some good maps for a change.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

really awesome Mararthon: Yuge

Simp on Jan 3rd 2019, Version 1.2

Whenever I say bad things about this mod, that is just sarcasm. I play this almost everyday. I have so many games unplayed like Final Fantasy XIII, all because of this game. Thanks Wrk for this really awesome mod, and thank you asdkzx123 for recommending this mod to me!


  • Currently 2/5 Stars.

Not Fun Legends of Marathon Map Pack

Sharkie Lino on Dec 21st 2018, Version 13.0

I'm not really sure what was tried here (yes I read the description), but it just does not work out.

Having a level with just almost all platforms (especially if you land on one while it is going down) I don't find enjoyable, and doesn't add anything to the game. Some of these levels have total dead ends, which are very annoying. Having one huge open area doesn't work either because you pretty much have no way to take cover from bullets, and some of these are just too large in general. Also, DON'T have a player spawn that is any starting height other than 0.00, as it's very annoying when you cannot move immediately after respawning. For a game as fast-paced as this, those 1 to 2 seconds are very significant.

Captain Jteg kind works out if you want to have one different round, but that's about it. And that's probably the only reason why I gave this review a loose second star. Other than that, I don't enjoy this pack.


  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

Work Definitely Went Into This Eupfhoria - Marathon Soundtrack Remake

Sharkie Lino on Dec 21st 2018, Version 1

The issue though is that it sounds a bit TOO atmospheric. A lot of the notes have too much of a cross-fade that it sounds a bit disorganized, for lack of a better term. I'm not really a fan of rearranged percussion either (particularly on New Pacific Reprise).

I will say, this rendition of said track does get the notes much better than other remakes I have heard, but overall, it is just very tough to beat the original Quicktime ones.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Cool map! [M] Harmonium

Spooky on Dec 15th 2018, Version 1.0

Haha this map rocks! Literally. Nice basalt columns. For those that don't know what those hexagonal pillars were google columnar basalt. Thanks Heron!


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Atmospheric Eupfhoria - Marathon Soundtrack Remake

Screamernail on Dec 5th 2018, Version 1

For what I am hearing currently it's pretty good. It fits the theme I know of the game so it's a 4 for effort.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

The Gray Incident The Gray Incident

etype on Oct 26th 2018, Version

Unbelievable! This is a master class in designing Marathon architecture - the best architecture I have seen in a Marathon game. This game has the most classic, yuge set-piece battles. You can play these battles over and over till you're covered in phor blood and gore and the floor is slippery with compiler guts and you can't breathe from the stink of alien carcasses, and the moans of the shp't wounded as you crush thier skulls is sweet heaven. This is a top drawer scenario. PLAY IT AND SEE.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fix works great! Registration broken, fix incoming

raptor200221 on Oct 23rd 2018, Version 1.0

The patch works just fine. Thank you for still maintaining the website!


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Stairs!!! lolplugins

AnonFriction on Aug 6th 2018, Version 1.2

"Generating stairs"

sobbing

Thank You


  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

Almost prefect Marathon Music Remasterd

lj6014 on Aug 3rd 2018, Version 2.0

These tracks really add to the Sci Fi feel of the originals and I can see them as great music replacements for those wishing to play with updated graphics and sounds, but a few of the tracks seem to loose their subtleness such as tracks 6 & 14. Other than those nitpicks I think It's pretty dang good.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Susannah's Core Susannah Windows

ForeverBlackened on Jul 25th 2018, Version 1.0

I give it a 5 alone for the feelings I get when I play the final level. It stands out so much. Who made that music? It is utterly moving and profound.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Actually Great The Gray Incident

ForeverBlackened on Jul 22nd 2018, Version

I have beaten this before and the final fight with the boss was challenging but amazing. I am re-downloading it and am going to see if I can make a special XBLA HUD for it.


  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

Fun Mararthon: Yuge

ForeverBlackened on Jul 22nd 2018, Version 1.1

I was hobbling around my own two feet ambling back and forth acquiring munitions to dispel of the most villainous Pfhor and then...

DONALD TRUMP...